Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2004, 09:50 AM   #1
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default Advanced users and ECUTEK/UTEC users, read..

http://forum.ecutek.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=525 <-- check this out. I see a good market for this, and if they build it people will come. If what I'm proposing interests those who fit the bill, perhaps contacting them, or adding to this thread will convince them of a usable market share.

Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 10:39 AM   #2
happasaiyan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37731
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Rolling Meadows, IL
Default

bottom line for me: i would definately buy a user tunable ecutek software package.
happasaiyan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 10:46 AM   #3
mbiker97
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7922
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Tucson
Vehicle:
04 CTS-V b/b/b
99 GMC Highrider

Default

I would absloutely buy a user tunable flash (except I'm selling my WRX).
mbiker97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 10:52 AM   #4
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

That would be awsome. Hopefully if they do it it won't be a dumbed down version. I would buy it a heartbeat. This would basicly turn your stock ECU into a standalone user tuned ECU would it not?

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 11:10 AM   #5
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

just like say.. street tuner ..
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 11:19 AM   #6
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaxx
just like say.. street tuner ..
I really have not been folowing the street tuner scene. I thought it was going to be like the ECUtek user tune. You are only able to adjust globally. Please some one tell me I am wrong. If the AP street tuner has more than just global adjustment I may jump the utec ship. All though I don't think I could give up the LC, solenoid driver, and CEL flash for knock.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 11:45 AM   #7
MikeWRX-NJ
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33410
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: wishing i was somewhere else
Vehicle:
08 wrx
dgm

Default

i would definately love to get my hands on an ecutek reflash program. I want to make two simple changes to my map but i can't
MikeWRX-NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 01:59 PM   #8
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaxx
just like say.. street tuner ..
Sorry, no.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 02:06 PM   #9
happasaiyan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37731
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Rolling Meadows, IL
Default

just like the cobb street tuner pro.
happasaiyan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 02:09 PM   #10
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happasaiyan
just like the cobb street tuner pro.
There is no such thing.

I assume you mean the AccessPORT Pro Tuner.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 02:28 PM   #11
ataac_flat04
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 19050
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hannibal, MO
Vehicle:
2005 Black STi
Happily rowing 6 gears

Default

So this would be like LT1 or LS1 Edit for GM cars & trucks... where you have access to nearly all ECU parameters and maps (not just fuel, timing and boost)? If that's the case I'd be interested in a such a product. -Chuck
ataac_flat04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 04:00 PM   #12
wrxdaddy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14164
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: 32.9765N 96.8867W
Vehicle:
02 Impreza Wgn
95 L Project in progress

Default

I am tired of driving thousands of miles for an EcuTek custom retune and reflash
wrxdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 05:42 PM   #13
Kwyjibo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17851
Join Date: Apr 2002
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
R.I.P. 7.27.2005

Default

i want, i want

this may just push me over the edge to ditch my UTEC and go with ECUtek.
Kwyjibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 05:54 PM   #14
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default

Well.. I still believe both have their place, and to use both exploits the strengths and weaknesses quite well. Thus why I'm specific in my query of "hybrid" type users who have and use both (as I do).

Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 05:58 PM   #15
happasaiyan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37731
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Rolling Meadows, IL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jblaine
There is no such thing.

I assume you mean the AccessPORT Pro Tuner.
yeah...

potayto, potahto.
happasaiyan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 08:39 PM   #16
AaronWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7194
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVa
Vehicle:
2011 997.2 Turbo
Black

Default

" borrow the flashing hardware "

Id like to see this hardware. Part of my professional duties involve product testing of hardware based protection. i bet its trivial to....
AaronWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 10:45 PM   #17
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

EcuTeK's business model has remained unchanged since it's introduction. Given the huge number of posts related to the perceived inability to even connect with the Cobb Accessport, I think EcuTeK made a wise decision. However, if Cobb actually does sell its "AccessTuner" (when is it due?), then EcuTeK might rethink its product structure.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2004, 08:19 PM   #18
DarthChicken
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9073
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Hillsboro, OR.
Vehicle:
2006 ariel atom
wrb/bbs gold frame

Default

If ECUtek starts losing business... maybe then they'll change their model. Until then, they are making $300-400 per license I believe , without having to lift a finger. Thats standard wrx stuff, not the STi license which I believe is even more expensive.

