Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2004, 03:40 PM   #1
PRODRIVEN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Cincinnati - San Diego
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5 RS
EJtwentyfied -> '04 STi

Default Can I run V7 motor with USDM WRX ecu?

I want to swap in a V7 motor into my GC. Can I run it with a USDM WRX ecu/harness? My car will need to pass obd-2 emissions either in Cali or Ohio. Will a usdm ecu work with any JDM Sti motor (V5-V8)?

thanks,

Duncan
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
PRODRIVEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 03:48 PM   #2
YaZahX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11932
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
1998 CW ITR
2006 NBP SI

Default

the vvt wont work, it will run, i accidentally put a 04 wrx ecu in my v7 and it ran fine just had a CEL for the TGVs, fuel temp sensor and random stuff, the car will pribably need to be tuned to run good though..
YaZahX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 04:09 PM   #3
PRODRIVEN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Cincinnati - San Diego
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5 RS
EJtwentyfied -> '04 STi

Default

I would have it tuned with a ecutec, to get it running right. Is there any way to get rid of the cel lights.

Also, I read a couple people have passed obd2 emissions with the V7 ecu. Something about it just reading the o2 sensors or something.

Have you passes emissions with your V7?
PRODRIVEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 04:59 PM   #4
YaZahX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11932
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
1998 CW ITR
2006 NBP SI

Default

i passed emissions, but we dont use the obd port here, just a probe in the tail pipe..

and u can delete trouble codes with ecutek now fromw hat ive been told
YaZahX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 10:37 PM   #5
SonicYelloWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36901
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Duluth, GA
Vehicle:
2007 RX-8
Brilliant Black

Default

My car passed the obd2 emissions test. All you need to do is get an AVCS wiring harness from East Coast Scooby and you will be all set using the WRX wiring harness.

George
SonicYelloWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 08:54 PM   #6
Ghost Rider
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70346
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
Lightning Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YaZahX
the vvt wont work, it will run, i accidentally put a 04 wrx ecu in my v7 and it ran fine just had a CEL for the TGVs, fuel temp sensor and random stuff, the car will pribably need to be tuned to run good though..
did you do the swap yourself or go to a shop? I am thinking of just doing the swap instead of spending money on upgrades for the curent engine.
Ghost Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 02:13 AM   #7
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

I will be doing OBD2 emissions this coming Saturday on my V7. I'm currently running clean, with no CELs.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 03:37 AM   #8
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stimpy
I will be doing OBD2 emissions this coming Saturday on my V7. I'm currently running clean, with no CELs.

-Jon
I thought JDM ecus were not compatible with OBD?
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 08:24 AM   #9
Capt Crunch
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10852
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Cleveland / UMD College Park
Vehicle:
Then : JDM Ver 7 STi
Now : E46 M3 / MKVI GTI

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subiekid
I thought JDM ecus were not compatible with OBD?
version 7 and 8 are.
Capt Crunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 11:17 AM   #10
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

Version 6-8 are... Well, they are and they aren't. Yes, I can connect to my V7 ecu via OBD II and get the readiness state. However, I cannot poll a single sensor parameter using my Auterra OBD-II scanning software like I could with my WRX ecu.

Please take a look in the FAQ as there are two threads answering the emissions questions.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 01:17 PM   #11
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

My car passed the Utah state emissions test with no problems. All the readiness states can be queried on the V7 ecu via OBD II just as they expected. I am legally registered with my 2002 drivetrain and all emissions equipment.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 01:48 PM   #12
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

registerd with the 2002 drivetrain that is in your garage?? not your car?
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 03:49 PM   #13
YaZahX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11932
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
1998 CW ITR
2006 NBP SI

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghost Rider
did you do the swap yourself or go to a shop? I am thinking of just doing the swap instead of spending money on upgrades for the curent engine.
i did mine at work
YaZahX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 04:49 PM   #14
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

The 2002 STi V7 drivetrain that is in the car, not the *sigh* OTHER EJ20 I have sitting in my shed... It passed with a JDM, but newer, drivetrain complying with the standards set for a MY96 emissions test.

He looked for a cat in the factory, MY96 location, checked for the EGR system, evap system, PCV, and gas cap. He then polled the ecu, primarily noting that the MIL was off, that it could turn on if needed, and that no sensors reported errors (though some reported as "N/A".

