Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 16, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2005, 09:04 PM   #1
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Exclamation Tuner Pro WBO2 not working...!!

Well after being gone for six months on deployment, i come back and drive my car for a little bit. The tuner is working perfect, the wb02 reading just fine. Well I relocated the tuner to below my stereo, it was wedged inbetween the ebrake and the passenger seat. Well now the tuner will count down, and sometimes i get a reading from the sensor and then it says Err and sometimes it goes strait to Err without reporting any afr at all. Its weird because sometimes it works for a few seconds, and sometimes it doesnt work at all. It used to work 100% of the time, not a single problem. I have always been careful with the sensor, and I was even able to do a free-air calibration, but then it still would fault out sometimes. I did FAC after updating it to the newest software revision.

Does anybody know what could cause this problem? Any suggestions would be awesome, i really dont like my new toy not working!

Jeff
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 07:25 AM   #2
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

Hook your laptop onto the Tuner to see what error has been reported.

regards
Pete
(TurboXS)
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 08:02 AM   #3
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Ok. Last time i checked that it says "sensor malfunction" i believe. I'll check again though just to double check. Just so you know, its the bosch sensor.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 04:41 PM   #4
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Pete,

The tuner says "Disconnected". It is plugged in, so something else is wrong. I have it off the car and dangling in the air off to the side of the car at the moment. I am going to try to reflash it to 1.5 again and see if that fixes it. It worked with the old software but i couldnt find that anywhere so i cant go back to it.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 06:07 PM   #5
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

If it helps....The sensor does not warm up at all, at least the outside doesnt. It is totally cool to the touch. The sensor was plugged in for the first time a long time ago, worked fine, and started doing this "disconnected" thing without ever being unplugged so its not like i unplugged it and broke something. I checked the voltages on the pins that go into the sensor plug. THey were something like 7, 12, 3, 3 7 or very close to that. I hope thats right. If you want I can go check them again and tell you what color had what voltage.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 03:54 PM   #6
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

Sounds like the heater circuit is broken somewhere. The heater wires on the Bosch connector are (+) grey and (-) white at the Bosch sensor end.

Disconnect the sensor from the cable.

Measure the resistance between these pins to the sensor. The resistance should be less than 4 ohms.

Connect a voltmeter to the pins of the Tuner cable that correspond to these pins. Power up the Tuner and you should see a voltage starting about 7V and increasing to about 11V as the Tuner countdown reaches zero.

The software revision should have no effect on the operation of the sensor.

regards
Pete
(TurboXS)
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 04:36 PM   #7
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

I will go check that right now and post what i find. Thanks for your help Pete.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 05:09 PM   #8
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

The resistance is 3.8 ohms.
The voltage is 12.9. I know that is kinda high. I tried to adjust the input voltage in the settings to see if raising the number would cause the heater voltage to drop a little lower but it didnt. I raised it to 18v input and saved, then turned it off then back on and still got 12.9 volts. So i went to put it back to 12.9 and when i hit ctrl-s to save the settings back it froze(the tuner, not the laptop) and i was unable to get back into it. I tried turning the car on and off several times but the tuner now shows NOTHING on the front display, and does no countdown. The only thing it does is immediately light up the green led on the front. I now only get like 2v on the heater wire. The tuner pro basically just crapped out on me.

I hope this helps, and i wish i was provided a link to download the old firmware.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 04:47 PM   #9
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Bump....Any ideas? I think i need to reflash it either way, now i cannot even get to the utec through it.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 11:27 AM   #10
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Just to be clear, all these problems occured AFTER updating to Version 1.5. Before that, i had zero problems, ever.

If anybody else has ever had problems due to the new version, please post so maybe i can figure out what to do.

Thanks,
Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 11:04 PM   #11
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

bump....still nobody? I am kinda in a jam here. I am in desperate need of a good tune...

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 04:48 PM   #12
cpturbo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49175
Join Date: Nov 2003
Vehicle:
2004 STI
WRB

Default Tuner problems

no message

Last edited by cpturbo; 01-23-2005 at 05:01 PM.
cpturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 09:17 PM   #13
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

I am out at sea right now but i'll be back probably saturday so at that point im going to reflash it with the software that TurboXS sent me.

cpturbo - thanks for your offer, i'll call you when i get back in town.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 09:38 PM   #14
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Just curious, what are the versions of the firmware for the Tuner? Starting with what they came with, which i believe is 1.1. Were there any versions between that and 1.5? if there was then i somehow missed them, maybe they came out when i was out on deployment for 6 months or something.

Anyways, to make a long story short, what were all the versions and what did they add, in a nutshell?

