Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday May 27, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2005, 04:37 PM   #1
WolfPlayer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65054
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Frederick, MD
Vehicle:
2005 STI (CGM)
Descooped / Dewinged

Default Installing 2 Subaru Subwoofers

I read somewhere awhile ago about somebody who installed TWO subaru subwoofers in their impreza (one under the driver's seat and one under the passenger's seat). I can no longer find that post and I tried the search I have the opportunity to do the same since I was given an extra one at Christmas. I was curious about HOW this person installed two of them and whether he/she just used both adapter harnesses. I'm not too concerned about mounting the subs. I am more concerned about the wiring. Theoretically I should be able to install both of the harnesses together since they are Male/Female. Basically just piggback them on top of each other and then install. However, I'm a little worried about power demands and want to make sure that there wouldn't be a problem. Any input is appreciated. I'm also curious as to how they ended up sounding.

t
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
WolfPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-06-2005, 06:06 PM   #2
armand1
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10309
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
'02 OBS 2-tone!
'95 Montego Miata

Default

They don't draw very much power; if it blows the fuse, you should be able to safely increase the fuse value by 5A.
armand1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 05:07 PM   #3
WolfPlayer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65054
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Frederick, MD
Vehicle:
2005 STI (CGM)
Descooped / Dewinged

Default

Well, today I installed the two factory subwoofers by mounting one under each seat. For the record I used some velcro instead of the factory bracket and double sided tape. This is very helpful for adjusting the gain and the crossover point on the subs ... and holds VERY well. All you need is the latch (plastic) part of the velcro. The carpet acts like the loop part. For the wiring I just used both harnesses and plugged them into each other before plugging them into the factory harness / radio. I ran one harness down the passenger side center console and one down the driver's side center console.

Also, I have the new subwoofer harness that has a special plug coming off of it that plugs into the radio (violet/orange)...
http://www.bescaredracing.com/sti/in...a/DSC02400.JPG
Obviously I had to combine the 2 harnesses at this new connector in order for the install to work. I did that and the install is working flawlessly. I have pics of the wiring harness mod that I can post later.

For information on that new connector go here ...
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=693002

In short, 2 subs is better than one sub. However, 2 crappy subs still yields crappy response. I would never recommend anyone to buy 2 factory subwoofers. I got 2 for Christmas (I paid nothing) so I figured I would give this a try. Yes, it does work and yes it is better than one sub. However, don't ever buy 2 factory subs. You'd be better off doing a real sub install or else something like 2 kenwood woox units.

t
WolfPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 06:29 PM   #4
typhoon663
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 74346
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Alamo City
Vehicle:
2004 VW Phaeton
Coucou grey

Default

I don't think I'd allow something called "woox" in my vehicle, no matter what it did...
typhoon663 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 06:34 PM   #5
BrysImpreza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 3102
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Northern, CT
Vehicle:
2012 Sport Limited
Ice Silver

Default

Very cool, I was actually looking into this, but since I've been building custom boxes since I 1996, I decided to try to find some 6.5" mid-range subs. I had 8" before but they were so loud under the seat they'd rattle your bowels

Glad to hear the install was a success, I wish the factory subs were better quality
BrysImpreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 01:21 PM   #6
Craig02WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 22607
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Austin, Tx
Vehicle:
2005 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfPlayer
...adjusting the gain
Where can you adjust the gain? Are there any other adjustments?
Craig02WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 12:42 AM   #7
DOH_minion
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 65068
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Yay Area
Vehicle:
05 Baja Turbo
OMG..U got Beat by a BAJA

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by typhoon663
I don't think I'd allow something called "woox" in my vehicle, no matter what it did...
but...if it "woox" then it "woox"...and shouldnt be a problem,right?
DOH_minion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 04:32 PM   #8
WolfPlayer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65054
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Frederick, MD
Vehicle:
2005 STI (CGM)
Descooped / Dewinged

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig02WRX
Where can you adjust the gain? Are there any other adjustments?
http://www.bescaredracing.com/sti/in...a/DSC02409.JPG
http://www.bescaredracing.com/sti/in...a/DSC02410.JPG
WolfPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 05:07 PM   #9
janne_s
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25553
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX STi
Silver Metallic

Default

Can you connect and feed the Subaru Sub-woofer from the "sub-out" socket on a Sony CD-player? The "sub-out" is of course a low level non-amplified connection.
Does the Subaru sub have a built in amplifier?
janne_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 07:11 PM   #10
Craig02WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 22607
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Austin, Tx
Vehicle:
2005 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Craig02WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 01:04 AM   #11
DumbUglyDragon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 61077
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Who Cares?
Vehicle:
1993 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by janne_s
Can you connect and feed the Subaru Sub-woofer from the "sub-out" socket on a Sony CD-player? The "sub-out" is of course a low level non-amplified connection.
Does the Subaru sub have a built in amplifier?
It should work by default if you installed the sony cd player properly using a harness.
DumbUglyDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 02:01 AM   #12
janne_s
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25553
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX STi
Silver Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DumbUglyDragon
It should work by default if you installed the sony cd player properly using a harness.
Does any one have som pictures showing the connections on teh suvwoofer?
janne_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 09:22 AM   #13
braveit1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 44810
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Florida
Vehicle:
2003 Baja w/Snuglid
Black & Silver

Default

I have this picture I used from a different post. but you can get the ideal.

