Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2005, 10:39 AM   #1
coyote73176
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36576
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: (No Longer) CT / Poughquag, NY
Vehicle:
2k2 WRB wrx WAGON
16G'd & FMIC'd

Default Need Stg3 Utec map, with no checksum error

As in the title, I need the Utec stg3 map. I downloaded the one from turboxs on 2 different computers, and keep getting the checksum error when loading it into the utec.

I did a search to no avail. Anyone have a copy of the map that they know works, and wanna e-mail it to me? I really don't want to have to enter everything by hand while sitting in the car with my laptop on my knees.

my e-mail is: coyote@taumel.com

TIA
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
coyote73176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 12:30 PM   #2
coyote73176
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36576
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: (No Longer) CT / Poughquag, NY
Vehicle:
2k2 WRB wrx WAGON
16G'd & FMIC'd

Default

Think I may have found the problem. The TXS stg 3 map has 40 rows of data when the utec only has 35. Meaning, the maps would be good up to 10,250 RPM (was inputing data into the fuel map).

Time to e-mail TXS.
coyote73176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 12:37 PM   #3
mbiker97
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7922
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Tucson
Vehicle:
04 CTS-V b/b/b
99 GMC Highrider

Default

Are you opening and resaving the map once you download it? Don't do that. The extra columns are normal. I have the old school v2.b stage 3 map, but it's probably obsolete.
mbiker97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 12:43 PM   #4
coyote73176
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36576
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: (No Longer) CT / Poughquag, NY
Vehicle:
2k2 WRB wrx WAGON
16G'd & FMIC'd

Default

Nope, downloaded directly from TXS onto desktop, then directly onto UTEC. I know I will get the checksum error message if I try to change the values in the map without being connected to the UTEC, then trying to load.

Thats why I can't figure out why I keep getting the error.

Thanks for the offer but I don't think that your map will work with the 4.2c software.
coyote73176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 04:47 PM   #5
jalow72
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64293
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
I am surrounded
by land manatees!

Default

I just downloaded the stage 3 map from the turboxs website and verified the format using Uteclogger. There is no problem with the file. I would just re-check the instructions. Also there is an off chance that you may have a bad cable or serial port that would cause tranfer corruption. But that is really a slim chance.
jalow72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 04:54 PM   #6
coyote73176
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36576
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: (No Longer) CT / Poughquag, NY
Vehicle:
2k2 WRB wrx WAGON
16G'd & FMIC'd

Default

That could be, Nathan e-mailed me a new map. Didn't get the checksum error, but it wouldn't load.

I reloaded the 4.2c software with no problems, but now I can't load any maps.

Gonna go try again.

Anyone know if I'll kill the car driving stock em with full catless tbe, uppipe, and larger tmic?

I'd like to get home and take the utec out, hook it up to the 9v battery, and work from my other computer.
coyote73176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 04:56 PM   #7
jalow72
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64293
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
I am surrounded
by land manatees!

Default

It will run fine with the stock setting. Its when you put in larger injectors/pump that you have to worry.
jalow72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 08:55 AM   #8
coyote73176
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36576
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: (No Longer) CT / Poughquag, NY
Vehicle:
2k2 WRB wrx WAGON
16G'd & FMIC'd

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jalow72
Also there is an off chance that you may have a bad cable or serial port that would cause tranfer corruption. But that is really a slim chance.
We have a winner. Got home, pulled the utec. Finally found the 9v battery adapter (go figure it was in the box the UTEC came in, I finally musta put it away), connected to the serial port on my dektop and everything loaded fine.

I have a USB to serial converter on my laptop, and can only think that was causing the problem. Its kinda weird because I can datalog and manually change the values in the maps/user constants with no problems.
coyote73176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 12:02 PM   #9
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

there have been mucho threads about this issue before (usb-->db9 serial cables not working properly during uploads).

trust me--checksums are your friend.
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need STi Utec Map wrxyboy Engine Management & Tuning 4 07-03-2004 08:44 AM
Need a utec map for 800cc injectors. oldbluwrx Engine Management & Tuning 6 05-15-2004 07:13 PM
('93-'01) Can I run 205/55/16 with no speed error? SubaruImpreza_power Impreza Forum 8 01-10-2004 12:08 PM
utec map with vf22 racewagon Engine Management & Tuning 0 06-28-2003 09:03 PM
I need a utec map for a vf22 please help 2002whitewrx Engine Management & Tuning 5 05-12-2003 03:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.