Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 10, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2001, 10:48 PM   #1
DaveK
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2338
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
1988 323 GTX
black

Default Computer for TEC-II?

I'm buying a TEC-II, does anybody know what the minimum system requirements are for running the necessary tuning software? Thanks!

Dave
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
DaveK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2001, 10:50 PM   #2
tom@kartboy
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 67
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
1999 Outlasting
the competition.

Default

i recomend getting the cheepest used one avalable. the tec-2 can use just about anything that is a PC. too bad they dont have a MAC version
tom@kartboy.com
turbo'd-tec'd
tom@kartboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2001, 11:03 PM   #3
DaveK
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2338
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
1988 323 GTX
black

Default

Thats what I was hoping to do, I just don't want to go too cheap
DaveK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2001, 11:42 PM   #4
Digital_Boy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 730
Join Date: Jan 2000
Default

A P2 laptop will be MORE than sufficient to suit your needs if the TEC software is the only application used.

You can find AMD or P2 laptops for $500 or less.
Digital_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2001, 11:50 PM   #5
DaveK
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2338
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
1988 323 GTX
black

Default

What about the ports? What does it need to have? And yes, this will only be used for tuning the car...and maybe the ocassional solitare game
DaveK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2001, 11:55 PM   #6
Digital_Boy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 730
Join Date: Jan 2000
Default

Just your standard 9 pin serial port is all you need. I'd recommend a trackpad versus a laptop with a joystick for a mouse pointer though.

Or use one of the PS/2 ports and plug an external mouse in. The Microsoft optical mice can use any surface except a reflective one.
Digital_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2001, 11:55 PM   #7
NickSTi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 626
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Miami FL
Vehicle:
2001 Impreza 2.5 RS
Black Diamond Pearl

Default

if its anything like the rest a serial port is all u need.
NickSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2001, 12:36 AM   #8
DaveK
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2338
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
1988 323 GTX
black

Default

So do you guys think any of these would work? They seem to be a good size for using in the car...not sure if this link will work

http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?MfcISAPICommand=GetResult&ht=1&SortProp erty=MetaEndSort&query=libretto]try http://search.ebay.com/search/search...query=libretto[/url]

Thanks!
DaveK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2001, 01:18 AM   #9
Philip
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1934
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Fremont, CA USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

I love ebay, but for computers (and sometimes items for them) I would really recommend looking in the local newspaper classifieds.....

You might even want to call up the local computer stores, and tell them that you need a sub-$500 labtop to run diagnose software. You might even get more for your money.

Philip
Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2001, 10:36 AM   #10
DaveK
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2338
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
1988 323 GTX
black

Default

Thanks for the input. Maybe I'll look in the yellow pages for a used computer store.

Dave
DaveK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
O2 Sensors, TEC II, TEC III kaos200 Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 7 04-28-2004 09:12 PM
It's TEC II not TECH II !!! (nt) skidplatez Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 1 06-27-2001 02:31 PM
Bought TEC-II, crank pulley for 2.2L needed badly! BobR General Forum Archive 2 12-04-2000 10:19 PM
TEC II Update. Thoughts on NA TEC II Kit installation. Imprezer Technical Forum Archive 30 05-26-2000 08:37 PM
TEC-II / TEC-II Connection Port STi Sev Technical Forum Archive 10 05-25-2000 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.