Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2005, 03:12 PM   #51
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Just finished. Total time, including prep, work, and clean up, took 2 hours and 37 minutes. Not bad. I want to again say thank you for sharing this mod with us. I absolutley love it. I did make one variation however, and i would like to make a suggestion, if i may. Instead of mounting the temp sensor in the grill, directly out of the firewall, i followed the water line for the wiper sprayer onto the hood, across to the passanger side and mounted it in the hood scoop. I'm not sure if the heat from the engine will effect the accuracy or not. If it does then i might find another route. I just thought it went a little easier through the scoop, but whatever works best for ya'll is just fine. Anyways, thanks again, killer mod for under 10 bucks! Good lookin out.

Peace,
nick.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 07:13 PM   #52
G3Red04WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66611
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Streamwood, IL
Vehicle:
2007 Trailblazer AWD
3LT Sandstone Metallic

Default

I dont really have any "brighter" pics of my install, but the lines on the side of the opening are fairly smooth, like i said when i first installed mine, i took my time doing the dremeling part cause i dont have an extra. During the daytime, the only time youll notice a less than perfect dremel job would be under direct sunlight, and at night its pretty much impossible to notice that its not "stock"

I would say to just take as much time as possible on the dremel part to make sure its a perfect fit. You can always take off a little more if you need to, but you cant put it back on if you take too much off....
G3Red04WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 02:26 PM   #53
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Anyone else having problems with the internal temperature misreading when the heater is on? Driving home last night, the thermometer was reading 127 deg. inside the vehicle. My guess is that it's misreading due to the proximity of the thermometer and the heater vents (inside dash).

I wonder if there's a material i could line the interior of the dash with to deflect, or absorb some of the heat disipated by the heater. Any thoughts?
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 05:54 PM   #54
AWDBat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1983
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2008 STi
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

The green light doesn't seem to go with the rest of my dash set-up (blue and red gauges, stereo and HVAC). Has anyone tried changing the color yet? I popped the unit open, but couldn't see that it used traditional bulbs. I doubt that using stained glass paint would be very useful as it would probably block out the numbers during the day! Hmmm....
AWDBat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 08:07 AM   #55
rebos123
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 67669
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Vermilion, OH
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 Hybrid WRX
evoIII 16G

Default

just a word of caution to anyone who is about to dremel their dash and/or go through all types of extensive modifications to integrate this unit into their interior. I purchased one of these units when I first purchased my WRX in July 2004. Since then I have replaced the outside temperature sensor twice because of obvious inaccuracies (50 deg F when the snow is flying). I tried wiring the unit to the existing Subaru outside temperature sensor but the sensors must be different impedances - all I got on the display was "LLL".
Just noticed this morning that the unit was reading 40 deg F when all the trees are coated with ice so I guess the search for a decent unit continues.
rebos123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 08:18 AM   #56
PA_02RS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82225
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: West Chester, PA.
Vehicle:
2006 VW Jetta GLI
Reflex Silver

Default

I just picked up one of these units from the 'Shack last night, hopefully I'll have time to install this weekend on my RS... Thanks for posting this cheap (and useful) mod.
PA_02RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 08:42 AM   #57
AWDBat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1983
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2008 STi
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

I tried a couple of paint options, including stained glass paint to the clock/temp face and to the square bulb inside and it doesn't really do a good job - either you can't see the numbers or the bulb's light is blocked out. Maybe a very thin coat of stained glass paint on the bulb might work - fortunately my wife has nail polish remover!
AWDBat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 02:19 PM   #58
got_WRX?
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70074
Join Date: Sep 2004
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
CGM

Default

nice man, i think i will do this mod as well... i miss my thermo gauge from my previous car
got_WRX? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 04:53 PM   #59
UM-WRXer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44623
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Geneva, CH
Default

