Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2004, 08:31 PM   #1
markk26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 54698
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Montreal , Quebec , Canada
Vehicle:
1997 Legacy GT
red

Default head bolts

After i changed head gaskets...should i get brand new head bolts or can i re-use the same ones?
i know head bolts are not re-usable , dont know about Subaru's

And , doea anyone has a tric to torque head bolt properly whit and engine out of the engine bay?...whit no engine stand?
thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
markk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 09:34 PM   #2
ilmaestro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16004
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Vehicle:
1998 2.5 RS - Blue
Dreaming of Boost

Default

Most people (including some certified subaru mechanics) reuse the subaru headbolts, but replacing them is still not a bad thing to do.

With the engine out, you should definately place the engine on the ground or something. Hanging from a chain, it would be really hard to torque the bolts. Try finding an old tire or something similar to place the engine in so that it can sit without the oil pan hitting the ground. You don't want the weight of the engine resting on the oil pan, but it's fine to place weight on the base of the block.

j
ilmaestro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 03:37 AM   #3
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

they don't need to be replaced, just follow the torqueing procedure and you'll be fine
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 05:57 PM   #4
Al_Smokemcrack
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66640
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
1997 Legacy Outback
Glacier White

Default

Reuse the head bolts? I've been brought up being told *never* to do that. According to what I know about materials engineering, those bolts are designed such that they can only be put through the torquing procedure once. The second time, they either stretch too much resulting in a leak or break off resulting in copious use of the f-word. Maybe they use different bolts or materials now, but I would wholeheartedly recommend replacing them. Besides...what's a set cost? $20?
Al_Smokemcrack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 06:58 PM   #5
markk26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 54698
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Montreal , Quebec , Canada
Vehicle:
1997 Legacy GT
red

Default

ok , so i can re-use them and absolutly not....
riiiight....very clear.
lets be democratic....nah!...i'll check whit the dealers mecanics.
And i think a complet set goes for around 50 bucks.
markk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 06:59 PM   #6
darioc
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35695
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 06281
Vehicle:
02 RST
98 Outback 92 Wrangler

Default

thats not true. they are reusable. they are not like a gasket that crushes under impact. haha!
darioc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 07:21 PM   #7
dkl
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63096
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
1998 2.5RS
Green

Default

Also, not that I suggest dropping the whole engine on it, but Subarus are unique in the fact that you can put some weight on the oilpan. I've jacked up engines by the oilpan many times. My vote goes for reusing the headbolts, assuming no other circumstances precluding it.
dkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 06:14 PM   #8
Al_Smokemcrack
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66640
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
1997 Legacy Outback
Glacier White

Default

The bolts stretch. You shouldn't reuse them. You're asking for a leak.
Al_Smokemcrack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 02:10 AM   #9
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al_Smokemcrack
The bolts stretch. You shouldn't reuse them. You're asking for a leak.
you sir are incorrect the bolts are DESIGNED to stretch multiple times, i have done many many many headgaskets w/o replacing bolts(unless it a 88-92 civic engine that needed headbolts that DO stretch on purpose). They'll be fine if they are reused.....trust me, if you are worried about it there is a procedure to measure the diameter of the bolts to verify that they are or aren't in specification, if they are no longer in spec then obviously replace them, but for FWIW i've never seen a car that needed a new set.

jeremy
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 07:57 AM   #10
quantum
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 73416
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Vehicle:
05 CTS-v
Stealth Grey

Default

I don't know about subarus, but I've rebuilt a bunch of chevys and I've never had a problem reusing the head bolts on them. And I think the head bolt torque specs for a all iron 350 are greater than that of the aluminum alloy subaru ones. Unless the manufactureer of the bolts says otherwise I don't see why reusing them would be a problem. But like I said I don't know subaru's that well yet.
quantum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARP head studs V's OEM sti head bolts bugeyes Built Motor Discussion 84 06-01-2014 09:23 PM
Re used head bolts... caused head gasket to blow again? brian3676 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 14 05-01-2008 07:00 AM
WTB: ej257 gasket kit, ARP head bolts and case bolts 69_Lex Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 3 02-20-2008 10:38 AM
Can I reuse block bolts/head bolts Tattoo Collector Normally Aspirated Powertrain 19 01-22-2005 01:35 AM
Head Bolts & Cams Bolts Torque Specs Imprezd Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 03-20-2003 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.