Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 12, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2005, 03:31 AM   #1
SaabTuner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67608
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Default Anyone using AutoEnginuity Scan Tool on an '04 STi?

I had a little race with a 2004 STi in my Viggen and then flagged the guy down to talk. I've always wanted to data-log one to see what kind of MAF and Ignition values the stock 04 runs on 91 octane; we hooked up the logger.

No matter what I did, the logger wouldn't connect! It kept saying "unable to connect to OBDII interface" and I tried changing all the settings around to see if it would, but no dice.

Possibilities:

1) Didn't try the "metric" settings and I know I should have, BUT it couldn't even sense the interface, and should have connected even with metric instead of standard, since my Saab uses metric and it connects in standard mode just fine.

2) Broken connector inside his dash.

3) Something unique about the Subaru software? I assume other people have used the Auto-Enginuity Scan Tool with the 04 STi.

4) Tuned ECU on stock hardware and OBDII disabled? Maybe the original owner did something naughty. (This guy just bought it used.)

I doubt it's tuned because it wasn't THAT fast and didn't out-accellerate me; given the circumstances, bad as they were for him, a tuned car shoulda put the smack down.

Anyway, anyone out there using the scan tool successfully with an '04? It should work on any car sold in the US '96 or newer.

Adrian~
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SaabTuner is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 11:09 AM   #2
Pre-diddy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26837
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis
Vehicle:
04 STi - Sold! :(

Default

I don't remember specific brands, but I know there are a few OBD-II scan tools that don't work on Subaru's (and some other manufacturer) for whatever reason. YOu may just not have the right brand.
Pre-diddy is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 11:53 AM   #3
ataac_flat04
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 19050
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hannibal, MO
Vehicle:
2005 Black STi
Happily rowing 6 gears

Default

My brother got one, wouldn't connect to my 02 WRX. Haven't tried it on my STi yet. E-mail the Auto Enginuity guys, there's supposed to be a patch or update fix to be able to read the Subaru ECU. HTH's -Chuck
ataac_flat04 is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 01:38 PM   #4
horshack
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19236
Join Date: May 2002
Vehicle:
Axis GT35/40R STi
Not back yet

Default

The Auto Enginuity guy beta tested his product on my 04 STi a few times. I dont know if his production version - but I bet if you call them they will email you the newest version to correct any issues from previous versions.

I currently own and use the Auto X-Ray 4000 - It has worked great since day 1 - data logging and all.

UTEC took over the data log functions for now.
horshack is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 03:00 PM   #5
SaabTuner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67608
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Default

Thanks guys. After testing his car, then trying to test mine, it wouldn't connect to mine either. So I reinstalled and it was back to normal (working great!) ...

... but I haven't tried his STi yet.

Once the AutoEnginuity site is back up and running (was down this morning) I'll download v3.1 ... maybe it will help.

Thanks guys for all the info!

Adrian~

p.s. The guys in the STi were pretty shocked that a Saab, even after getting the jump on them from behind on a roll, was able to hold a lead on them from 35-105. They also know nothing about tuning and were quite happy to meet someone who knows a bit. I'll have to point the n00bs around here.
SaabTuner is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 03:32 PM   #6
yeager
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39121
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2004 sti- URstg3
psm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaabTuner
Thanks guys. After testing his car, then trying to test mine, it wouldn't connect to mine either. So I reinstalled and it was back to normal (working great!) ...

... but I haven't tried his STi yet.

Once the AutoEnginuity site is back up and running (was down this morning) I'll download v3.1 ... maybe it will help.

Thanks guys for all the info!

Adrian~

p.s. The guys in the STi were pretty shocked that a Saab, even after getting the jump on them from behind on a roll, was able to hold a lead on them from 35-105. They also know nothing about tuning and were quite happy to meet someone who knows a bit. I'll have to point the n00bs around here.
is that with the new intake, Adrian?
yeager is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 11:48 PM   #7
SaabTuner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67608
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yeager
is that with the new intake, Adrian?
Oui. That new intake that's causing spool up to be so quick that the ECU panicks and pulls 10 hp worth of airflow on datalogs. But it's all good; later it will be compensated for by a larger A/R ratio housing from the 9000 Aero. Evens out. Good gains in reduced EGT, and pumping losses; less effort to pump things ... and better detonation resistance for crappy 91 cali fuel.

