Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday September 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2005, 06:28 PM   #1
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default anyone who has installed an avc-r on an 04 sti

please help me with the wiring diagram. i've been trying for two days now. apexi doesn't even know how to do it.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 09:09 PM   #2
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

What do you need to know? It's dark and freezing out now, so I can't go out and check but you need the tach wire and speed sense wire right? I can get wire colors and pin counts tomorrow morning if work isn't too crazy.
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 09:16 PM   #3
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

id really appreciate it. there's the tach, ignition, 2 grounds, basically all the wires from the avc-r. and where they go, (the plug, wire number, color, any of the former, or all, i get nervous when i'm working with wires, gotta get it right)
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 09:36 PM   #4
vtecTHIS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48048
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Japan
Vehicle:
. Nasioc, serious
Bidnazz

Default

if i can find the book, i'll scan it for ya. you defenatly need it to install it. apex'i wouldn't send you one? like 98% of tuning companies , it depends on who you get on the phone unfortunatly
vtecTHIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 09:39 PM   #5
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

my book doesn't have it for the ej257. they even said they dont know how to do it, because they never had installed one on an STi. im stressed the hell out.
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 09:51 PM   #6
the_owl
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 64787
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: your mid-life crisis
Vehicle:
just got worse

Default

I got a guide for my wiring for the avcr online
05' STi

tapped it at the harness where the UTEC goes

avcr diagram

Ill leave it up till tomorrow
the_owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:02 PM   #7
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

and its the same for the 04 sti? i thought that they were different than the wrx... i guess i was led in the wrong direction. thank you very much, if this is the right thing
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:05 PM   #8
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

my ecu only has four plugs...this cant be right.
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:05 PM   #9
the_owl
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 64787
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: your mid-life crisis
Vehicle:
just got worse

Default

Ive had mine running since Dec 2004, I wired exactly like that.
If its wrong, thats ok cuz it works.
j/k its the same harness.
the_owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:05 PM   #10
the_owl
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 64787
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: your mid-life crisis
Vehicle:
just got worse

Default

scroll down to the 02+ wrx.
the_owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:06 PM   #11
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

that has five plugs
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:09 PM   #12
the_owl
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 64787
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: your mid-life crisis
Vehicle:
just got worse

Default

heres a different one I downloaded.
use the same link above
the_owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:11 PM   #13
the_owl
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 64787
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: your mid-life crisis
Vehicle:
just got worse

Default

or try this:
04_STi_ECU.zip
the_owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:15 PM   #14
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

i guess i can figure it out from there...thanks for taking the time to help me out, hope i find the right stuff to hook up.
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:16 PM   #15
the_owl
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 64787
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: your mid-life crisis
Vehicle:
just got worse

Default

the last one I posted is all you should need. 04_STi_ECU.zip. I have so many PDF docs for the sti, its hard to sort.
the_owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:18 PM   #16
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

yeah, i will figure out tach, speed, ground, throttle, and power from that i hope...
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:24 PM   #17
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

i didn't see a tach, do you use crank position? or engine speed output?
also, on the throttle position, do you use the accelerator "main" "power supply" or "sub"
and which one for speed signal?
im so friggin lost with electronics...
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:44 PM   #18
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

sorry i'm a pain in the ass
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 12:34 AM   #19
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

You can use tach, or tap a negative pulse for any injector. I didn't check owl's links since I don't think I'd remember anything well enough to verify them. The 04 Sti has 4 plugs in the ECU and all of those taps can be found there. The throttle position can also be tapped at the throttle body under the hood, white wire at the top of the plug. I don't think that input is used except for the 'bling' gauges on the AVC-R. Speed and RPM are used, and used well.

If you are confused about how to ground the unit though, I suggest you find someone to install it for you. And in finding that person, I suggest you do some serious research around your area, as there will be a ton of people who say they can do it, and just a small handfull who can do it right.

If you want to cruise down to the middle of NC. I'd install it for you.
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 01:37 AM   #20
the_owl
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 64787
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: your mid-life crisis
Vehicle:
just got worse

Default

engine speed output=rpm
Every wire u need can be grabbed from the molexs in the diagram.
I used the main power supply for mine. I grounded to the wire in the diagram.
the_owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 08:33 AM   #21
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

thanks a lot guys, and i would come to nc, but since my engine is out of my car, it would be a long trip. i should be dropping it in soon though.
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 10:15 AM   #22
x99percent
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27108
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Detroit-ish, MI
Vehicle:
2004 STi
2004 A4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2phless
The throttle position can also be tapped at the throttle body under the hood, white wire at the top of the plug. I don't think that input is used except for the 'bling' gauges on the AVC-R.
My AVC-R doesn't try to make boost (doesn't utilize the solenoid) until I'm >= 40% TPS. That takes care of *most* PTFB issues.
x99percent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 11:28 AM   #23
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

x99, how do you go about the settings to get that response. I get PT (but not quite FB) and would like to reduce it. I didn't see (or I didn't comprehend) any settings that involve the TP input. I have it all dialed by gear and RPM, but would like to get control based on TP as well.
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 02:31 PM   #24
vtecTHIS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48048
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Japan
Vehicle:
. Nasioc, serious
Bidnazz

Default

i just used the auto learn function. it's worked great for me. and yeah the wiring harness is alot different for sti's and wrx. i was gonna send you the book and the sti wiring harness, looks like you got it though
vtecTHIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 04:33 PM   #25
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

thanks, i'll probably pm a few of you for help anyways.
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone ran Koni's with d-rex extenders on a 04 sti with wrx donors? wantsti Brakes, Steering & Suspension 5 05-25-2009 03:21 PM
Anyone who has installed the Hypersingle... gpatmac Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 1 06-13-2005 02:32 AM
For anyone who has installed a Turbo Timer with Subaru Security System... netZ Car Audio, Video & Security 5 02-18-2002 05:34 PM
Help, anyone who has installed a flywheel in their WRX uuarex Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 7 10-29-2001 12:57 PM
to anyone who has installed a version 5 wing bttune2.5rs Interior & Exterior Modification 7 01-26-2001 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.