Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday December 10, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2004, 11:37 PM   #1
PhatheadWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16899
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I keep getting older and
Vehicle:
they stay the same
age

Default OT - need your help - horrible dl bandwidth

So I have a cable modem. Comcast through attbi.net

When I first got the service (2 months ago) was ~3500/256 kb/s according to dslreports.com

Last night my connection just died. So I cycled the router and after about an hour it came back on.

So today my internet seemed a little slow so I ran a speedtest at dslreports and it said ~300/240 !!!! So I get on Comcast live chat, mainly just to see if there is an issue in the area. He tells me the normal BS (clear cookies, and temp files, cycle router) So I do all of these. Now I'm consistently getting 150/250...

Any ideas?

XP 2600+
512 MB
XP Pro SP 1
Netgear WGR614v3
RCA DCM305 modem

Also earlier I was seeding a torrent at 30 kb/s up (cap?) would this kill my dl bandwidth even after multiple reboots and network power cycle?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
PhatheadWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 10-26-2004, 11:47 PM   #2
Star*Child
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5659
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: 127.0.0.1
Default

If the torrent restarts automatically upon reboot...then most definitely yes.

Torrents are notorious for using whatever you toss at it. You might want to make sure your torrent client is not running at all and that it's not set to start-up automatically.

30k up is using ALL+ of your upload bandwidth. (in fact, set this to 25k and you'll prob do better with it) If you're saturating your line upstream, you won't be able to reliably "ack" the downstream which makes it appear that your download sucks even if you're not "using" it.

If you want to make sure your own PC is not responsible, you can just open up task manager and click the "networking" tab to see if there is activity. Just remember that you prob have a 100 mbit connection to your router, so a couple percent is signifigant traffic.

Also, if you have a wireless router, you might check the status and make sure there's not someone leeching your bandwidth. If there was some know-nothing who lived next to me who I didn't think was using their bandwidth to its capacity, I might be tempted to leech from their wireless when I didn't think they were using it. Okay, I prob wouldn't, but it's not rocket science to do it. Anyways...someone ELSE might be using your traffic.

Just stuff to consider

-*
Star*Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 11:49 PM   #3
Jungdragon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39529
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Socal
Vehicle:
03 wrx
black

Default

have you noticed the change in reported speed affecting websurfing, internet downloads, or online games? The speed you tested at seem sort of normal 300 kilobyte download/30 kilobyte upload. 150 might be abnormal.

torrents are a whole different story, those will slow down everything as well as take up system resources.
Jungdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 11:54 PM   #4
roffle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 42251
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Vehicle:
uh oh
trumpet butt

Default

edit pending
roffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 11:54 PM   #5
PhatheadWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16899
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I keep getting older and
Vehicle:
they stay the same
age

Default

Thanks for the tips guys, I'm gonna unisntall my whole torrent prog and see if that helps.

As for leachers, I have a custom WEP key, and changed my router ps (who keeps the default: admin?) so I doubt that. Also don't see anyone on there now
PhatheadWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 11:55 PM   #6
PhatheadWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16899
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I keep getting older and
Vehicle:
they stay the same
age

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roffle
two cables

I'll plug in the ethernet cord and the USB, then it will be 6 MB/s
PhatheadWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 12:01 AM   #7
roffle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 42251
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Vehicle:
uh oh
trumpet butt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhatheadWRX
I'll plug in the ethernet cord and the USB, then it will be 6 MB/s
You don't really have a problem until your text is loading slowly.

Also...

roffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 12:02 AM   #8
PhatheadWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16899
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I keep getting older and
Vehicle:
they stay the same
age

Default

Just unistalled the torrents, back to 337/237? at least that is better

is there any software out there to determine what apps on your program are currently using in network?
PhatheadWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 12:15 AM   #9
Unsung Boxer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37196
Join Date: May 2003
Location: WA state
Default

just get AOL highspeed. That is way fast

(unsung)
Unsung Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 12:49 AM   #10
PhatheadWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16899
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I keep getting older and
Vehicle:
they stay the same
age

Default

well something got fixed... 3004 / 240!

Dunno what, I tried to direct connect my PC to the modem then reconnected the right way. rebooted and cycled power, obviously something went right.
PhatheadWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT need your help with a song trustWRX Off-Topic 13 01-16-2009 04:49 PM
OT Update?!: OT, I need your help, the WAPCE is going to ruin my life. Janq Off-Topic 58 12-13-2007 09:29 PM
Ok OT need your help. 0BLUEWRX3 Off-Topic 5 06-04-2007 12:16 AM
OT need your help with lower back problems RSimport Off-Topic 19 09-18-2005 11:03 PM
OT need your help! Can anyone answer this question? Davenow Off-Topic 9 07-01-2004 11:34 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.