I did this mod a couple of weeks ago and now for some reason my battery keeps on dying and leaving me stranded.....The way i wired it was the "hot line" (wire with white stripe on it) to the #4 wire (yellow/red wire) accessory and other ground wire to #2 (ground). Now when i leave my car overnight it has just enough juice to start up and then when i get to my destination (only a couple of miles away, not enough time for the alternator to charge the bat up) im left stranded. I dont think its my alt b/c when the car is running the voltmeter reads 12.4V (iirc) and the battery icon is full. THe only other thing i can think of is that my battery is going, but i just replaced it last winter (with a non oem spec)! ANy help?
UM-WRXer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 05:12 PM   #60
CletusTheDwarf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27620
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Syracuse, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Subaru WRX
DGM

Default

I have an issue as well. I took out the stock clock, and before cutting the dash i wanted to just hook up the temp guage to the clock wires to make sure how it worked. When i first plugged it in I had the wrong wires and the light was on regardless of the key position.

Now, when i have it just with batteries installed, the backlight no longer works. Also, the battery light on the top left stays off. I put in new batteries, and the battery light is on dimly as it resets, then once it has turned on, the battery light turns off and the backlight still doesn't work. Could something have happened to the temp guage when i hooked it up wrong?
CletusTheDwarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 11:35 AM   #61
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UM-WRXer
I did this mod a couple of weeks ago and now for some reason my battery keeps on dying and leaving me stranded.....The way i wired it was the "hot line" (wire with white stripe on it) to the #4 wire (yellow/red wire) accessory and other ground wire to #2 (ground). Now when i leave my car overnight it has just enough juice to start up and then when i get to my destination (only a couple of miles away, not enough time for the alternator to charge the bat up) im left stranded. I dont think its my alt b/c when the car is running the voltmeter reads 12.4V (iirc) and the battery icon is full. THe only other thing i can think of is that my battery is going, but i just replaced it last winter (with a non oem spec)! ANy help?
I'd recommend taking the AAA batteries out from the back of the temp. unit, and just not use the clock feature on the thermometer.
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 08:31 PM   #62
G3Red04WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66611
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Streamwood, IL
Vehicle:
2007 Trailblazer AWD
3LT Sandstone Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UM-WRXer
I did this mod a couple of weeks ago and now for some reason my battery keeps on dying and leaving me stranded.....The way i wired it was the "hot line" (wire with white stripe on it) to the #4 wire (yellow/red wire) accessory and other ground wire to #2 (ground). Now when i leave my car overnight it has just enough juice to start up and then when i get to my destination (only a couple of miles away, not enough time for the alternator to charge the bat up) im left stranded. I dont think its my alt b/c when the car is running the voltmeter reads 12.4V (iirc) and the battery icon is full. THe only other thing i can think of is that my battery is going, but i just replaced it last winter (with a non oem spec)! ANy help?
Its possible you could have switched the harness around on accident, because the bottom most lead is the accessory, but the top most one is the constant power source. You could be creating a closed loop that is draining your battery.

My only suggestion is to unplug the thermo unit and run a few days without it to be sure its not the thermo unit thats causing your battery to drain.

Ive had mine plugged in since i installed it, and my car still starts just fine. I leave mine on exterior temp and voltage since i dont really need the time. But i do leave the batteries in it so the car doesnt have to be on to see the exterior temp. So far temp has been fairly accurate, onyl fluctuating slightly +/- .3 degrees which is well within the acceptable operating function spec'd in the instruction sheet.
G3Red04WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 02:52 AM   #63
disaster999
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73197
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Hong Kong
Default

anyone have the problem where the thermo unit just resets itself? mine just rests every now and then! its a pain in the ass taking it off and adjusting the time and i dont want to resort to drilling holes so i could adjust witout taking it apart
disaster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 09:40 AM   #64
CletusTheDwarf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27620
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Syracuse, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Subaru WRX
DGM

Default

so i know someone already warned me about this, but i was taking out the rubber plug, and accidentally pushed it into the engine bay somewhere. where is it? i can't find where it goes anywhere. and i also need to know where that hole is for when i feed the temp probe through.
CletusTheDwarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 01:00 PM   #65
MB38
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51588
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR
1997 Supra Turbo

Default

Did you check under the car?
MB38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 01:01 PM   #66
CletusTheDwarf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27620
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Syracuse, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Subaru WRX
DGM

Default

hehe, yes. i can't see it anywhere
CletusTheDwarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 05:03 PM   #67
twistedsymphony
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34067
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: New Hampshire
Vehicle:
1995 240SX
Black

Default

Great mod!

