Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday April 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2005, 04:55 PM   #1
Discjoshie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43717
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland (D.C. Area)
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS
Silver

Default Aftermarket ECU and Inspections

I live in Maryland, and I know that if your car has and OBD-II (stock) then they will use the OBD-II diagnostic plug for emissions inspection. If I had aftermarket management for a supercharged RS, in the form of a parallel sort of setup like a TEC-II or TEC3, or had a full standalone of somekind, like a Link+, would I be able to pass inspection? How would they test? If I tell them my ECU is and aftermarket part, will they probably do a tail pipe test instead or otherwise??

Anyone with aftermarket ECUs, especially from Maryland, have any input?

Thank,
Josh
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Discjoshie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 04:59 PM   #2
cnk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10757
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Limited 6MT
DGM

Default

If your car is supposed to have OBD-II and they plug in the port to scan and get nothing, you will fail.

Calvin
cnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 05:54 PM   #3
dentprone
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 18588
Join Date: May 2002
Location: philadelphia
Vehicle:
1999 busted car
silverthorn

Default

find out how your obd2 system works and make a module and hook it up to your obd2 port, that tells the state inspector scan tool that there is no DTC's and the system is ready sell it at walmart and you can be a millionare
dentprone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 06:34 PM   #4
Discjoshie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43717
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland (D.C. Area)
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS
Silver

Default

Bump for an actual answer. Anyone have any solutions? I just need the car to run well, not lean or rich with bigger injectors and fuel pump with about 6.5 lbs of boost. I guess I need to maintain my stock ECU so no standalones. Help?
Discjoshie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 07:17 PM   #5
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

A piggyback like the UTEC or XEDE will pass through OBDII stuff, and so will pass a nonvisual inspection.

I doubt a standalone will pass.

I am not sure about a reflash, but I would imagine that it would pass.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 10:05 PM   #6
awilson529
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 38867
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Vehicle:
11 Mazda

Default

Interested in a solid answer... I'm planing on ditching the aP and going Hydra. This has been in the front of my mind since I thought of switching EMs.

Adam
awilson529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 10:58 PM   #7
OppositeLock
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54060
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: N Jersey
Vehicle:
Now: v8 207/v6 5mt
Then: JRTune fastest td04

Default

Interested as well. If anybody has any NJ inspection/EM info.
Dave
OppositeLock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 12:34 AM   #8
Discjoshie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43717
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland (D.C. Area)
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS
Silver

Default

Can someone tell me more about the UTEC or link me to a thread about what it is and does exactly? Is it simple to use and tune? Costs and where to buy? Thanks.
Discjoshie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 09:58 PM   #9
David Medina
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37721
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: spanaway, wa
Vehicle:
2003 WRX sedan
pearl blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Discjoshie
Can someone tell me more about the UTEC or link me to a thread about what it is and does exactly? Is it simple to use and tune? Costs and where to buy? Thanks.
i beleive www.worldoneperformance.com has a section on their site about it.
David Medina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 10:10 PM   #10
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

UTEC is a piggy back computer that intercepts signals from your ECU and modifies what the ECU sees and putputs. It attaches to your exisitng computer. Cost is about $950. As for tuning - its about as simple to tune as you can get, but that doesn't mean you can just pick up car tuning. You have to know what you are doing to use it, or you WILL blow up your engine. So, yes, it very simple to use and tune, but its not like there is a 'make 35HP' button .

Many vendors sell it. i got mine from Gruppe-S in a deal that includes 1 hr of dyno tuning (well worth it to get it tuned).

before spending a grand on this stuff, I throughly researched every available engine computer. My requirements were that I wanted something that would be undetectable by a nonvisual inspection (that rules outa standalone ECU) and something that was removeable (ruling out an ECU reflash) and something that could not be detected by a dealer (ruling out a Cobb AP) and easy to use without custom software (ruling out the Vishnu XEDE).
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 11:31 PM   #11
Discjoshie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43717
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Maryland (D.C. Area)
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS
Silver

Default

Well I just learned that the UTEC is exclusively for WRXs. Oops. I have been trading emails with Bill from I-Speed and he said that there will be some kind boosted RS reflash pretty soon. I don't mean to cause a stir, but I sure hope that it comes out soon and it is effective and of high quality, as per I-Speed's reputation. If anyone has any other suggestions or information I would love to hear it. Thanks for your help, guys.
Discjoshie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 04:02 AM   #12
awilson529
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 38867
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Vehicle:
11 Mazda

Default

I thought there was a UTEC available for Evo's also? Or is it still in development?
awilson529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 05:01 AM   #13
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

There is an EVO UTEC, as well as an STi UTEC> However, there is no RS UTEC.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 12:48 AM   #14
erice1984
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11778
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Illinois
Vehicle:
1980 VWRabbit Diesel
w/AAZ Swap

Default

i thought of a way. not sure it will work, but if you left the tuning to your standalone and jus gave your stock ecu all the sensors but no control, then have the stock ecu report to the obd2 plug thing so when they read it everything is a-ok
erice1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : OH: 04' STI ECU and 04' STI DCCD Controller pannell77 Engine/Power/Exhaust 18 07-28-2010 07:14 AM
Problem w/ ECU? State Inspection? MykeM Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 1 09-22-2007 03:25 PM
WTB:STOCK 02-03 WRX ECU or any aftermarket ECU for WRX 02-03 SpoonTypeR Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 17 11-25-2005 10:48 AM
Reflashed ECU and passing inspection? SjpWrx Tri-State Area Forum 2 10-05-2005 07:12 PM
Splitting the stock EGT sensor signal to both ECU and a aftermarket gauge Worxman02 Electrical & Lighting 9 01-15-2005 11:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.