The wire harness that came with my factory sub had six wires connected to it. The factory sub has inputs for eight wires (The extra two are a remote power and ground.) When I first got the sub with the car it worked properly with only the single power and ground. After a year the sub stopped working. The dealer tried to replace it twice and could never get it to work again with only the six wire harness. (I could short the two power leads together and get it to work.)
braveit1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 09:35 AM   #14
WolfPlayer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65054
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Frederick, MD
Vehicle:
2005 STI (CGM)
Descooped / Dewinged

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by janne_s
Does any one have som pictures showing the connections on teh suvwoofer?
That's on ScoobyMods.

t
WolfPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 10:23 AM   #15
iceNine
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12170
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan
Platnum Silver Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by janne_s
Can you connect and feed the Subaru Sub-woofer from the "sub-out" socket on a Sony CD-player? The "sub-out" is of course a low level non-amplified connection.
Does the Subaru sub have a built in amplifier?
The Subaru sub has its own amp BUT it takes speaker level input by taping into the rear speaker out wires from the HU. (True for 02-03 HU not sure about later). So it would not work by feeding it low level signals (I have actually done this and it didn't work).

Dale
iceNine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 01:47 PM   #16
WolfPlayer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65054
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Frederick, MD
Vehicle:
2005 STI (CGM)
Descooped / Dewinged

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceNine
The Subaru sub has its own amp BUT it takes speaker level input by taping into the rear speaker out wires from the HU. (True for 02-03 HU not sure about later). So it would not work by feeding it low level signals (I have actually done this and it didn't work).

Dale
This is not true for all of the OEM subs. For the subwoofer with PN H6300SS600 there is no 'speaker level' input. Rather, the harness is a special harness that taps into a special connector on the back of the radio to obtain the audio input. This specific radio output is very much LESS amplified than it's speaker level outputs. I tested the subwoofer using the harness that it came with (that also plugs into that special port I mentioned) ... AND I tested it with the previous year's subwoofer harness that got it's input from the speaker level outputs. When connecting up the old harness that pulls the signal from the speaker level outputs the subwoofer got very loud and distorted. When using the specified harness that has the special plug then the volume decreased to a low level.

The new harness is pictured on my site here:
http://www.bescaredracing.com/sti/in...a/DSC02400.JPG
http://www.bescaredracing.com/sti/in...a/DSC02401.JPG
http://www.bescaredracing.com/sti/in...a/DSC02402.JPG

Notice the small black plug with orange/purple wires (along with a gray looped wire).
WolfPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 09:56 AM   #17
zoth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 179221
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza STI
Spark Silver

Default

Can't you just splice, lets say Sub2 to the cables of Sub1 before the cables of Sub1 goes to the head unit. ?
zoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 08:56 AM   #18
mgiguere20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 130929
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Worcester, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoth View Post
Can't you just splice, lets say Sub2 to the cables of Sub1 before the cables of Sub1 goes to the head unit. ?
^^^any answer to this question??
mgiguere20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 08:59 PM   #19
obyone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16523
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Does anyone even read
Vehicle:
this anymore???

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoth View Post
Can't you just splice, lets say Sub2 to the cables of Sub1 before the cables of Sub1 goes to the head unit. ?
I've done this and it's both hit and miss.

THe original sub hookedup and worked fine, the second was piggy backed onto the original's wiring harness to create a sort of Y harness. They both rocked, well as much as a stock sub can, and that's the hit. The miss is that, for some reason, the piggy backed sub would ALWAYS melt through the speaker wires connecting the magnet to the cone. It's happened 5 times to 3 different underseat subs. Repairing the burnt wire just caused it to melt at a different location.

I ended up just abandoning the second box and keeping the original.
obyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Subaru Subwoofers MtnXfreeride Car Audio, Video & Security 5 10-26-2009 06:14 PM
dealer install Subaru subwoofer kit restricts seat movement javagate Car Audio, Video & Security 7 06-25-2008 09:10 AM
Sony Playstation 2, and stock Subaru Subwoofer kendogg41 Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 3 11-07-2005 09:21 AM
Install help w/ Subaru Subwoofer WRX upgrade cky211 Car Audio, Video & Security 13 08-14-2003 11:37 PM
Dealer installs Subaru subwoofer - CD player quit! SnortWagon Car Audio, Video & Security 4 02-04-2002 04:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.