Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2004, 07:17 PM   #1
squirrelmasta
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33445
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2005 Chevy Silverado
Cherry Red

Default v7 EMS

Can a normal ECM work with a v7 or v8 motor? ie, if i put a v7 or v8 into my GC8 and then wanted to up grade the normal stuff, injectors, turbo, whateva, would i be able to use a UTEC or a hydra or would i have to get something from Japan being that the v7 is a JDM engine. Thanks.
-Eli
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by squirrelmasta; 10-18-2004 at 01:04 AM.
squirrelmasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:57 AM   #2
big_adventure
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40501
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Paris, FR
Vehicle:
2005 Decathalon 21sp
One WheelSeanPower

Default

You can use the US ECU to run the JDM engine, but you will be buried in CELs, and you won't have AVCS. You can use a UTEC and probably a Hydra with either ECU and a JDM engine. I do not know for sure about the Hydra - contact Element Tuning. If it does work, find out if it will control AVCS. Since they have an STi Hydra coming out this weekend, I would imagine that it would be able to do AVCS.

-Sean
big_adventure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 09:06 AM   #3
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big_adventure
I do not know for sure about the Hydra - contact Element Tuning. If it does work, find out if it will control AVCS. Since they have an STi Hydra coming out this weekend, I would imagine that it would be able to do AVCS.

-Sean
Yes i believe darthchicken played around with avcs with his hydra.

P.S. Squirrel I have a v7 ecu for sale if you need it
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 05:58 PM   #4
squirrelmasta
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33445
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2005 Chevy Silverado
Cherry Red

Default

i turn then. do you know if alot of people are running V7 swaps with utecs?
-Eli

And what s the price on that ECU?
squirrelmasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 09:06 PM   #5
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

There are a few running them with utecs. Big adventure, Pegdrgr, Cronic was, and I was. It works well. PM me an offer on that ecu, i have a price in mind, but i'm semi flexible.
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 09:50 PM   #6
SonicYelloWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36901
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Duluth, GA
Vehicle:
2007 RX-8
Brilliant Black

Default

I've been running V7 motor with the JDM UTEC and it has been perfect for 5 months, no CELS.
SonicYelloWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 01:02 AM   #7
squirrelmasta
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33445
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2005 Chevy Silverado
Cherry Red

Default

What is the difference between a JDM UTEC and a USDM? wouldn't the engines still be working off the same coding?
-Eli
squirrelmasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 03:35 AM   #8
SonicYelloWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36901
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Duluth, GA
Vehicle:
2007 RX-8
Brilliant Black

Default

the JDM/AUS Utec will not give you a CEL. Revision 6 and up UTEC's will have the wiring for AVCS, but you will get some injector codes. You can turn these off, but if you need to pass an OBD-2 emissions test I'm not sure if you can with the codes.

George
SonicYelloWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECM Code Troubleshooting Need help Kevin Thomas Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 5 05-22-2002 11:16 AM
recall on 2000 ecm suberboy General Forum Archive 40 03-09-2001 12:14 AM
oops, no recall on impreza ecm suberboy General Forum Archive 2 10-16-2000 11:15 PM
New O2 Sensor & ECM for MY00 Legacy GT! Jason Technical Forum Archive 16 09-08-2000 10:14 PM
ECM - noise suppressor diagram immortal_suby SVX Forum Archive 0 06-26-2000 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.