Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday September 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2005, 10:13 PM   #1
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default anyone???

so i just modify my gauge cluster..and i did it all wrong co'z i take out the needles and sand the km/h,rpm water temp and fuel......and when i put it back and try it ..my interior lights went dimmer including the hvac..i just dnt know what happen...and my needles as expected they're not sitting right...so anybody or know somebody can fix it???or any body selling they're STI gauge cluster..co'z i just F it up bigtime......prefer local for the STI gauge cluster
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 10:21 PM   #2
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

anyone??????
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 11:04 PM   #3
420WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27752
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Victoria B.C., Can
Vehicle:
2004 WRX+Ver.8 EJ207
Silver

Default

Well it's been almost an hour now.. So where's the ..

Anyone ??????????????

420WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 11:13 PM   #4
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

??????
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 12:00 AM   #5
cwareing
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70651
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
'10 Fozzie XT
The car is black....NOT!

Default

you might have to take these questions outside the VIC forum for better results.

Chris
cwareing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 12:05 AM   #6
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwareing
you might have to take these questions outside the VIC forum for better results.

Chris
i just did and i still can't get a direct answer...
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 01:35 AM   #7
Ken
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 34
Join Date: Jun 1999
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Burnaby, BC Canada
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi
World Rally Blue

Default

these things take time...
Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 02:39 AM   #8
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

okey...the gauge problem is solve..im going to get a new one courtesy of my mom..and i want to get the 04 sti gauge cluster..i hope i get some reply with all my questions about that gauge....
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 03:08 AM   #9
anonymous_wolf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57780
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond B.C.
Vehicle:
2000 RS sedan, GC6
Blue Ridge Pearl

Default

man u shouldn't have taken the needles off...
last time i accidently took off my speedo needle off...took me like 1 and half hour to calibrate and i'm still now sure if the speed is correct or not now...but i think it should be close...

i think the best way to get the needles back to position is to put the key at "ON" position (the position before u start up the car), put the speedo and tachometer needles BEHIND the little black needle on the gauge face beside zero, then move the big needle around that small black needle.

start up the car to see if the idel engine speed is correct
if not, do further adjustments

once the techometer needle has been calibrated, do a test drive and see if the speedo needle is correct...use the engine speed as a reference...(ie, for my car when i'm doing 100km/h the engine reves at 2750 rpm...)

for the water temp just put it on the lowest position when engine is cold and when the key is at "ON" position

for the fuel gauge, either fill up the car and put the needle at the "FULL" line of the fuel gauge, or disconnect the power of the fuel gauge (there's three power cables to the gauge cluster, the left most one is for the fuel gauge, at least in GC it is), and put the needle at the lowest position...(it should go below the "EMPTY" line of the gauge...not sure abt WRX). I think fill up would be the easiest way

i'm not sure wut do u mean by ur interior light went dimmer? u mean the map lights are dimmed too or just the gauge and HVAC??

hope this helped...
anonymous_wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 03:30 AM   #10
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

WOLF..it's just my gauge cluster and my hvac including the radio went dimmer as in really dim...and i tried that one too..putting my gauge and start up my engine...the needles are sticky they wont even move ..even thou i didn't push them so hard...oh i'll tell u men it's a total mess but i'll try it again tommorow and see how it goes... hopefully i should be able to order the sti one's at worldone on monday...
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 05:40 AM   #11
imprezaboi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7382
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
MY01 GC8 - 4
BRP

Default

Dude, you gotta wait for people to post not everyone is checking the board like every 10 mins to see if something new pops up.
imprezaboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 05:53 AM   #12
anonymous_wolf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57780
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond B.C.
Vehicle:
2000 RS sedan, GC6
Blue Ridge Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veightkiller
WOLF..it's just my gauge cluster and my hvac including the radio went dimmer as in really dim...and i tried that one too..putting my gauge and start up my engine...the needles are sticky they wont even move ..even thou i didn't push them so hard...oh i'll tell u men it's a total mess but i'll try it again tommorow and see how it goes... hopefully i should be able to order the sti one's at worldone on monday...
did u do anything other than sanding off the film at the back of the gauge face??

and u mean even after u start up the engine the needles just stay at zero??
or u mean u can't turn them by ur hands??

i'm no electronic expert so i can only answer u based on my experience dealing w/ the gauge myself...

