Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday April 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2005, 12:25 AM   #26
Jackie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81608
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Southeast Michigan
Default

Hey,
Thanks for the kind words everyone.
Great work G3! Looks cleaner than mine

Oh, and I have to ask, why are some of you on the ground, LOL? It only took me ~ 5-10 minutes to get the sensor from the thermometer to the grille - all standing on my feet.
My method for guiding the wires was one I learned from doing something similar in my Z - all you need is some tape and something long, skinny and hard (har har - but seriously). Just tape the sensor to whatever you're using and stick it from near the clock pod to under the steering wheel, grab it, untape the sensor and remove the stick. Do the same to get it through the firewall. I simply left the sensor taped to the long stick I used after getting it through the firewall and angled it upwards, leaving it only a few inches into the engine bay. Then I simply snaked my hand in behind the intercooler and grabbed it, pulled it through and untaped it. Very easy.
Here's where I mounted my sensor:



Wiring through the firewall plug (the blue wire is from my amp):



To attatch it to the clock pod, I simply used good old fashioned duct tape. As ghetto as it sounds, it works well because its removable, strong and adjustable. I was originally planning on fabricating a bracket, but after test fitting it with duct tape, I just decided to leave it.
I must admit, I stole the idea from, well, myself I mounted a turbo timer in the stock clock location of my Z:



I'd imagine this turbo timer (HKS) would fit similarly in the clock pod of a WRX (among others), though it lights up blue instead of green.
Anywho, thanks much for the sticky
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 12:45 AM   #27
tuellma
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42291
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Debary, FL / Yokohama, Japan
Vehicle:
1997 GF8 STi
Light Silver

Default

Nice job.

Wonder if mounting the sensor in the hood scoop area would be worth while?

There are two other mods I saw like this.

One of them, the owner mounted his CD player where the stock clock is, using a hood he got off ebay. Looks sweet.

The second one, the individual mounted a boost guage in the right side of the housing, still left the clock intact. Pretty interesting location for the boost guage, I thought it a bit out of the way, personally. But it was an original idea and did look clean.

I like this one, as cheap, seemingly easier and useful.

Might look into getting one setup. Or might mount my Turbo Timer in there with the stock clock. So many good ideas out there. Thanks for sharing this.
tuellma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 02:08 AM   #28
sirbryanclark
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59643
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza Wagon
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

What is the quality of the green backlighting? Is it even across the whole screen? Someone mentioned needed batteries, whats that about? Would there be any way to wire it so that the unit turns on with the car, but the the backlight turns on with the headlights?
sirbryanclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 08:50 AM   #29
CalcVictim
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57056
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, MA
Vehicle:
2006 Miata
Copper Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirbryanclark
What is the quality of the green backlighting? Is it even across the whole screen? Someone mentioned needed batteries, whats that about? Would there be any way to wire it so that the unit turns on with the car, but the the backlight turns on with the headlights?
The lighting is OK, it's an LED on the side of the LCD. The idea with the headlights wouldn't work with this thermometer since it just has a hot wire and a ground. Also it takes internal batteries in order to keep the clock running when the car is off. Basically when the car is off the thermometer runs and the clock is running off the internal battery, when the car is on it runs off the cars outler and the backlight is on.
CalcVictim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 11:05 AM   #30
burton1181
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 79870
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Black

Default

that looks really good!!! Thanks for the idea..
burton1181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 11:21 AM   #31
387hardcore
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41902
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: punxsutawney PA
Vehicle:
2003 wrx&97 legacygt
yellow

Default

i think im going to do it good idea
387hardcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 02:41 PM   #32
russd32
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63961
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Normal, IL
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Blue

Default

I went to the shack and picked up a thermometer gauge today. how accurate is the gauge at slow speeds or stopped with the probe mounted in the grille. Does engine heat affect it?
russd32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 02:49 PM   #33
paperchasin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57117
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

nice!!! good thing the sti cluster has ext. temp already...
paperchasin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 09:01 PM   #34
G3Red04WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66611
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Streamwood, IL
Vehicle:
2007 Trailblazer AWD
3LT Sandstone Metallic

Default

Mine seems to be very accurate (fluctuates abotu .2 degrees +/- while moving) but once i come to a stop the gauge keeps rising because i have mine stuck to the black panel by the drivers side windshield wiper under the hood, outside the engine bay, thinking it would be away from engine heat, but i guess its still getting to the sensor, so this weekend ill relocate to the backside of the emblem in the grill, or possible run it down into the door jamb near the hinge where it should be able to hold the outside temp better. Just have to experiment til i find the most stable location.