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 11:46 PM   #15
Homemade WRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 33782
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing LLC
Vehicle:
96 bastard child
search FIRST, then PM!!!

Default

I'm glad I don't have OBD-II or emissions crap for my inspections
sorry for you guys though who actually have to think/worry about them
Homemade WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 05:00 PM   #16
moss
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10197
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gtown, MD
Default

I should have started my swap sooner... I found out last week that OBD II scanning is now part of Upstate NY's inspection I thought it wasn't supposed to be implemented for atleast 2 years!

Keith
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 08:27 PM   #17
jamesfacts
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 51282
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Brooklyn NYC / Danbury CT
Vehicle:
98 RS
black & blue from parking

Default

Wonder how YaZ passed then?

Jon, Whats a PCV check?
jamesfacts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 12:39 AM   #18
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

Uh, check to see if a PCV valve exists where it is supposed to be...

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 12:46 AM   #19
pegdrgr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25693
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland, Or
Vehicle:
2008 18x9" goodness
E85-380ftlbs @ 3100

Default

Very interesting! I was thinking that I would have to swap back in my AF423 ECU and find a way to undo my AVCS conversion of the TGV wires, but now I have hope.

Anyone have any idea how Oregon compares to Utah?
pegdrgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 01:05 AM   #20
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

There should have been nothing undone with the TGV wires. The AVCS wires sit in tandem to all other existing wires. I have no idea how Oregon compares to Utah. OBD-II is a standard so your ECU should work fine as long as they use that.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 01:16 AM   #21
pegdrgr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25693
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland, Or
Vehicle:
2008 18x9" goodness
E85-380ftlbs @ 3100

Default

I used some of the wires that originally went to the TGV sensors and actuators when I wired in the AVCS. If I were to plug in the AF423 I am sure I would get a TGV sensor error. I could always reflash it away, but that seems silly just for an anual inspection.

Thanks for the information, I am now MUCH less concerned about inspection time, which is basically now since I am moving into Oregon this week.
pegdrgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 10:19 PM   #22
hyp36rmax
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24537
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: sfVoltron, RI, Motormonkeys
Vehicle:
2006 LanEVO9 RS
SFVoltron White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicYelloWRX
My car passed the obd2 emissions test. All you need to do is get an AVCS wiring harness from East Coast Scooby and you will be all set using the WRX wiring harness.

George
was this with a jdm engine with us emmisions equipment and usdm wrx ecu? as i was aware in order for avcs to work a jdm ecu is in order...?
hyp36rmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 11:41 PM   #23
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

You do need to have an AVCS ECU in order to control the AVCS unit.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 01:01 AM   #24
SonicYelloWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36901
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Duluth, GA
Vehicle:
2007 RX-8
Brilliant Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyp36rmax
was this with a jdm engine with us emmisions equipment and usdm wrx ecu? as i was aware in order for avcs to work a jdm ecu is in order...?
Sorry, this was with the the JDM V7 motor and JDM ECU. It kinda defeats the purpose of a JDM swap to go with a USDM ecu IMHO.

pegdrgr- You shouldn't have any problem with TGV CEL's because your motor has no TGV's and the ECU doesn't read for them either. I've run my car with and without my UTEC and there are no TGV related CEL's, you should have no problem at all.

George

Last edited by SonicYelloWRX; 11-08-2004 at 01:07 AM.
SonicYelloWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 01:18 PM   #25
pegdrgr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25693
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland, Or
Vehicle:
2008 18x9" goodness
E85-380ftlbs @ 3100

Default

I am only concerned with inspection time. If I switch back to my stock ECU it will look for the TGV stuff. Prior to reading this message I thought that I needed the US ECU in place to get it to pass. Now that seems to not be the case so I am not worried about it. I will just replace my rear O2 sensor, reset the car, and call it good.
pegdrgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JDM ej20 (2004 from legacy twinscroll) with USDM wrx ECU. elsanto Subaru Conversions 0 06-15-2007 02:20 PM
Running STi EJ207 with USDM WRX ECU garface Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 7 03-18-2006 06:10 PM
running a usdm sti longblock with a wrx ecu/manifold legacy2003 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 12-02-2005 12:58 AM
v7 motor, v8 complete harness;v8 ecu okay? petawabit Subaru Conversions 1 07-29-2005 12:06 AM
Is It Possible To Run Jdm Sti V7 Heads On Usdm Wrx Ej20 julien Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 10 06-29-2005 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.