Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2005, 11:17 PM   #1
rmac12
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78637
Join Date: Jan 2005
Vehicle:
2008 STI
SSM

Default Accessport stage 2 with fmic?

would the stage 2 map run lean with a fmic and short ram intake? Or would i be problem free?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
rmac12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 12:59 AM   #2
BigJ04STi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77239
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: A Town
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
None

Default

The AP was not intended for a FMIC...
BigJ04STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 03:10 AM   #3
awilson529
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 38867
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Vehicle:
11 Mazda

Default

Pulleys, & FMIC are within the learning curve, of the Ap...

It's safe, but you might not get the results you expect.
awilson529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 10:25 AM   #4
Subie2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14750
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Anywhere but here.
Vehicle:
2007 Element SC
Root Beer Metallic

Default

I was wondering this exact same thing.. makes me wanna lean toward EcuTek now or some other form of engine management. I just picked up a FMIC but I have stock turbo. I cant imagine it Hurting anything.. your just adding the time the air takes to get to the Throttle body... only thing that could affect it is if you get an aftermarket intake. (which is req. for a FMIC) But then if you get one that doesnt affect the MAF reading you should be ok right? Same goes for the BOV.. stay recirculating and there should be no problem. The AP map isnt gonna see any changes besides the extra charge time. But who knows... might screw it all up.
Subie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 01:49 PM   #5
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

My question is why on earth would you put a FMIC on stage 2??? FMIC is overkill for the stock turbo. The intake will probably mess with the tune more than the FMIC. If you have the proper gauges installed, you can install the parts and keep an eye on everything, mainly boost, EGT, and AFR. If something gets dangerous go get a custom tune or take off the parts that messed with the tune. Without the proper monitoring, i wouldn't mess with the intake that comes along with a FMIC.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 06:05 PM   #6
Gonz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18642
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: MAIC
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX STi

Default

Quote:
would the stage 2 map run lean with a fmic and short ram intake? Or would i be problem free?
Not safe. Stage II must use the stock intake.
Gonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 06:11 PM   #7
Subie2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14750
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Anywhere but here.
Vehicle:
2007 Element SC
Root Beer Metallic

Default

If the MAF readings still read the same then nothing changes from stock. Therefore its safe. Now whether or not that happens.. who knows!
Subie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 06:17 PM   #8
Subie2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14750
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Anywhere but here.
Vehicle:
2007 Element SC
Root Beer Metallic

Default

Stg II with a FMIC sounds like someone is gonna upgrade in the near future.. I see nothing wrong with it IMO. It wont "hurt" anything.
Subie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V2 Accessport Stage 2 with STI TBE? HELPr AccessPort 1 10-22-2009 09:15 PM
02 WRX 4eat, stage 2 with accessport - did I hurt my tranny?? hellonwrxwheels Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 6 01-04-2006 10:21 PM
Weird RPM surge with accessport stage 2 kinada423 Engine Management & Tuning 10 10-11-2005 03:44 PM
Did you pass OBD-II test with Accessport stage 2 and upipe resistor fix? MO REX Engine Management & Tuning 4 11-24-2004 07:12 PM
trying to go stage 2 with accessport skimmilk68 Engine Management & Tuning 4 05-25-2004 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.