Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2004, 12:19 AM   #1
blaznc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 41862
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Vehicle:
0000 99L 2.2T, dead
93 Wagon 1.8L of fury!!

Default Car runs but not happily with my Ludespeed

When the IAC is plugged in, with LinkPlus, idle SUCKS, very rough and varies between 500-900 rpm, without it, it idles smoother! The coolant temp will jump to 108deg C and fall unpredictably (AC is not on). Ran it on the dyno and have about 100 wheel horse which is unacceptable. Any ideas?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by blaznc; 07-10-2004 at 12:31 AM.
blaznc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 04:21 AM   #2
kaos200
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2692
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal
Default

100whp non turbo, have you changed the injectors? it just means you havent tuned it well.
if the coolant temp is rising, and falling unpredictably. Check your thermostat first, then if thats ok check your leakdown
kaos200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 12:10 PM   #3
Unsung Boxer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37196
Join Date: May 2003
Location: WA state
Default

disabling the IAC will make the motor sit in "shut position" and the ECU will have no control over idle based on MAF/MAP input. Thus its in sort of a "failsafe" mode. Your car may idle now, but at different altitudese and temperatures, you will have problems. Not to mention you should see a Check Engine Light soon (oh wait, you have Link).

Anyways, you are disabling a motor, its not a proper fix. If you are having idle problems now, its likely due to vacuum leak or crappy A/F map.

-Jake
Unsung Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 05:22 PM   #4
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

obviously your IAC is shot.
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 06:41 PM   #5
Unsung Boxer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37196
Join Date: May 2003
Location: WA state
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sidewayz
obviously your IAC is shot.
oh is it now? You should be a technician

-Jake
Unsung Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 05:20 AM   #6
Drac9
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9861
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Vehicle:
1999 2.35 RS-T w/NOS
Hybrid Rally Blue Pearl

Default

I had very similar problems until I hooked up the ECU ground to a good earth ground. Then everything was fine.
Drac9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 12:16 PM   #7
no-coast-punk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49087
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Inside your carnot cycle
Vehicle:
1998 RST V8 STi swap
'05 R6 '95 BMW V8 hotness

Default

This definately sounds like a vacuum leak issue. Do you have a boost gauge or scan tool? see what your manifold vacuum is at idle with the thing un-plugged.
no-coast-punk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 01:59 PM   #8
blaznc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 41862
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Vehicle:
0000 99L 2.2T, dead
93 Wagon 1.8L of fury!!

Default

My boost gauge says around 18-13 in Hg. The Link says around 40 kPa
blaznc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 04:45 PM   #9
Drac9
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9861
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Vehicle:
1999 2.35 RS-T w/NOS
Hybrid Rally Blue Pearl

Default

Grounds man- I had the exact same behaviour
Drac9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 07:51 PM   #10
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Unsung Boxer
oh is it now? You should be a technician

-Jake
I am think before you speek idiot. if the diaphram on the IAC is open the idle will jump.
disabeling it will close it, BUT the car will not drive right, the a/f will be all over the place.
plug the IAC vaccum hole with your finger when the car is running. If the idle drops to normal then you know it is shot.
or, if you cant do that. Restricte the amount of incoming air by placing your hand over the TB and see if the idle goes down.
Good luck

Last edited by sidewayz; 07-12-2004 at 07:58 PM.
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 12:24 AM   #11
blaznc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 41862
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Vehicle:
0000 99L 2.2T, dead
93 Wagon 1.8L of fury!!

Default

The car ran fine with the stock ecu and idles funny with the Link. It is not the IAC.
blaznc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 08:45 AM   #12
todnar
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 24915
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: KC
Vehicle:
2000 L Wagon Aspen
93 L Wagon Aqua

Default

When you bought the Link Plus it was for a 2.5 correct?
What year?
Did it come with a PNP harness,and are you using that?

-Tod
todnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 10:52 AM   #13
Unsung Boxer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37196
Join Date: May 2003
Location: WA state
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sidewayz
I am think before you speek idiot.
(speak=speek?)

Just because you disable something and the car behaves differently does not make that componant the culprit. I laugh because you are so cocksure of yourself, and post as if is common sense. There are many things that effect idle, and if you read my explanation, you would see an actual diagnostic approach, not just a spastic theory.

Quote:
Originally posted by blaznc
The car ran fine with the stock ecu and idles funny with the Link. It is not the IAC.
OH, what do we have here... if the IAC is "obviously shot" then how come the stock ECU can control it and not the Link???

As so well put by yourself before... think before you 'speek' idiot

-Jake
Unsung Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 11:22 AM   #14
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

well when a thread is titled such as this , what do you expect? With no other information to go by and only a second to reply, that was a quick one.
No need to birate me on 2 occasions. take it to pm as I have done such. ok mr spelling bee.

Last edited by sidewayz; 07-13-2004 at 11:27 AM.
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 08:34 PM   #15
Unsung Boxer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37196
Join Date: May 2003
Location: WA state
Default

I would love to send you a PM, but you seem to have it disabled. You dont have to cry just because I disagree w/ you... and happen to find it a bit humerous...

At any rate, to keep this thread on topic, the IAC is not likely the cause of your problem. This is a prime example of examining a system to see how it works, and not just condeming one componant based off of a hunch.

-Jake
Unsung Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 08:53 PM   #16
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sidewayz
obviously your IAC is shot.
I unpluged my IAC just like the TEC 3 manual says. I wonder if mine is shot as well?
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
car runs horrible with maf plugged in but fine when not SethV Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 13 06-15-2009 09:21 PM
Urgent help needed: Car will not run with MAF plugged in. Carter Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC 11 02-25-2009 09:49 PM
Need urgent help: Car will not run with MAF plugged in. Carter Normally Aspirated Powertrain 10 02-25-2009 09:47 PM
wtfsauce? Car runs better in diagnostic mode then not? eodtech Open Source Reflashes 0 04-29-2008 03:47 PM
Turned the car on before putting MAF plug in Mdub Newbies & FAQs 2 08-01-2007 12:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.