Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 14, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2005, 07:58 PM   #76
Capazo7205
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83893
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: RBC, Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
White

Default

I wonder if there is a way to make the thermometer display red or if there is one that comes with red display so it will match all my other lights when i change them
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Capazo7205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 07:44 PM   #77
Soyelflaco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46336
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mayami
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ

Default



Soyelflaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 10:07 PM   #78
paultg
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 437
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Londonderry, NH
Vehicle:
'91 Miata MX5 (Red)
'09 Impreza OBS (Blk/Gry)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paultg

I located the sensor behind the fog lamp (in the lower fender area, it sticks upside down to the frame that supports the battery tray).

Paul G.
I don't have any issues with wind or with engine heat while I am moving. If I am stuck in traffic the location seems to pick up the higher heat levels down by the pavement (via exhaust and probably my engine bay).

To access the area I am talking about you can either remove the fog lamp and/or pop out the part of the fenderliner near the bottom of the bumper.

Paul G.
paultg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 03:06 PM   #79
jjimpreza
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1269
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
2000 RS to WRX
to Forester to LGT to GF8

Question

Awesome Mod!!! Just as good as the Mechanical CEL fix! Off to Radio Shack I go, now I need to buy a Dremel any suggestions? (I know nothing about Dremels)

Also just curious does anyone know where they mount the temp. sensor on cars that come with one stock??

UPDATE: Another thing I wonder after picking this up is how are you going to be able to update the clock once it's installed in the car? The clock adjustment is on top of the unit and seems that once it's installed you won't be able to adjust it.

Thanks for the mod!

Last edited by jjimpreza; 04-02-2005 at 04:27 PM.
jjimpreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 09:20 PM   #80
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjimpreza

UPDATE: Another thing I wonder after picking this up is how are you going to be able to update the clock once it's installed in the car? The clock adjustment is on top of the unit and seems that once it's installed you won't be able to adjust it.

Thanks for the mod!
i used L brackets, that i mounted underneath the unit, rather on top, which is where the clock adjustment buttons are located.
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 10:12 PM   #81
jjimpreza
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1269
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
2000 RS to WRX
to Forester to LGT to GF8

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by npreston
i used L brackets, that i mounted underneath the unit, rather on top, which is where the clock adjustment buttons are located.
Do you have a pic, I don't quite understand does it slide out for adjustment
jjimpreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 01:27 AM   #82
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjimpreza
Do you have a pic, I don't quite understand does it slide out for adjustment
i don't, sorry. I've had batteries in the thermometer for a while, and i haven't had to reset the clock feature, so i'm really not that concerned about it. It wouldn't be that hard to take it off the L bracket and access the time buttons if i really needed to. I think it's a great mod for 10 bucks and some dremel work!
peace.
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 03:38 AM   #83
jjimpreza
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1269
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
2000 RS to WRX
to Forester to LGT to GF8

Default

Yeah I hear ya. I am not knocking the mod just looking at all aspects. Thanks
jjimpreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 11:11 AM   #84
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjimpreza
Yeah I hear ya. I am not knocking the mod just looking at all aspects. Thanks
No problem bro. Good luck and have a great day!
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 11:14 AM   #85
DJ_STI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56826
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Worcester, MA
Vehicle:
2006 Subaru Evo IX
Cute & FABULOUS Miata

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjimpreza
Also just curious does anyone know where they mount the temp. sensor on cars that come with one stock??
I believe on my parents mercury Mountaineer(ford explorer) it is between the door jam on the drivers side.
DJ_STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 12:05 PM   #86
jjimpreza
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1269
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
2000 RS to WRX
to Forester to LGT to GF8

Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by twistedsymphony
Great mod!

I just stopped by my local Rat Shack and picked up 2 of them (I plan on ripping one apart and swapping out the light with some Red or Blue LEDs to match my dash or CD player)

I have my CD player up in the location of the factory clock so I was thinking about placing it down under the ash tray instead.

as for the probe, has anyone found a really good location for it yet? I have a replica STi grill with no emblem so that location is out.

