Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2004, 11:06 AM   #1
natoli4
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66668
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Culver City, CA
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
blk

Default vf39 missing bolt on the down pipe?

Just did a stg 4 install this past weekend and when I was bolting up the new turbo I noticed that the center bottom stud that hold the downpipe to the turbo was missing! The center x? Am I supposed to have a stud there? Or is a bolt supposed to go into that location? the stock turbo has a stud on it. now the downpipe had a small leak when cold! what should I do? please help!

x x
0 x 0
--^---missing this stud. am I supposed to put a bolt in this location?

bought the deadbolt turbo used.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
natoli4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 11:13 AM   #2
Davenow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23676
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: de_dust and Orgrimar
Vehicle:
.

Default

its missing a stud
A bolt could work


I never put that nut back on on my car anyway. It is too much of a PITA and never leaks anyway.
Davenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 02:39 PM   #3
mbiker97
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7922
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Tucson
Vehicle:
04 CTS-V b/b/b
99 GMC Highrider

Default

Got to Autozone, Murrays, etc and buy a new stud and nut.
mbiker97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 04:28 PM   #4
elsanto
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34832
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: was once a nut like me.
Vehicle:
1989 M3
White

Default

yah buy a new stud, I found mine in the "HELP!" section.
elsanto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 05:39 PM   #5
natoli4
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66668
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Culver City, CA
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
blk

Default

how does the stud go in? do I just screw it right in or does it epoxy in somehow...sorry for sounding so lame but I don't want to $%^k the thing up.
natoli4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 06:31 PM   #6
CMJ
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39235
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: L.A., CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davenow
I never put that nut back on on my car anyway. It is too much of a PITA and never leaks anyway.

^^^
I'll 2nd that, and it drops 20 minutes from the remove/replace next time (if your using a bellmouth).
CMJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 10:06 PM   #7
Hayaboosted
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60042
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Janesville, Wisconsin
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STI
Rotated T67 ALLABOUTSPEED

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by natoli4
how does the stud go in? do I just screw it right in or does it epoxy in somehow...sorry for sounding so lame but I don't want to $%^k the thing up.
Its not a bad idea to put a little loc-tite on it. That way if you ever remove the turbo again.. the stud will not come when you try to loosen the nut. But using loc-tite really isnt all that necessay. your choice on that one
Hayaboosted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 12:12 AM   #8
natoli4
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66668
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Culver City, CA
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
blk

Default

thanks all. I'll leave it out for now and look for the bolt next time i'm at the parts shop.
natoli4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would A Missing Nut On The Up Pipe To Turbo Cause Issue lordizzy626 Newbies & FAQs 14 03-10-2010 10:57 PM
2006 Subaru STi - AMR T60R Bolt-On Laying down the POWER!!!! (double the factory HP!) AMR Proven Power Bragging 18 08-26-2008 08:53 AM
Stock Bracket off of the down pipe that holds on the Heat Shield???? BLUETURBOWRX Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 0 08-18-2003 03:34 AM
Help! What is the size of the down-pipe bolts? Camperguy Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 02-24-2003 12:14 AM
Minnam turbo peeps check your heat wrap on the down pipe Andre Vandenberg Normally Aspirated Powertrain 2 02-19-2001 08:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.