Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2004, 09:58 PM   #1
bren wrx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 59454
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Worcester
Vehicle:
'10 E92 M3 M-DCT
brentuning.com/blog

Default Flashed AP stage 2 v 1.20 tonight..questions....

i love it, drove it around for like 30 mins, reached an indicated 16.5-17 in 3rd after vishnu reset, but should i try the 3/16 mod and wastegate adjust mod?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
bren wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 10:37 PM   #2
peterex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27021
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IL
Vehicle:
2010 WRX

Default

No and no. You're already boosting on the high side. Shortening the wastegate arm will only make you boost even more, which would be a bad idea IMO. As for the 3/16th mod, all that is going to do is make your boost control unpredictable and lead to spikes. Hey, your car is doing everything that it is supposed to be doing - why screw around with it and cause problems? Just my .02.

Glad that you're enjoying v1.20 - I'm loving mine as well. Pretty amazing for an off-the-shelf map.
peterex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 10:59 PM   #3
Flyn'Rex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64957
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: a shack
Default

i'm only hitting 15.4 pounds faintly in 4th and 5th. I haven't done the vinshu reset but i have done the AP reset. Don't know why i'm still not hitting target boost. Any help guys?
Flyn'Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 11:05 PM   #4
bren wrx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 59454
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Worcester
Vehicle:
'10 E92 M3 M-DCT
brentuning.com/blog

Default

well heres my question to you pete, i ran 14 ish bone stock, maybe my gauge could be off?
bren wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 12:16 AM   #5
supermarkus
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6971
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Vehicle:
2008 WRX STi
SSM

Default

stock is 13.5 +/- 0.5 psi so 14 wouldn't be outside tolerance. Also, your boost gauge will almost certainly be different than what is read on the AP, it's usually about a pound different either way as far as I've seen. On my car the AP was a pound lower than my boost gauge so when my Greddy gauge read 1.22, the AP was showing about 16.2psi. I'd trust the AP a little more since it reads the MAP sensor and that's what the ECU is reading. Others have correctly pointed out that MAP sensor readings can change over the life of the sensor so if you want truly accurate measurments you need to periodically verify that whatever you're using to read boost is calibrated against an accurate reference.
supermarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 01:23 AM   #6
imprzya
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12181
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Vehicle:
2004 STi WRBro
15 Forester Touring

Default

Im running that map and getting a max boost of 16.8psi according to the AP, a lil on the high side, but my car is runnin great and feels fast.
imprzya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 11:53 AM   #7
bren wrx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 59454
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Worcester
Vehicle:
'10 E92 M3 M-DCT
brentuning.com/blog

Default

so i should plug the AP in and read live boost?
bren wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 09:46 PM   #8
WRXVII
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15854
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
VF34'd...

Default

wait a few days until ECU learns. OEM boost gauge and AP live boost differ by 1psi...
WRXVII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 10:39 PM   #9
bren wrx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 59454
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Worcester
Vehicle:
'10 E92 M3 M-DCT
brentuning.com/blog

Default

highest i could get was 16.5, 15 others, and it would tapers hardcore at 5000 rpms, anyway i can make it hold on longer, cobb restrictor or wastegate adjustment?
bren wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 12:09 AM   #10
peterex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27021
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IL
Vehicle:
2010 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bren wrx
highest i could get was 16.5, 15 others, and it would tapers hardcore at 5000 rpms, anyway i can make it hold on longer, cobb restrictor or wastegate adjustment?
Naw, your injectors and your turbo are incapable of operating at high boost levels in the upper RPMs. The boost tapering on the stock turbo is a safety measure employed by just about every reputable Subaru tuner on the WRX. Don't worry about it.
peterex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 12:39 AM   #11
silver arrow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25859
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Foriderp
Vehicle:
1965 MGB yellow
2008 Black Miata

Default

I have my Accessport sitting on my desk right next to me but can't install because Cobb forgot to put the little blue connector in the box so I can initialize the thing to my ECU. Also, I can't get the thing to sync with my computer. It's a Dell 8250 adn I went through Dells support and they say the serial port is working fine (they can remotely access my desk top to run diagnostics). Anyone else have problems with connecting to your Commputer?
silver arrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 12:44 AM   #12
silver arrow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25859
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Foriderp
Vehicle:
1965 MGB yellow
2008 Black Miata

Default

Can't wait to install. Have uppipe,TBE, light pulleys, and IC hoses. Will the IC hoses and underdrive pulleys give me noticeably more power than the stage 2 without them. Anyone upgrade uppipe, IC hoses and pulleys after already having stage 2 for awhile? Notice a difference. Each of those upgrades is said to give about 5hp by themself, but I wonder if that is cumulative? I was also thinking about a Deadbolt P&P TD04. Should be within the ECU's ability to adjust. peak HP is same but comes on alittle faster from the dyno charts on Deadbolts sight.
silver arrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 12:46 AM   #13
peterex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27021
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IL
Vehicle:
2010 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silver arrow
I have my Accessport sitting on my desk right next to me but can't install because Cobb forgot to put the little blue connector in the box so I can initialize the thing to my ECU. Also, I can't get the thing to sync with my computer. It's a Dell 8250 adn I went through Dells support and they say the serial port is working fine (they can remotely access my desk top to run diagnostics). Anyone else have problems with connecting to your Commputer?
When you run the AccessPort program on your PC, try selecting COM2 as your port - you might have your serial port configured differently.
peterex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 12:51 AM   #14
Turbo4Life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 22036
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Killeen/Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
WR Blue Pearl

Default

peterex, in order for your accessport to sync up to your cpu you have to reflash your car first, then it will work.
Turbo4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 12:54 AM   #15
peterex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27021
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IL
Vehicle:
2010 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo4Life
peterex, in order for your accessport to sync up to your cpu you have to reflash your car first, then it will work.
Oops, you're right. I remember now that I was unable to fool around with the AP on my computer until I flashed the car.
peterex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 12:56 AM   #16
dippi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 44424
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gainesville/ Daytona Beach
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza WRX
dirtiest crystal grey

Default

i had the deadbolt turbo with the cobb stage 2, and it did not run any better, in my opionion it was acutally slower. it would boost quicker but not hold boost for as long as i wish it did, the stock one holds boost longer. only my experience.
dippi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 01:27 AM   #17
silver arrow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25859
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Foriderp
Vehicle:
1965 MGB yellow
2008 Black Miata

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterex
When you run the AccessPort program on your PC, try selecting COM2 as your port - you might have your serial port configured differently.
I tried
silver arrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 07:40 AM   #18
silver arrow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25859
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Foriderp
Vehicle:
1965 MGB yellow
2008 Black Miata

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo4Life
peterex, in order for your accessport to sync up to your cpu you have to reflash your car first, then it will work.
Thanks, I will flash as soon as I get the little blue plug.
silver arrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just another Cobb AP Stage 2 flash appreciation thread ultraspdWRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 7 09-16-2006 09:08 PM
05 STI AP stage 2 18psi 1,700 deg jnorth85 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 38 05-20-2005 01:47 PM
Unplug the EBC solenoid & install AP stage 2 tonight....but smootth Engine Management & Tuning 4 03-20-2005 04:10 PM
Just flashed Cobb Stage 2-93 octane. Quick question! the2rz Engine Management & Tuning 7 03-11-2005 08:30 PM
I flashed in AP stage 2 1.20.... bren wrx Engine Management & Tuning 1 10-11-2004 03:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.