Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday June 3, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2005, 03:19 PM   #1
Liam D
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 50500
Join Date: Dec 2003
Default ? on switched power tap

I was going to install two additional cigarette lighters behind the dash to power an iPod and Satellite Radio. Can I tap the switched power off of the cigarette lighter under the HVAC controls? ('04 FXT). I can ground it to pretty much anything back there right?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Liam D is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-06-2005, 10:15 PM   #2
brunetmj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8023
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Way-upstate , NY
Vehicle:
2004 2.5 RS

Default

Sure. Here is an interesting thread I found on that topic from scoobymods. Personally I would prefer to use an independent wire to power the new 12 volt sockets using an inline fuse. That whole lighter system in a subaru is sensitive so I stay clear of it.

http://www.scoobymods.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1322
brunetmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 10:24 PM   #3
Trunk_Monkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71032
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: NW Chicago Burbs
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
World Rally Blue

Default

Trunk_Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 10:27 PM   #4
Liam D
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 50500
Join Date: Dec 2003
Default

Thanks a lot brunetmj! That's going to be a lot of help this weekend.

I'm going to put an .75A inline fuse from the switched power.
Liam D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 07:16 AM   #5
brunetmj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8023
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Way-upstate , NY
Vehicle:
2004 2.5 RS

Default

Quote:
.75A inline fuse
That's a rather low amp rating. Is that normal for an Ipod?
I would have expected to see a 10 or 15 amp fuse.
brunetmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 08:37 AM   #6
Liam D
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 50500
Join Date: Dec 2003
Default

Oops, you're right. The .75A is only for a switch, not the power for the cig lighters. For that, I've got to figure out what fuse is already there and what other loads it's taking. If there is a lot hooked up the the fuse that is for the stock cig lighter, I'll add a 10A fuse assembly.
Liam D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 08:42 AM   #7
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

You don't need anywhere near 10A for an Ipod or satellite receiver. At the most they might draw an amp or two apiece. If you're adding a separate line just to power these, a 5A fuse should suffice.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 09:21 AM   #8
Liam D
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 50500
Join Date: Dec 2003
Default

Actually, do I even need one at all? The cigarette lighter (3x I think) and power mirrors are on a 15A fuse already. Is an additional one necessary as long as I don't hook up a bunch of stuff at once?
Liam D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 09:51 AM   #9
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Yes you should add an additional fuse. The 15A fuse protects the entire circuit, but won't do much to protect your individual devices from anything less than a direct short. A smaller fuse dedicated to your added accessories will help protect them from major damage or meltdown should one of them fail and draw an abnormal amount of current.
If the devices themselves have their own internal fuses then this might not be necessary.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 10:44 AM   #10
Liam D
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 50500
Join Date: Dec 2003
Default

Yeah, but for an additional $4-5 I might as well put a 5A there. Thanks for the help.
Liam D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tapping a switched power line on our cars? NewShockerGuy Car Audio, Video & Security 4 04-24-2008 09:48 PM
Need some advice on 12v switched power source MattSTi Electrical & Lighting 7 08-21-2004 02:55 PM
Hella power tap ctrexer Electrical & Lighting 3 12-03-2003 11:55 AM
power tap in MrBaggio Electrical & Lighting 20 08-01-2003 01:35 PM
12v power tap for EBC dark_rex Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 3 06-19-2003 06:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.