Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 12, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2005, 02:10 AM   #1
erice1984
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11778
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Illinois
Vehicle:
1980 VWRabbit Diesel
w/AAZ Swap

Default would it be possible to pass emissions if...

Yes, as the topic reads Would it be possible to pass emissions if you had standalone. Not possible. But what if you were to hook up the sensors to the obd-2 ecu for when they plug it into the port and basically have the ecu read everything that is going on but not have any input into the control of the engine.

basically reading, both o2 sensors, tps, air flow, all those other little sensors. Just so the little guy at the emissions place can be happy and plug into the obd-2 port and tell you... your car is fine.

all this given that is the only condition that you fail emissions, not having the obd-2 port hooked-up for the scanner thingy.

-Eric
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
erice1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 11:33 AM   #2
subaru mike
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30749
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: west milford nj
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

I wanted to ask the same question.
subaru mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 12:11 PM   #3
CBRDSpeedfactory
Vendor
 
Member#: 68255
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania
Vehicle:
ALL lots of fast 1s
mostly silver!

Default well.

every car has to go through a driven drive cycle before the sensors are "ready" to be read for an obd port emissions test...

if u had the ecu reading everything while u went through the drive cycle, then maybe, but im not sure...

i wouldnt think it would work...

who knows

chad b
CBRDSpeedfactory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 12:14 PM   #4
serendipity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54597
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Vehicle:
08 'Busa, 08 ML63
10 Multistrada, 996 Targa

Default

The UTEC is basically a standalone in this respect. Other than below 25% throttle, the stock ECU is just along for the ride. UTEC'd cars can pass emissions with no problem - the ECU doesn't really know that it's being ignored.

As long as your stock ECU is still hooked up and getting all the signals it needs, (and assuming the car is tuned well enough so the ECU doesn't see any problems), you should be fine.
serendipity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 12:40 PM   #5
subaru mike
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30749
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: west milford nj
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

So since I have a Link i guess im out of luck
subaru mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 12:55 AM   #6
erice1984
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11778
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Illinois
Vehicle:
1980 VWRabbit Diesel
w/AAZ Swap

Default

subaru mike, thats what i was thinking of, since i have the link as well, i figured if you hooked all the sensors up to the stock ecu and the guys check the obd2 port which is connected to the stock ecu everything might be ok. as long as the tune is good.
erice1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 05:42 PM   #7
SKANk9915
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80555
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago
Vehicle:
04 Spoiler-freeWRX
Platinum

Default

ok, this is my first post as an ultranoob. my 04 wrx is stock stock stock. i was wondering if putting in a turboXS utec would make it fail emmissions. since i dont really know how it works.
SKANk9915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 09:43 PM   #8
erice1984
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11778
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Illinois
Vehicle:
1980 VWRabbit Diesel
w/AAZ Swap

Default

someone posted about how the utec only works if throttle position is above 25%

otherwise its the stock ecu doing the stupid work at idle.
erice1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 09:50 PM   #9
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

There is no way you'll pass I/M 250 testing with a standalone ECU. Your choice, then, is between a piggyback (UTEC) or a reflash of the stock ECU.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 12:41 AM   #10
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKANk9915
ok, this is my first post as an ultranoob. my 04 wrx is stock stock stock. i was wondering if putting in a turboXS utec would make it fail emmissions. since i dont really know how it works.
no...



....and it seems that some of you guys are figuring out just exactly why modding a car with certain parts, while living in cretain places should be considered LONG before the $$$ has been spent and that there are some SERIOUS(too often overlooked) advantages to certain combinations of parts over others that have little or nothing to do with performance.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 10:52 AM   #11
subaru mike
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30749
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: west milford nj
Vehicle:
2002 wrx

Default

My setup came as a custom package deal, I got 3 years out of it, so Iím happy
subaru mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 12:40 PM   #12
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru mike
My setup came as a custom package deal, I got 3 years out of it, so Iím happy

You MAY be able to get a custom reflash done on a stock ECU so that it will run, and if you have all the necessary hardware still there/available to pass the OBDII stuff and an exhaust with cat(s)....you COULD make it work.....
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 03:33 PM   #13
erice1984
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11778
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Illinois
Vehicle:
1980 VWRabbit Diesel
w/AAZ Swap

Default

i think we are talking two different things here, there is making the car pass by simply fronting the emissions computers with information (what i am talking about) and the other way is making it pass in an honest way.
erice1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 09:55 PM   #14
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

suposdly there are obd-2 simulators that woudl do the trick i have never seen one but as it is an open protocol they shouldn't eb that hard to make
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 11:29 PM   #15
erice1984
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11778
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Illinois
Vehicle:
1980 VWRabbit Diesel
w/AAZ Swap

Default

my point exactly, find someone that knows how to program that stuff and they would make money in the aftermarket world, just as long as the dept of trans doesnt find out...
erice1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would it be possible to find brand new a 2006 STi @ a dealer?? BBBsti LTD General Community 3 09-11-2007 08:23 PM
Would it be possible to drop a small-block 350 V8 into a WRX? Asinine Off-Topic 29 09-21-2004 04:47 AM
Would it be possible to make your own FP18g? imprezive one Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 10-28-2003 01:01 PM
would it be possible to run cobb stage 2, 91 oct ecu with stock downpipe. wrxracer55 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 08-15-2003 07:50 PM
would it be possible to swap the roof on a 2000 GC8? Chris Lawson General Community 12 01-29-2003 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.