Thanks for the compliment Jackie, Like i said in my earlier post i took my time with the dremeling part cause i dont have a backup incase i messed it up. Once i was outside it only did take me about 15/20 minutes to do the install itself. Partly the reason i had to jack up was cause when i went to take that firewall plug out, it fell out of the car towards the engine and got stuck un a shelf i couldnt reach without jacking up to get under the axle. Made things a lot easier on me once it was in the air anyways.

I guess if you dont need the clock, and are just using the unit for temp and voltage, you dont really need the batteries, but with them you will always see what temp it is even with the car off. Cheap install already, 2 batteries doesnt really offset the value:cost ratio of this project.
G3Red04WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 09:39 PM   #35
UM-WRXer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44623
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Geneva, CH
Default

I just got the last thermometer unit from the local radio shack. They are really discontiuing this item so get them while they last! Anyways i was wondering how to take off the clock pod. Is it just clipped in there or is there a screw or something holding it in (accessable from vent?) I took off my clock pod a while ago so i dont remember....but i thought there was a hidden screw or something..any help?

Also for those who have done the install how do you access the clock settings when the unit is installed? Do you have to take the whole pod out to reset the clock or just pull the unit out? Thanks!

Ill have mine done by this weekend, ill post picks!
UM-WRXer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 09:59 PM   #36
G3Red04WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66611
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Streamwood, IL
Vehicle:
2007 Trailblazer AWD
3LT Sandstone Metallic

Default

Just set the clock and deal. I wouldnt permanently attach the unit to the trim thou, just in case. Mine is just held on by double sided tape, and a nice big strip of duct tape wrapped around it vertically from behind to hold it tight.

Make sure you use a set of batteries if you plan to use the clock thou, so it doesnt reset on you overnight. Batteries are not necessary if your just using the temp/volt gauges, but the unit will only be usable when the car is on.

Just pull the trim straight up out very firmly and it will snap out of place, dont worry, you wont break it. Just dont try to pivot it out to the front, make sure to lift straight up. No hidden screws or anything.
G3Red04WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 10:10 PM   #37
G3Red04WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66611
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Streamwood, IL
Vehicle:
2007 Trailblazer AWD
3LT Sandstone Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirbryanclark
What is the quality of the green backlighting? Is it even across the whole screen? Someone mentioned needed batteries, whats that about? Would there be any way to wire it so that the unit turns on with the car, but the the backlight turns on with the headlights?
Electical Note on this comment:

If you want the light to only turn on when you turn your lights on, this IS possible.

Run the lead with the white stripe to your steering column, and tap it into the headlight wiring harness, you want to use the lead that goes hot when the ignition is on and the headlight selector is turned to parking or headlights.

I would tap to the lead that turns on your parking lights, this way it will still turn on the lighting of the unit with the lighting of your interior.

I suggest that you use the clock harness, since you will not be able to use the volt meter function until the unit is powered by the DC connection. Besides, you really wont notice the light during the daytime anyways, and technically the old clock was always lit up when on...
G3Red04WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 10:58 PM   #38
russd32
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63961
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Normal, IL
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Blue

Default

WooHoo,

I picked up a therm from the 'Shack at lunch and I started pulling the car apart at about 6:30. It's almost 10:00 now and I'm done. Thanks for the great idea Jackie and thanks G3 for the wiring info.

Thanks again!!!!
Dusty
russd32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 11:12 PM   #39
chris84bond
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51723
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: FL
Default

I know a few people have commented about internal batteries. Just an idea, but if you ran rechargable alkalines, or possibly lithium, if you can get ahold of them(I love the army for something), might stay up longer...and charge when the car is on. You figure...drive for an hour, charge the batteries fully from the night before. And since I'm sure the clock/temp is pulling-iin very little in the way of watt/amp....prob be good running for even longer.

Idea...not sure how one would go about it right now since I am le tired from work.
chris84bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 10:35 AM   #40
Hank3
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16157
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Vehicle:
'03 Mazda P5 <><
'02 WRX & '08 MS3 SOLD!!!

