Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday December 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2005, 10:18 PM   #1
BMWWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 79079
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WR Blue

Default ECU Reset

What exactly does an ECU reset do? I had my ECU reflashed by ECUTEK, if I do the reset will my ECU revert to its stock settings, causing me to lose my 600 dollars worth of tuning?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
BMWWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 10:23 PM   #2
cnk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10757
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Limited 6MT
DGM

Default

A ECU reset will just cause the ECU to revert back to the base maps that were flashed onto it via Ecutek. You will just lose all the learning that the ECU had done. After driving around for a bit, the ECU will relearn and you'll be fine.

Calvin
cnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 10:35 PM   #3
BMWWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 79079
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WR Blue

Default RE: ECU Reset

Thanks, how long does it usually take to relearn stuff. For example I just got a B&B catless uppipe installed, would it be worth reseting my ECU?
BMWWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 10:37 PM   #4
cnk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10757
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Limited 6MT
DGM

Default

It usually takes a few hundred miles. . .just drive around and you'll be fine. As for the uppipe, it really doesn't matter since it will adapt to the UP either way. Most people reset their ECU's anyways, which sucks if you don't have a way to do it without disconnecting the battery as you have to reprogram your clock and radio.

Calvin
cnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyless entry- reset after ECU reset? sir_aspen_white Electrical & Lighting 1 04-22-2003 09:24 PM
('93-'01) Does an ECU reset change the way an auto tranny shifts? subymamma Impreza Forum 14 05-18-2001 12:44 PM
('93-'01) ECU reset? littleblue Impreza Forum 3 05-04-2001 02:00 AM
('93-'01) ECU reset causing me to run RICH ? bigbird Impreza Forum 5 04-10-2001 11:53 PM
ECU reset for '99 Liberty Andy_T Legacy Forum 0 01-23-2000 07:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.