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=707841

this guy is selling his STI gauge so u might want to check it out as well...
anonymous_wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 10:28 AM   #13
steve
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4718
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Location : Location
Vehicle:
~ too
many to list

Default

good thing mom is around to help.....
steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 12:36 PM   #14
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hypa
good thing mom is around to help.....
yeah men otherwise im doom... but i didn't tell her that i break it or mess up with it that's why it's not working properly..i just told her it's broken..
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 01:53 PM   #15
420WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27752
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Victoria B.C., Can
Vehicle:
2004 WRX+Ver.8 EJ207
Silver

Default

Man that's a cheap price on the cluster.. If you don't get it I might.. I had a pre 04 cluster that didn't work with my cruise control.. But this one would.. and it's supposed to be closer to $800!
420WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 02:20 PM   #16
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

the cluster from that guy is $500 usd ...i can get one at world one around $529 brand new???? or anybody here selling they're sti cluster im interested "locally"
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 03:07 PM   #17
420WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27752
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Victoria B.C., Can
Vehicle:
2004 WRX+Ver.8 EJ207
Silver

Default

Hmmm world one has new pricing? .. I was looking at it awhile back and the price was like $799 ?!

Edit: The cluster they are selling at world one (looks like the one I just sold for $320)..

It's got visible white lettering even when it's off? .. KM/PH only too.. So it's not just a US thing.. But on Subaru's Global website it's the same white lettered gauge?

Is not this:

This is black face that glows redish pink as the car starts up.. Pic from Subaru Canada..

Last edited by 420WRX; 01-30-2005 at 03:31 PM.
420WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 03:25 PM   #18
kool168
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 61006
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Default



you will never remove the needles from your gauge cluster man...
everyone should know the gauge cluster won't work any more if you removed the needles and put it back on. eventhough you are lucky enough to put it back on adn it won't be accurate any more.
kool168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 03:49 PM   #19
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 420WRX
Hmmm world one has new pricing? .. I was looking at it awhile back and the price was like $799 ?!

Edit: The cluster they are selling at world one (looks like the one I just sold for $320)..

It's got visible white lettering even when it's off? .. KM/PH only too.. So it's not just a US thing.. But on Subaru's Global website it's the same white lettered gauge?

Is not this:

This is black face that glows redish pink as the car starts up.. Pic from Subaru Canada..
i want that black one men...where can i get one of those??? and around how much??? or how much do you think it is from the dealer.??dealers prices are way to high though
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 03:52 PM   #20
kool168
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 61006
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veightkiller
i want that black one men...where can i get one of those??? and around how much??? or how much do you think it is from the dealer.??dealers prices are way to high though
it is gonna be very expensive...

did you check out those junk yardS? you might get some luck there.
kool168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 03:57 PM   #21
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kool168


you will never remove the needles from your gauge cluster man...
everyone should know the gauge cluster won't work any more if you removed the needles and put it back on. eventhough you are lucky enough to put it back on adn it won't be accurate any more.
well all i want is to change my interior light including the gauge...and i mess up..so there will be a price for that one....... ..
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 03:59 PM   #22
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kool168
it is gonna be very expensive...

did you check out those junk yardS? you might get some luck there.
i haven't but i dnt think they have those one ..well the only junk yard i know is down here at mitchelle island...under knight bridge..if you happen to know anyone selling it..let me know im interested...thank's
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 04:34 PM   #23
kool168
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 61006
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veightkiller
i haven't but i dnt think they have those one ..well the only junk yard i know is down here at mitchelle island...under knight bridge..if you happen to know anyone selling it..let me know im interested...thank's
then have you visit other subaru forums? like i-club, club wrx, imprezawrxsti, wrxfanatics, etc. ?

it gotta take some time to serach...
kool168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 04:35 PM   #24
veightkiller
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 78967
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: vancouver B.C
Vehicle:
2011 335i
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kool168
then have you visit other subaru forums? like i-club, club wrx, imprezawrxsti, wrxfanatics, etc. ?

it gotta take some time to serach...
sorry dude i dnt know those places...i appriciate it if you can hook me up
veightkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 04:39 PM   #25
kool168
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 61006
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veightkiller
sorry dude i dnt know those places...i appriciate it if you can hook me up
here is the first thing i found from google...
http://www.mrtrally.com.au/forums/to...TOPIC_ID=20518
kool168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone used Sparco adjustable aluminum side mounts? Patrick Olsen Motorsports 3 07-07-2010 09:11 AM
Anyone heard of Rivo World?? BuGS Rocky Mountains Impreza Club Forum -- RMIC 7 06-04-2010 06:59 PM
Ebay conrods, has anyone been game? BLSTIC Built Motor Discussion 5 06-03-2010 12:52 AM
Anyone around Nashville? graphicsman South East Region Forum 0 06-02-2010 08:09 PM
Anyone having an install day soon? PSM_02_WRX Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 0 06-02-2010 03:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.