I just stopped by my local Rat Shack and picked up 2 of them (I plan on ripping one apart and swapping out the light with some Red or Blue LEDs to match my dash or CD player)

I have my CD player up in the location of the factory clock so I was thinking about placing it down under the ash tray instead.

as for the probe, has anyone found a really good location for it yet? I have a replica STi grill with no emblem so that location is out.

Thanks again for the great idea!
twistedsymphony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 05:55 PM   #68
CletusTheDwarf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27620
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Syracuse, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Subaru WRX
DGM

Default

i fed mine up to just next to where the driver side wiper is. it is an excelent place, sheltered under the top corner of the hood. does anyone know if the temp sensor can get wet?
CletusTheDwarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 06:05 PM   #69
coolcougar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19674
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Copenhagen
Vehicle:
2006 Baja Turbo 4EAT
Brilliant Silver Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CletusTheDwarf
i fed mine up to just next to where the driver side wiper is. it is an excelent place, sheltered under the top corner of the hood. does anyone know if the temp sensor can get wet?

Good idea... I may steal that... thanks.


And yes the external temp sensor is water proof... at least that is what the instructions claim.
coolcougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 06:52 PM   #70
AWDBat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1983
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2008 STi
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

I fed mine to the driver's side mirror and placed it on the side of the mirror base (the black part). It's been raining and snowing here and no problems with the temp readings.
AWDBat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 08:38 PM   #71
Rick Schu
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34661
Join Date: Mar 2003
Default

I put my temp sensor behind the oval "i" badge, because this is close to where the factory temp sensor sits. But after driving and parking, it gets major heat soak and gives way high readings. I need to move it somewhere out of the engine bay but not in direct sunlight.

The sensor is apparently weatherproof, according to the manual.
Rick Schu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 09:57 PM   #72
CletusTheDwarf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27620
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Syracuse, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Subaru WRX
DGM

Default

mine reads high after sitting as well, but after a few min of driving it's fine
CletusTheDwarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 10:23 PM   #73
MB38
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51588
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR
1997 Supra Turbo

Default

It probably reads high from the heat of your engine venting out the front of the grille.

I wish I could do this with my car. I've already taken up the space with my iPod mount, so no dice. I've been considering moving it to the retractible cupholder, however.
MB38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 10:52 PM   #74
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

i ran my sensor up through the hood scoop. Works great. My biggest misreadings seem to be the internal temp. Other than that, i like the mod.
peace.
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 01:31 PM   #75
pcpolo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82536
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Blue

Default Different location?

I don't want to have to go through removing my stock clock pod so I just want to mount it above my rear-view mirror, is there still a way to get the power hooked into the system up there somehow? I am already using the auto-dimming mirror so maybe I could tie into that somehow? Also if there isn't how long do the batteries last if I just run it off of them?
pcpolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would replacing my helper spring with a stiffer tender spring make my car ride better vision.dynamix Brakes, Steering & Suspension 1 02-07-2010 03:44 PM
what did you replace your stock speakers with. gindobuck Car Audio, Video & Security 42 03-29-2009 10:06 PM
WTB '04 STI Trunk With Wing or Swap 4 My Stock Trunk With Stock Spolier jester5 Tri-State Area Forum 26 12-23-2004 10:57 PM
Finally replaced my stock hu skyhawk Car Audio, Video & Security 15 02-13-2004 03:37 PM
Should I replace my broken tranny with another stocker or upgrade to Sti Gears? agent007kimball Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 0 06-15-2003 04:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.