Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday October 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2005, 05:09 PM   #1
norseone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16350
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis MD
Vehicle:
B8.5 Audi S4

Default Another reason not to buy an HDTV

Now that I have one and an HDTV tuner the regular channels have grey boxes on the sides of the picture. Called letterboxing. I have a wide 32" LCD and all the regular channels are broadcast in 4:3 while my TV is 16:9. So my box adjusts the image to be shown in 16:9 and when it does it puts grey boxes on the outside of the picture and makes it look retarded.

However, the HD channels are cool. Discovery is realy good. ESPN does letterboxing though with black boxes on the side of the picture which have a big "HD" in them. And FOX, CBS, and ABC do the same. Makes me wonder why I even got an HDTV.

Anyone have similar problems??
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
norseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:12 PM   #2
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wonder Lake, IL
Vehicle:
2015 X3 35i M-Sport
Black

Default

you should have the ability of changing the viewing mode for those channels. My sony does a great job with the modes. There is a wide mode where it simply stretches the image horizontaly, there is a zoom mode where it simply zooms in and you loose some of the image and a wide zoom that honestly does the best job, image is stretched proportionally so stuff in the center is nearly geometricaly perfect while things on the outside are stretched.
Akirasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:13 PM   #3
TGC
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16255
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CO
Vehicle:
2004 Mazda 3 5dr
2013 Mini Cooper S

Default

Different brands do the 4:3 different. my samsung has black bars, while my parents sony has gray bars.
Why gray? i dunno, IMO it's stupid looking and takes away from the color of th picture.

might check with the brand and see if there is a way to change it in a service menu.

CHAD
TGC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:14 PM   #4
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wonder Lake, IL
Vehicle:
2015 X3 35i M-Sport
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TallGuy108
Different brands do the 4:3 different. my samsung has black bars, while my parents sony has gray bars.
Why gray? i dunno, IMO it's stupid looking and takes away from the color of th picture.

might check with the brand and see if there is a way to change it in a service menu.

CHAD
gray is actually better, it reduces the contrast at the edges to reduce the chance of burn-in
Akirasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:15 PM   #5
martel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11178
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: durham
Vehicle:
2012 frontier
2014 Leaf

Default

i use the stretch aspect for normal 4:3. it looks funky for about 10 minutes then you get used to it.
martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:15 PM   #6
Gundoo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34112
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin!
Vehicle:
i only like ot
as a friend

Default

my 16:9 doesnt have that problem EXCEPT for some commercials during HD sporting events.

55in mitsubishi
Gundoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:15 PM   #7
Gcbinc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 28459
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I was over there
Vehicle:
But I'm over
here now.

Default

My hitachi will let me pick the color of the bars, gray or black, and I can stretch the edges of the 4:3 to fit the screen and you can barely notice that it's stretched...I don't mind.

you sure that you can't choose the colors of the bars?

GeoB
Gcbinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:15 PM   #8
rogue
call me Apples
Super Moderator
 
Member#: 7977
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Sterling, VA
Vehicle:
100% Abuse

Default

no problem!

when I meet to get those lights from you, I'll bring my 27" sony CRT! It's got that blingin' 4:3 ratio you wanted

While I'm there, I'll haul away your pesky LCD too
rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:16 PM   #9
WRXVT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17979
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
335i Blue

Default

you mean "another reason not to buy a widescreen tv"
WRXVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:17 PM   #10
VanillaEps
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8271
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Si

Default

I have the same problem. Fortunately, my cable box has an option to 'stretch' the picture to remove the black bars. Unfortunately, the channels that do come in at 16:9 are cut of minimally on the ends. It doesn't bother me at all, but people always ask why the titles and credits are cut off from the screen.
VanillaEps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:18 PM   #11
norseone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16350
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis MD
Vehicle:
B8.5 Audi S4

Default

I did check it. However when the HDTV tuner is plugged in the TV does not allow me to change the aspect ratio on the HDTV input. Which is retarded. I can only do it on normal TV. Inputs 1 & 2 and HDMI. Neither of the component jacks allows me to adjust the aspect ratio.

W T F is that?!
norseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:19 PM   #12
norseone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16350
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis MD
Vehicle:
B8.5 Audi S4

Default

Gay ass TV, I am about to go ballistic here man!!!!!!11!