This car already flows 200+ grams/second of air as long as you keep the spool-up map wastegate adaption values within stock parameters. Just reducing the pumping losses can net huge gains in power; changing the intake tube, exhaust turbing housing only, and intercooler can net you as much as 30-35 hp on this car ... without any additional airflow. But only if you keep that wastegate spool up map happy ...

It took the factory engineer a good 5 e-mails to convince me of that. The peripherals are just that bad on this really good engine. With really good peripherals, like headers, intake tube, intercooler, and one internal mod (camshafts, but from another Saab and not expensive), you can take this engine to around 290-320 "real" hp. Real hp = 550 lb-ft/min. Dynojet reads almost in wheel hp what the "real" crank hp is (and yes, there is a REAL way for it to be measured). Factory ECU will run around 27.2 lbs/min based on my datalogs and factory maps provided to me by one of the guys who designed and tuners the ECU. (That's unbelievably cool to be able to say ... even if nothing really special here at nabisco.)

The compressor map for the 15T (stock turbo) hits choke at around 29 lbs/min. For comparison the VF-22 hits choke on its map at 34 lbs/min, and stock WRX's turbo at 25 lbs/min. I don't have the VF-39's stock specs. Sorry.

I know you guys hate when I Saab rant. Prolly gonna get flamed. Sorry.

Adrian~

p.s. Just rode in the guy's STi again today and couldn't get it to connect. His car literally crashes the software so it has to be re-installed. I'm going to try release V 3.1 as soon as I can get it. Jebuz, what a PITA. (It's a fast car though; if he hadn't had an extra 200 lbs he woulda gotten around a car-length by 100 mph. Gotta love the 04 power in cold weather.)
SaabTuner is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 12:49 PM   #8
horshack
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19236
Join Date: May 2002
Vehicle:
Axis GT35/40R STi
Not back yet

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaabTuner
p.s. Just rode in the guy's STi again today and couldn't get it to connect. His car literally crashes the software so it has to be re-installed. I'm going to try release V 3.1 as soon as I can get it. Jebuz, what a PITA. (It's a fast car though; if he hadn't had an extra 200 lbs he woulda gotten around a car-length by 100 mph. Gotta love the 04 power in cold weather.)
OK Guys,

AE tracked me down yesterday at the house, found the bug and it has been corrected with the 3.2 release.

I dont know what the bug was, he was talking code and very fast at that. Was here about 30 min, we even loaded it up on my laptop to test.

This was the first time I had used it, it has a fast sample rate which is good!

We might even buy this for the shop to assist in tuning Ford chips.
horshack is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 11:53 PM   #9
SaabTuner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67608
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by horshack
OK Guys,

AE tracked me down yesterday at the house, found the bug and it has been corrected with the 3.2 release.

I dont know what the bug was, he was talking code and very fast at that. Was here about 30 min, we even loaded it up on my laptop to test.

This was the first time I had used it, it has a fast sample rate which is good!

We might even buy this for the shop to assist in tuning Ford chips.
Well I e-mailed him and found out my problem: I don't have the CAN interface required for the 04 STi.
SaabTuner is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 12:03 AM   #10
Unabomber
Big Ron
Moderator
 
Member#: 18062
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: I can save you a ton of cash
Vehicle:
on car parts so PM
me b4 j00 buy

Default

Sorry folks, nice thread, but wrong forum.
Unabomber is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 06:13 AM   #11
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Not only that, but the street racing reference is a no-no here. Try posting this question again in the proper forum, and without the street racing stuff.
Mulder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Passenger Door lock switch on an '04 STI TheMutineer Electrical & Lighting 0 06-01-2004 08:55 PM
Does a 18x8.0 wheels fit on an '04 STi? Grendalf Tire & Wheel 2 02-12-2004 06:49 PM
OEM UK 17'' fit on an '04 STI??? WRXcellent Tire & Wheel 8 10-18-2003 01:14 PM
OEM UK 17'' fit on an '04 STI??? WRXcellent Tri-State Area Forum 4 10-14-2003 10:11 PM
'03 scoop on an '04 STi is a no go. metoo STi Forum Archive 23 04-24-2003 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.