Default

I mounted my sensor on the underside of my driver's side mirror. This way the engine heat and direct sun don't interfere all that much. Internal temps are another story
Hank3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 01:50 PM   #41
Siper2
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1134
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Dillsburg, PA
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 328xi wagon
Silver

Default

I'd do it if I didn't have the performance gauge pack already, but maybe it'd mount up to my gauge cluster on the dash with some 3M tape or something.... Hmm...
Siper2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 02:18 PM   #42
coolcougar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19674
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Copenhagen
Vehicle:
2006 Baja Turbo 4EAT
Brilliant Silver Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siper2
I'd do it if I didn't have the performance gauge pack already, but maybe it'd mount up to my gauge cluster on the dash with some 3M tape or something.... Hmm...

Yeah I have the performance gauge pack also... I was considering the area on the center counsle right below the ash tray. I test fitted it and it will work. Doesn't look as clean as the clock replacement method but still looks good plus it is easier.

EDIT: oops just noticed you had an 2000... I do not know if this will apply then...

Last edited by coolcougar; 03-16-2005 at 05:36 PM.
coolcougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 04:41 PM   #43
disaster999
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73197
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Hong Kong
Default

just wondering how ppl route their temp prob to the outside without taking off the intercooler to reach the rubber grommet.
disaster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 07:06 PM   #44
chewbakarox
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25478
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: I fart 15 psi.
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Sport Wagon
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disaster999
just wondering how ppl route their temp prob to the outside without taking off the intercooler to reach the rubber grommet.
get a metal hanger and cut/shape it into a straight piece. tape the sensor/wire to the end of the hanger, and poke it through the grommet from the inside of the car. works like a charm!
chewbakarox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 07:50 PM   #45
paultg
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 437
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Londonderry, NH
Vehicle:
'91 Miata MX5 (Red)
'09 Impreza OBS (Blk/Gry)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siper2
I'd do it if I didn't have the performance gauge pack already, but maybe it'd mount up to my gauge cluster on the dash with some 3M tape or something.... Hmm...
Chris,
This is what it looks like on my 2001 Impreza L gauge Cluster:




It just blocks the fuel light a bit (which never comes on anway). Ran all the wires under the gauge cluster surround and then into the dash area, so you don't see any of them. The sensor wire runs into the door jab (behind the weather stripping and into the fender area (had to pull the inner fender liner down).

I located the sensor behind the fog lamp (in the lower fender area, it sticks upside down to the frame that supports the battery tray).

Paul G.
paultg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 07:52 PM   #46
disaster999
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73197
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Hong Kong
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewbakarox
get a metal hanger and cut/shape it into a straight piece. tape the sensor/wire to the end of the hanger, and poke it through the grommet from the inside of the car. works like a charm!
edit.

Last edited by disaster999; 03-17-2005 at 05:10 PM.
disaster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 10:42 PM   #47
Rick Schu
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34661
Join Date: Mar 2003
Default

Great idea! I bought the gauge, but see a problem with it. The only way you can change the time is by some tiny buttons on the top of the unit. These would be hidden when installed and you would have to pull the clock pod off to change it (daylight savings time, etc.). Guess that's not a big deal, but something to consider.

Also, anyone have a brighter picture? What do the sides look like against the unit? I'm afraid that with my poor dremel skills, it might look half-ass.
Rick Schu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 09:17 AM   #48
russd32
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63961
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Normal, IL
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Blue

Default

I didn't even set the clock, I set it to outside temp and volts. i've got a clock on my radio. as for dremeling skillz, that could be a problem. I cleaned the end of mine up with a file but it still takes a steady hand and some patience.
russd32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 10:29 AM   #49
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

I am about to make the venture of cutting my clock pod and inserting the thermometer. By the way, i got the last one at radioshack in all of Longmont, Colorado. Thanks for suggesting the best mod ever for under 10 bucks!!
Peace
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 01:13 PM   #50
russd32
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63961
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Normal, IL
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Blue

Default

If anyone can't find a thermometer, the 'Shack where I live has two more left and I'm in Sullivan, IL (aka bumf%#k-you got a perty mouth) so I don't see them selling soon.
russd32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would replacing my helper spring with a stiffer tender spring make my car ride better vision.dynamix Brakes, Steering & Suspension 1 02-07-2010 03:44 PM
what did you replace your stock speakers with. gindobuck Car Audio, Video & Security 42 03-29-2009 10:06 PM
WTB '04 STI Trunk With Wing or Swap 4 My Stock Trunk With Stock Spolier jester5 Tri-State Area Forum 26 12-23-2004 10:57 PM
Finally replaced my stock hu skyhawk Car Audio, Video & Security 15 02-13-2004 03:37 PM
Should I replace my broken tranny with another stocker or upgrade to Sti Gears? agent007kimball Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 0 06-15-2003 04:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.