Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 12, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2004, 09:58 PM   #1
brizey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36505
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas Metro
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT PSM
2007 Acura RDX w/Tech CBP

Default AccessPORT: not recognizing my reflashed ECU

I have a 2004 WRX. I got a Stage 1 reflash from Cobb last August. I now have a TBE and bought the AccessPORT upgrade. It finally arrived today.

But...

When I tried to use it, it goes through the initilization procedure then gives me a message: "This is not a reflashed ECU. HALTING OPERATION." It then just sits there.

I disconnected the green connectors and took off the loopback thing. Car starts and runs fine. I took it for a test drive, and it still behaves like a Stage 1 car: I hit .1 MPa peak boost and it holds to .09 MPa to redline. This is definitely Stage 1 behavior.

Any suggestions or similar experience? I called Cobb and left a message (they are closed). I will call tomorrow.

Dang. Yet another delay. So far my journey to stage 2 has been pretty painful.

Thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
brizey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 11:44 PM   #2
cnk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10757
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Limited 6MT
DGM

Default

Did you specify to Cobb that you were already running a AccessECU before ordering your AP? IIRC, they have to load different maps on the AP if you already have AccessECU.

Calvin
cnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 06:18 AM   #3
brizey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36505
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas Metro
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT PSM
2007 Acura RDX w/Tech CBP

Default

Yes. I have the upgrade edition. When the AccessPORT powers up, the first screen says it is the upgrade version. Also, the packaging said it was the upgrade version.

I think for some reason it cannot tell that my ECU has been reflashed by Cobb. One thing that is a bit different for me is that I bought a brand new ECU from them that they had reflashed. I still have the original ECU that came with the car, so if I have to send my reflashed ECU to them for troubleshooting I can still drive. (This sort of thing is why I made sure I had two ECU's before I started messing with it.)
brizey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 10:59 AM   #4
phunkdup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 60719
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Bergen, NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Java Black Pearl

Default

Have you tried contacting Cobb? I'd think they might know better than this forum.
phunkdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 03:59 PM   #5
Jduke
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29699
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Northern, VT
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT Wagon
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brizey
Yes. I have the upgrade edition. When the AccessPORT powers up, the first screen says it is the upgrade version. Also, the packaging said it was the upgrade version.

I think for some reason it cannot tell that my ECU has been reflashed by Cobb. One thing that is a bit different for me is that I bought a brand new ECU from them that they had reflashed. I still have the original ECU that came with the car, so if I have to send my reflashed ECU to them for troubleshooting I can still drive. (This sort of thing is why I made sure I had two ECU's before I started messing with it.)

??? Humm I just got my accessport upgrade last week, And already had Stage1 reflash. Nowhere on the AP paperwork/packaging, screen, etc. does mine mention that it is an upgrade? It also came with the 02-03 blue "loopback" and the 04 white "loopback".... Def. sounds like you should give Cobb a call...
Jduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 06:50 AM   #6
brizey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36505
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas Metro
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT PSM
2007 Acura RDX w/Tech CBP

Default

Jduke420:

Mine says it was the upgrade edition on a sticker on the bubble wrap that covered the main AP unit. It also says upgrade edtion on the first power up screen where it displays version numbers. Mine only came with the 03-04 loopback (its the 02 that is different, which is why 02 and 03 owners get both).

I talked to Cobb yesterday. I am sending both the AP and my ECU back to Cobb for troubleshooting. I drove my car pretty hard yesterday morning and it definitely does not behave like a stock car. I realize that Cobb has to verify that I am not scamming them. Hopefully they recorded the serial number of the ECU that I bought from them with the reflash (I forgot to ask). If not, the mapping should still be stage 1 and it still has their sticker on it. Hell, the box I am sending it back in has my name written on it in one of their handwritings.

Man, $1300 later and I will be driving stock engine managment this weekend.
brizey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 10:54 PM   #7
brizey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36505
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas Metro
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT PSM
2007 Acura RDX w/Tech CBP

Default

Update:

I pulled the reflashed ECU and put my stock one back in (as I said, I still have a pristine ECU). Man, what a difference. The reflashed ECU hit 1.0 MPa and tapered to 0.09 MPa. The stocker hits 0.09 MPa peak and tapers to 0.05 MPa!! Well, now I am absolutley positive the ECU I was trying to use has been reflashed.

I am upset because I found out another customer with the same problem was simply sent (overnight!) a non-upgrade AP and everything works. I am going to go ahead and send my stuff in. Hopefully they will send me back a working AP and ECU within a day or so as promised.
brizey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2004, 11:17 PM   #8
brizey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36505
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas Metro
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT PSM
2007 Acura RDX w/Tech CBP

Default

Another update:

Everything is now cool. Josh is da man. They paid my overnight charges and married my AP to my reflashed ECU and now everything seems to work great. I have not played with the maps yet--still enjoying stage 2. Did take a peak at the boost gauge thing. Too hard to read while driving.

I still have my Cobb supplied stage 1 restrictor in place. Makes the boost a little jumpy if I go WOT at a low rpm in 3-5, so I may try putting the stock restrictor back in this weekend to see if I still make 0.11 MPa.

Definitely a difference between stage 1 and stage 2.

BTW, I can now swap an ECU in about five minutes.
brizey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apv1 not recognizing ecu-any suggestions CovertPerformance AccessPort 3 03-03-2009 03:51 PM
my accessport does not recognize my car nono192002 AccessPort 4 12-06-2007 04:45 PM
WTT: my 02 wrx STAGE 2 reflashed ecu for your stock ecu + 200 akcel SCIC Private Classifieds 3 05-19-2006 11:36 AM
MY 04 sti reflashed ecu, for your $$$ and stock ecu The Donnn Tri-State Area Forum 0 10-06-2004 12:12 AM
Selling my reflashed ECU Agent_50 South West Impreza Club Forum -- SWIC 4 03-11-2004 01:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.