Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2004, 06:57 PM   #1
wrx05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69032
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
Obsidian Black

Default Optima install..Is it easy?

I just got a Group 35 today and Im contemplating the install tonight or should I just wait till the weekend? Does it go right in or do I need to get anything else? The battery is the correct one for the car with the proper terminal orientation..

I guess my question is do I need anything else or is it just plug and play?

Thanks for the help..
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
wrx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 07:02 PM   #2
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

As long as you got the true 35 and not one of the "universal" 35/75's, it is a direct replacement for the stock battery. Disconnect negative terminal, then positive from old battery, remove hold-down clamp and take battery out. Drop in new battery and reverse procedure, done.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 10:04 PM   #3
wrx05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69032
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
Obsidian Black

Default

Thanks again Mulder...I got the true 35 from TNA.. I had read somewhere that the stock hold down clamps were too long..I didnt know if this was true.
wrx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 10:08 PM   #4
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Hm, not sure then about the clamps on your car. On my 02 with the 35/75, which is the same height as the 35, the lower height of the battery meant I had to screw the nuts way down on the studs to secure the clamp, but it did go down far enough. I haven't looked at the hold-down arrangement on an 05 but I wouldn't think it's that different.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 10:15 PM   #5
wrx05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69032
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
Obsidian Black

Default

I'll give it a try on Saturday..I have a set of Osram Silverstars going in as well. I can always hit Autozone for 8" clamps. If I remember right the OEM ones are 10".
wrx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 10:20 PM   #6
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Yeah, I don't think you'll have a problem. There is also a spacer available to put under the battery to raise it up to stock height, but you'd have to order it. Shouldn't be necessary.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 01:05 PM   #7
scoobysnowrally
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76478
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bozeman, MT
Vehicle:
06 STI & Tribeca
Aspen Graphite

Default

my cables woudlnt reach if I mounted it regular so I had to mount mine on its side. then I had to use a few washers on each side to tie it down with the stock tie downs
scoobysnowrally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 10:03 PM   #8
tooocool49723
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67127
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Belleville, MI
Vehicle:
3.3 I <3/h8 my GF3
1.8-2.5-2.2-2.5-2.2-3.3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobysnowrally
my cables woudlnt reach if I mounted it regular so I had to mount mine on its side. then I had to use a few washers on each side to tie it down with the stock tie downs
then i'm going to assume you used the wrong battery.
tooocool49723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 01:12 AM   #9
wrxspdr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 10570
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: buffalo,LI,NY
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
silver

Default surprised mulder didn't jump on this

I had this issue and mulder rescued me on it. You have to replace the starter cable with a longer one. The one from a legacy fits or the one from your local autoparts store. The trick is to undo the winshield washer tank and sneak yuor hands in to the starter. Worked well for me optima is a great battery.
wrxspdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 01:08 PM   #10
Skell
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75638
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
new metalocalypse
is effin funneh

Default

Another KUDOS for the Optima, I dont fear our cold NW morning starts anylonger...
Skell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 03:08 PM   #11
Subie Gal
GC84Ever
Super Moderator
 
Member#: 301
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WA
Vehicle:
1970 FF-1 & '70 Van
02 WRX/01 RS

Default

ditto....

Subie Gal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 05:10 PM   #12
Skell
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75638
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
new metalocalypse
is effin funneh

Default

did u mod your bolt rails? Im thinking bout hacksawing a few inches off my two....
Skell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 07:01 PM   #13
wrx05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69032
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
Obsidian Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kekeroks
did u mod your bolt rails? Im thinking bout hacksawing a few inches off my two....
I just picked up a set of 8" bolt rails from autozone for 5 bucks..battery is going in tomorrow.
wrx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 03:05 PM   #14
wrx05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69032
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
Obsidian Black

Default

battery is in and I managed to screw it up..I tightened down the clamps too much when I put some bulbs in awhile back and now when I let them out today the hole for one of the rails is all torn up. Its just sheetmetal and is pretty soft. I got the battery in and I was able to get the rail to seat somehow in the torn up hole but Im just not confident that its going to be okay. Maybe Im just being paranoid because it is solid.

You guys think it will be cool?
wrx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 04:16 PM   #15
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

I would fix that, it isn't that hard to get replacement parts (you can even go for some bling as in the pic above). You don't want your battery rattling around.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 07:07 PM   #16
wrx05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69032
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
Obsidian Black

Default

mulder--i was thinking the same thing but i dont think that it is replaceable..its the sheetmetal "stand?" that the battery and tray sit on top of. It has a hole on each side for the tie down rails to attach to. When I go in for my oil change I'll ask them to look at it and see if it can be replaced. The battery is very secure so Im hoping that it will never turn into a problem. I drove most of the day today and it didnt move at all.

Thanks for the input Mulder..BTW, the Osram Silverstars are awesome..
wrx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 07:13 PM   #17
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Ok, as long as the battery is tight and not in danger of loosening as you drive around. Maybe you can add some washers to reinforce the area, or I suppose it could be welded.
Glad you like the bulbs.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it easy to swap the stock wastegate with another stock wastegate? mrtrex Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 11-23-2005 07:19 PM
Is it easy to take off the sti foglight cover? cinemaster Newbies & FAQs 21 09-15-2005 12:06 PM
DIY vinyl tile.. Is it easy to do? MrBlue Off-Topic 3 03-07-2005 01:57 PM
is it easy to make front lights clear on 04 wagon? subaru_wrxwagon Electrical & Lighting 2 10-22-2004 11:58 AM
Is it easy to change the cams in the 2.5RS Impreza i need details thanks Imprezive2002 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 15 05-13-2003 07:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.