It says aspect can be adjusted on every input, but when I try to adjust it on either component it doesnt do s h i t.
norseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:19 PM   #13
Mrhappy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 31973
Join Date: Jan 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2003 WRB WRX
2010 Corolla, aluminum

Default

My sony will let me choose the color of my bars

Actually it won't but the service menu will.

Might be able to get into the service menu of your tv, which would void your warranty by the way. I'd just find the wide zoom mode and use that.
Mrhappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:23 PM   #14
norseone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16350
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis MD
Vehicle:
B8.5 Audi S4

Default

I can change the color of the bars through the tuner. But aspect ratio is a no go on the components. Which is where the HDTV tuner is plugged into, component 1.

I just called panasonic to find out whats up, automated system told me average wait time is 55 minutes.
norseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:25 PM   #15
Thumper23
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11571
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Vehicle:
'08 BMW 135i
F/A-18C

Default

that's weird

I can change the aspect ratio no matter what I'm watching
Thumper23 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:26 PM   #16
norseone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16350
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis MD
Vehicle:
B8.5 Audi S4

Default

Yeah tell me about it. The manual says that the aspect ratios are stored seperately for all inputs but it doesnt work for the component inputs. I dont know if its the tuner that is causing the problem or the TV is borked.
norseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:26 PM   #17
aod
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7121
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Officer Go F*** Yourself just
Vehicle:
thre atened to kill
me!

Default

You should be able to justify any source except maybe DMI/DVI.
aod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:28 PM   #18
TGC
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16255
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CO
Vehicle:
2004 Mazda 3 5dr
2013 Mini Cooper S

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akirasoft
gray is actually better, it reduces the contrast at the edges to reduce the chance of burn-in

oh...didn't know that. no worry for my DLP tho
TGC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:28 PM   #19
VanillaEps
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8271
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Si

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by norseone
I did check it. However when the HDTV tuner is plugged in the TV does not allow me to change the aspect ratio on the HDTV input. Which is retarded. I can only do it on normal TV. Inputs 1 & 2 and HDMI. Neither of the component jacks allows me to adjust the aspect ratio.

W T F is that?!
That's my same problem. The Component Inputs won't allow me to change the aspect ratio. I'm sure if I do some research, I can get access to the tuner menu and mess around but that's getting heavy.
VanillaEps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:29 PM   #20
norseone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16350
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis MD
Vehicle:
B8.5 Audi S4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akirasoft
gray is actually better, it reduces the contrast at the edges to reduce the chance of burn-in
I dont think I need to worry about burn-in here, I have an LCD not a plasma.
norseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:30 PM   #21
norseone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16350
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis MD
Vehicle:
B8.5 Audi S4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VanillaEps
That's my same problem. The Component Inputs won't allow me to change the aspect ratio.
Which TV do you have?

I have this one:



TC-32LX20
32" Diagonal Widescreen LCD HDTV with Built-In 4 Speaker Sound System and Included Pedestal Stand
norseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:33 PM   #22
WRSport
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2060
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
00 2.5RS Coupe
01 black boxster hardtop

Default

You need to use the stretch feature which your cable box should have.


On some manufacturers - hdtv component inputs on the tv are fixed and you have to use the source box to set the display aspect to your liking.
WRSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:34 PM   #23
VanillaEps
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8271
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Si

Default

I have a rear projection Panasonic.



Like WRSport mentioned, I was able to 'fix it' using the source - the cable box, but its not perfect. It cuts off certain pictures that are in 16:9.
VanillaEps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:34 PM   #24
norseone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16350
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis MD
Vehicle:
B8.5 Audi S4

Default

Okay, I will attempt to do so.
norseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:35 PM   #25
WRSport
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2060
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
00 2.5RS Coupe
01 black boxster hardtop

Default

And I fail to see why YOU not being able to configure your equipment properly is a reason for others to not enjoy HDTV. It's finally here and it works flawlessly.
WRSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another reason not to buy EBAY chinese products.... reddevil Off-Topic 80 10-17-2011 10:49 PM
Another Reason Not To Buy CHEAP TIRES Swisha Blast Tire & Wheel 8 06-26-2007 03:49 PM
To Buy an STI or not to Buy an STI? Opinions? J'sRex New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 53 09-12-2005 11:40 AM
Yet another reason not to buy a rental car speaker General Community 37 08-27-2005 12:51 AM
one more reason not to buy an EVO TheRex South East Region Forum 21 07-03-2003 10:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.