Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday October 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2005, 10:22 AM   #1
jim1969
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34877
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT sedan

Question 91 or 93 octane for EcuTek reflash?

I'm getting my car an EcuTek reflash shortly and I'm wondering which octane to get it tuned at. I have 93 readily available but what if I'm away and can't find it? If I get it tuned for 91, what happens if I put 93 in as I've done since I've owned the car. I guess this is what's nice about the AccessPort since you can change maps according to the octane.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jim1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 01:40 PM   #2
kpmatt00
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 23304
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North Western, CT
Vehicle:
2002 JDM STI V8 SWAP
Sold!

Default

no expert but u shud be alright. ur computer will learn and prob pull timing limiting boost etc, until u put 93 in prob a bunch of times to run it back to an upper loop, I think there are 16 or so. I am running 93 on my jdm ecu until i get it tuned, so if that is any consulation. Matt
kpmatt00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 02:21 PM   #3
CreoWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19024
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: West L.A.
Vehicle:
2014 Audi S6 + APR
Glacier White

Default

Tune the car with whatever octane you'll drive the most with. If I was still in PA, I'd be tuning on 94 octane... But now I'm back to crappy 91 (with better weather).

-Mike-
CreoWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 02:41 PM   #4
mbiker97
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7922
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Tucson
Vehicle:
04 CTS-V b/b/b
99 GMC Highrider

Default

Get it mapped for the highest available octane you will use regularly.
mbiker97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 09:41 PM   #5
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

Get the ecu mapped with an EcuTek map that was designed for 91 octane, but will adapt (for more power) if you run higher octane. There are 2 ways to tune a car. One way is at the limit of whatever octane level you have and another way is to tune it just like Subaru did.... i.e. for 91 with the ability to advance itself if higher octane gas was available. There are EcuTek tuners/resellers in the States that use this method of tuning... but the majority put the blinders on, tune to one octane level, and leave it at that.
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 12:17 PM   #6
jim1969
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34877
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT sedan

Default

Nice post over on Cobb's site today. Ben at EcuTek also recommended tuning at 91 octane and allow it to advance itself for better gas.
jim1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 01:49 AM   #7
joeyd02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16742
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: El Paso,TX/Lawton OK
Vehicle:
07 STI UGM
AP Stage2 Clark Tuned

Default

i just had mine tuned for 91 octane. I have 5 gallons of 101 race gas at the house for when I had the UTEC. I wonder if I could do a mix of 91 and 101 when I hit the drags. Not sure if my reflash has an advance allowed
joeyd02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for 91 or 93 octane ver8 EJ207 timing map jblaine Engine Management & Tuning 13 03-10-2011 06:49 PM
Mid-A AccessPort people - 91 or 93 octane maps? Zoinks Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 10 07-13-2007 08:18 AM
STI advertised output on 91 or 93 octane Beanboy Newbies & FAQs 30 03-10-2006 04:11 PM
91 or 93 octane map for 92 octane? JiDM_WeRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 7 12-12-2005 01:16 AM
91 or 93 octane? sti_ln STi Forum Archive 2 09-14-2003 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.