Why put this in the hands of the average Joe with that kind of margin? I think the answer is, the hardware involved would probably be $200 worth of stuff at most, so they could kick that up to $1000 margin.

And with that $1000 margin, or extra $600-700 per license, you could hire on somebody making $30k a year to do nothing but answer the phone/emails on ECUTek problems, and still come out ahead. They'd only have to sell 50 of these things a year to break even.
DarthChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 12:28 AM   #19
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

According to sean at cobb (at sema)
all the ecu tables will be available in street tuner and the software will be married to the ecu like the access port

so yes ... like street tuner
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 08:45 AM   #20
big_adventure
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40501
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Paris, FR
Vehicle:
2005 Decathalon 21sp
One WheelSeanPower

Default

The EcuTek Flash 2k "hardware" is more like $10 cost, not $200. Copying it, in theory, should be difficult, as you are trying to rip encrypted keys, though I've never made the attempt and, if they were stupid and used only 56bit crypto, you could derive a complete key by brute-force in a relatively short period of time. You could also crack the software with some effort and knowledge. Either of these tactics would require a rather cavilier regard for the law, and I think it unlikely that EcuTek would support you in case of a problem.

-Sean
big_adventure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 09:13 AM   #21
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaxx
According to sean at cobb (at sema)
all the ecu tables will be available in street tuner and the software will be married to the ecu like the access port

so yes ... like street tuner
I'd like to hear what their definition of "all the ECU tables" is.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 11:20 AM   #22
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

true ..
i didn't ask what that entailed
things like maf scaleing on the STI are really important
you could ask the guys that have the beta version of the STI ST but that would break their NDA
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 11:36 AM   #23
DarthChicken
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9073
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Hillsboro, OR.
Vehicle:
2006 ariel atom
wrb/bbs gold frame

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big_adventure
The EcuTek Flash 2k "hardware" is more like $10 cost, not $200. Copying it, in theory, should be difficult, as you are trying to rip encrypted keys, though I've never made the attempt and, if they were stupid and used only 56bit crypto, you could derive a complete key by brute-force in a relatively short period of time. You could also crack the software with some effort and knowledge. Either of these tactics would require a rather cavilier regard for the law, and I think it unlikely that EcuTek would support you in case of a problem.

-Sean
I'm assuming for the end user, the hardware would be more robust than a dongle and two wires, but point taken :

Its all about money
DarthChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 12:04 PM   #24
StiDreams
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26315
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: On the grassy knoll.
Vehicle:
07 Outback
Silver/Silver

Default

I think they're going to have to do this anyway. They have COBB coming out with Access Tuner. They also have the 05+ VIN, CIN and CVN requirements. Both COBB and EcuTeK will have to provide some sort of facility to restore the ECU to factory spec for smog testing. COBB has stated that they're committed to doing this. Which means EcuTeK will be left out in the cold if they do not. If they do, then they're going to provide a way to flash the ECU back to factory spec. At that point it would not be that much of a stretch to give you access to the maps.
StiDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 12:29 PM   #25
Nemis
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 14330
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Italy
Vehicle:
2002 STI euro 265cv
blu mica rally!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happasaiyan
bottom line for me: i would definately buy a user tunable ecutek software package.

and if an "personal user tuning software" will relase for FREE ???

openecu.org . we are looking for programmer
Nemis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
success scaling injector for openecu and with UTEC user! pt435 UTEC 1 12-02-2009 07:34 PM
Advance Utec user Help with Timing. Knocks! Confused on Fuel/Timing Knock. bluesube2000 Engine Management & Tuning 8 11-21-2005 02:08 AM
Adobe pshop users and other appl users help. Starscream Off-Topic 4 08-18-2004 10:05 AM
Attn: All EcuTek, UTEC, Link, AEM & S-AFC Users!! schwarzenegger Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 22 11-26-2003 12:20 AM
UTEC Users please read the manual! nmyeti Engine Management & Tuning 15 10-27-2002 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.