Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2005, 12:17 AM   #1
Graham
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11931
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL/ SMU @ Dallas,
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS Turbo
257/FMIC/T3-T04S

Default Link Plus: Question on RPM pin output

I am trying to wire in my RPM logger function on my new TechEdge wideband O2, and I can not find the RPM sensor output pin on the Link Plus wiring harness.

At this point, my best guess is the TRIG 2 (blue) or the TRIG 1 (white) wire. It says that the TRIG 2 wire has a cam/crank sensor function in the manual, but would this be the correct wire to tap for the RPM count? Also, the manual says that the TRIG 2 wire should not have any interference, as this is a very important wire because it controls ignition timing, injectors, fuel pump, etc..

Would the Tacho (white/green) output be capable of driving a logger function for a wideband software application?

Any help is appreciated, as I need to get this thing running soon (have a tune comning up).


Graham
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 01:13 PM   #2
Graham
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11931
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL/ SMU @ Dallas,
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS Turbo
257/FMIC/T3-T04S

Default

need to get this working....
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 06:16 PM   #3
Chav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3269
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS Sedan STM
RSTi

Default

I would not use the crank or cam angle sensors for a tach signal. I don't know if the techedge can use the variable reluctance sensors that we use to figure out the rpm. Your best bet would be to use the tachometer output from the link (pin B8) to drive the tachometer input on the techedge.

-Chav
Chav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 08:06 PM   #4
Graham
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11931
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL/ SMU @ Dallas,
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS Turbo
257/FMIC/T3-T04S

Default

Thanks for the information Chav. Apparently, though, the RPM jumper block on the component side of the board inside the TechEdge brain has two pins that need to be jumpered to accept the +12v that the Tacho (as Link calls it) outputs. Otherwise, you have to find a 0-5v source from which to draw your RPM signal. I do not think that there are any 0-5v sources that output an RPM signal on the Link wiring harness.

I am in the process of trying to contact Peter from TechEdge in Austraulia see if he has any alternatives. Otherwise, any ideas on where I can buy jumper (or shunts) so the jumper block can accept a +12v current?

Thanks

Graham
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 01:06 AM   #5
Chav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3269
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS Sedan STM
RSTi

Default

You could just use a voltage divider to bring the voltage down to the 0-5v range.

Here is a link to an example.
http://people.clarkson.edu/~svoboda/...derDesign.html

If you need help with the circuit diagram I can help.

-Chav
Chav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 01:52 AM   #6
erice1984
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11778
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Illinois
Vehicle:
1980 VWRabbit Diesel
w/AAZ Swap

Default

on a stock my00 2.5rs the pin out is on connector b134 terminal number 30 it is called engine speed that would be B8 on the link plus, and it says wire color for that is white-green
erice1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pic request for RPM pin site on 2004 USDM STi ECU PA04STI Commercial ECU Reflashes 6 05-22-2007 11:43 PM
Need Pic of RPM pin site on 2004 USDM STi ECU PA04STI Electrical & Lighting 1 05-20-2007 11:40 PM
rpm pin on comp. chris d Tri-State Area Forum 1 10-11-2002 08:40 AM
rpm pin # on wrx comp chris d Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 0 10-11-2002 03:30 AM
question on RPMS when not in gear moogooob Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 5 09-23-2002 06:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.