Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 28, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2001, 07:01 PM   #1
Fred Fredburger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2539
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mondovi, WI, USA
Vehicle:
2005 STi WRB/Gold
Now w/Íhlins... Yessss!!!

Question Switched power wire for radar detector?

Hey, all.

I bit the bullet and just bought a Valentine 1 radar detector. I'm planning on permanently wiring into the car so I still have my lighter plug available.

What is the best wire under the dash/fuse box to connect the power to so it only has power when the ignition's in the "on" position (I don't think it's necessary to have it on with the key in the accessory position).

Also, a general idea/description of the wire would be helpful. I still don't have a Haynes book for my RS.

Thanks!

Geoff.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Fred Fredburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-16-2001, 08:31 PM   #2
North Ursalia
Miss You Mom
Oct 1940 - Feb 2008

Super Moderator
 
Member#: 809
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: NH, Land Of Many Trees
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS, '14 For
92 5MT SVX

Post

Well, if you have a MY00, there is a dark blue wire (with a black stripe I believe) on one of the wiring harnesses for the fogs lamps (or it might have been the cruise control) switch to the left of the steering wheel, which is switched by the ignition. That's what I used for my detector.

Brian
AIM: NUrsalia ICQ: 84483950
http://members.nbci.com/_XMCM/northu...reza/index.htm
Come See The Magic World Inside the Abandoned Refrigerator!
North Ursalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2001, 08:44 PM   #3
Fred Fredburger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2539
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mondovi, WI, USA
Vehicle:
2005 STi WRB/Gold
Now w/Íhlins... Yessss!!!

Post

I have an '01, but I assume it'll be there.

Thanks for the reply!

Geoff
Fred Fredburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2001, 08:51 PM   #4
RidinLow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 329
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
1995 325i
Arctic Gray

Post

I just tapped the cigarette lighter terminals, ran that to a switch by the foglight switch, and ran that up the A-pillar to the detector. Works great, you can nonchalantly cut power to the detector by flipping a little switch & the cop didn't see my detector mounted way up high in the corner.
RidinLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2001, 09:05 PM   #5
Fred Fredburger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2539
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mondovi, WI, USA
Vehicle:
2005 STi WRB/Gold
Now w/Íhlins... Yessss!!!

Post

RidinLow> What's the purpose to your switch in there? So if you get pulled over you can cut the power and not have it beep right next to the cop?
Fred Fredburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2001, 08:36 AM   #6
tmat3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2817
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NYC and Troy, NY
Vehicle:
2001 Impreza 2.5RS
BRP

Post

I tapped everything (little stuff) to the positive cigarette lighter wire. I didn't hardwire my radar detector, but I hardwired my voltimeter to that wire. Works very well.
tmat3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2001, 09:21 PM   #7
Jessie James
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2072
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Out of my mind
Talking

The way to do it, assuming you're using the visor mount, is to wire the thing into your SUNROOF power.

Pop the over head light cover off, unscrew the two screws inside, the whole tihng drops down. Find the power wire (red or yellow, as I recall) and the ground (black I recall) and wire the thing in.

Leave the excess wire in the housing, mount it back, and voila! If you need to pull some wire out, it's easy, and now you don't have to run the wire all the way from the bottom, plus it now looks like a garage door opener (from the outside; parked) because there's "no wire" going to it, so no one busts your window to get it.
Jessie James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2001, 11:28 AM   #8
Fred Fredburger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2539
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mondovi, WI, USA
Vehicle:
2005 STi WRB/Gold
Now w/Íhlins... Yessss!!!

Post

McCavity> Excellent idea. The only problem is that I got the remote display module so I'll still need to run a wire from the sunroof panel down to the dash (or wherever I put the display). Do you know if there's room enough for the direct-wire adapter in the sunroof cavity? It doesn't look that big but it's big enough to be able to plug two phone cords into it (that's what the V1s use for power cords).
Fred Fredburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2001, 11:31 AM   #9
RidinLow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 329
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
1995 325i
Arctic Gray

Post

Hepcat, yeah, & it worked beautifully (speaking from experience).
RidinLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2001, 11:35 AM   #10
Fred Fredburger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2539
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mondovi, WI, USA
Vehicle:
2005 STi WRB/Gold
Now w/Íhlins... Yessss!!!

Post

RidinLow> Do you have a V1? If so, was there enough room in the sunroof cavity for the direct wire adapter?
Fred Fredburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2001, 11:37 AM   #11
RidinLow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 329
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
1995 325i
Arctic Gray

Post

No, I have some generic BEL... a bit smaller than the V1, & it's mounted on the visor against the corner so you can't see it unless you stick your head in thru the window.
RidinLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2001, 11:40 AM   #12
Fred Fredburger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2539
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mondovi, WI, USA
Vehicle:
2005 STi WRB/Gold
Now w/Íhlins... Yessss!!!

Post

No, I'm wondering if there's enough room in the cavity that you tapped the power for the V1 direct power adapter. It looks like it's 1"x1"x0.5".
Fred Fredburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power-on delay circuit for radar detector? e28fixer Electrical & Lighting 4 05-01-2005 10:16 PM
Shopping for radar detector. Which one?? I am b Off-Topic 23 03-25-2003 07:56 PM
Wiring in Radar detector through compass/mirror scooby snack Car Audio, Video & Security 5 06-15-2001 11:05 AM
Wiring my radar detector? burr101 General Forum Archive 16 07-02-2000 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.