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 10:03 PM   #15
cpturbo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49175
Join Date: Nov 2003
Vehicle:
2004 STI
WRB

Default

There is a version 1.3 that fixed synchrony with the UTEC. I like version 1.5 but it is giving me the same problems. I can not access the menu with the 1.5. By the way, when calibrating the sensor. You may have to have the car on so that there is enough voltage with the sensor in free air only.

CPTurbo
cpturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 10:25 PM   #16
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Intersting..i never had any problems with synchrony, not that i can remember at least. Ok well thanks for that tidbit of info. I hope thats the version that was sent to me(1.3). If its 1.1 then thats fine too cause thats what im used to anyways.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 11:58 PM   #17
cpturbo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49175
Join Date: Nov 2003
Vehicle:
2004 STI
WRB

Default

I guess what I meant was that it helped eliminate a bug in logger 1 on UTEC. No real synchrony issue. sorry for the confusion.

CP
cpturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 09:15 PM   #18
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Well my wife tells me that i was sent version 1.4. I think thats kinda funny because nobody mentioned what is special about that version over 1.3. Anybody have any words about 1.4? I hope it works on my tuner, thats all i can say. Man i really cant wait to get home and get my car tuned...being out at sea SUCKS!!!

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 09:29 AM   #19
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

jeff, please keep us posted as to how it works out.

good luck,
ken
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 03:45 PM   #20
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

OK Here is an update.

Reflashed it to 1.4. Did the EXACT same thing.
Reflashed it to 1.3. Did the EXACT same thing.

Reflashed it BACK to 1.5. Things get interesting.

At first it did the exact same thing again, so i unplug the harness from the back of the tuner while its on, then plug it back in. It does the count down and when its done, instead of saying "Err" it indicates >25:1 because its in free air, so im like "YES it works!" The WB02 sensor would now heat up. Moments later the tuner shows "FR.A" so it recognizes that its in free air, which is good. So i unplug it and reinstall it back into my dash below my stereo and i test it again before actually screwing the thing into the dash, so its there exposed still. I try it one more time to make sure its good and it shows >25:1 for about 4 seconds, then it rushs down to around 18:1(taking about 2 secs to do so) then shows "Err" and says the sensor is disconnected. I tried unplugging it many times and trying turning the car off, wiggling the plugs and everything but nothing works, now it doesnt work anymore, it just shows >25:1 for about 4 seconds then shows Err.

All in all this has been a pretty cruddy day and the tuner is absolutely not working. I am seriously like an inch from throwing it in the trash can and never looking back because thats all it is, a paperweight.

If anybody has any suggestions please clue me in before i go crazy.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 04:01 PM   #21
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

Open up the D-type connector and check for any damaged or broken wires. Examine the contacts both on the Tuner and the 15 way D-type for signs of pins being pushed back or bent.

regards
Pete
(TurboXS)
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 04:02 PM   #22
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

I have checked the back of the tuner and the pins are all perfectly strait. I can look inside the d-type connector but i dont think i'll find anything... i'll post what i find in a little bit.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:00 PM   #23
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

OK well heres what i found...

All wires but one checked out perfect.

The black wire that goes into the pack of 3 wires is slightly exposed(its own insulation is missing) for about 1/4 of an inch before it dissapears into the grey wire jacket for those 3 wires. It looks like a cable shield wire but i dont know.

Here's something i think i've nailed it down to:

When the cables comming right out of the d-type connector are bent/curved 90 degrees to the left side of the tuner, the tuner will work fine. If they come out of the d-type and continue on away from the tuner in a semi-strait manor, the tuner will Err out.

It looked like everything was ok inside the connector but all fingers point to it as the culprit.

Any ideas?

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:38 PM   #24
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Its affirmative, when the cables from the d-type are pulled to the left the tuner works fine and when they arnt it shows "Err". I just reinstalled the wbo2 back into the downpipe and started up the car and it works perfect.

Crazy huh....
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for repatable tuner / pro shop to do motor work ScooByBooSt007 Built Motor Discussion 3 05-09-2010 08:44 PM
OS Tuners with WBo2 sensors: What if I mount sensor AFTER cat? saab-on-the-cobb Open Source Reflashes 7 07-18-2009 10:49 AM
Need replacement Tuner Pro Bosch WBO2 sensor.. suggestions? AaronWRX UTEC 23 07-28-2008 07:10 PM
TurboXS TUNA Pro WBo2 FS meld Engine/Power/Exhaust 1 12-30-2006 02:48 AM
UTEC and Tuner not working together TravisSTi UTEC 3 03-04-2006 01:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.