Thanks again for the great idea!
Yeah I thought about this idea too because I want to put a gauge pod up where the factory clock is. I haven't measured it yet but I bet it will fit below the ashtray, looks to be perfect . Then I figure you'll still be able to adjust the clock without having to take it back out. Also I am not a smoker (and I don't use the ashtray) so I plan to use the wiring from the ashtray light to wire up this device. I'll post some pics when I get this in.
jjimpreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 02:20 AM   #87
Soyelflaco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46336
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mayami
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ

Default

I finally got it all set up just perfect yesterday...with double stick tape and duck tape. Got it perfectly straight.
I decided to install the outside temp sensor inside the right fender, since there is where the car breathes.. I just wanted to know how hot it really is in there. (It gets pretty hot in Miami's traffic.) So I call it my "air intake temp meter" and my inside one my "dash board temp meter".
It looks very nice and very stock. The green ligth is just perfectly dim and yet you can read it.
I don't know if I can get used to the constant green battery light. I think I'm going to have to cover it or dim it somehow.

I also got the batteries so I didn't have worry about the time, you know, now that it is just right.

My wife couldn't understand why I got so mad when she reminded me this morning to "move forward one hour" all the clocks in the house.
I missed the memo.
Soyelflaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 08:44 PM   #88
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soyelflaco
My wife couldn't understand why I got so mad when she reminded me this morning to "move forward one hour" all the clocks in the house.
I missed the memo.
Now, let's talk about those TPS reports..........
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 10:31 PM   #89
AWDBat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1983
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2008 STi
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

Ha, ha.... Office Space.....
AWDBat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 10:11 AM   #90
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWDBat
Ha, ha.... Office Space.....
You know, the nazi's had pieces of flare they made the jews wear!
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:15 AM   #91
DoggoD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 84239
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 RS
Regal Blue

Default

I stuck the sensor right to the underside of the front emblem. It is very accurate,.. when I drive by the temp displays at like banks and stuff, it is always within a couple degrees.
I just wish there was a way to get all of the heat out from under the dash, because the temp under there often gets in excess of 110F, and sometimes the tape adhesive gets week and causes the unit to sag.
DoggoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 08:45 PM   #92
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoggoD
I just wish there was a way to get all of the heat out from under the dash, because the temp under there often gets in excess of 110F, and sometimes the tape adhesive gets week and causes the unit to sag.
That is my ONLY beef with this mod. I'm trying to figure out a way to block the heat with something lightweight, and heat absorbent. Something to shield the interior temp sensor. I'm open to suggestions.
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 08:50 PM   #93
Teufelhund
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 24792
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Vehicle:
02 WRXwag, Evo IX
Both Vishnu Tuned

Default

When I did the installation I followed the instructions that were listed to put the black w/ white stripe into the #4 accessory spot and the ground to the #2 ground spot. Problem was, the unit stayed on with the key out of the ignition. I saw that this could possibly drain my battery so I switched the black w/ white stripe wire to the #1 batt spot and everything seems to work as it should... the thing is off when the key is out or off.
I also noticed a problem with setting the clock. I used JB Kwick to put the thing in place... damn. So I got to thinking and I remembered an old indian trick...that I could reset the clock by pulling my neg of the battery and putting it back on at either 12:00 AM or 12:00 PM. Heh! I also would be resetting my Ecutek in the process.
Teufelhund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 12:12 AM   #94
Teufelhund
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 24792
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Vehicle:
02 WRXwag, Evo IX
Both Vishnu Tuned

Default

PROBLEM!! I didn't thoroughly test this mod long enough. My car almost didn't start after 12 hours of sitting today using the set up I suggested before! I'm in a rut guys...

If I used the #4 "accessory" port for my hot (black/white) wire and #2 for "ground" (black), the display stayed lit constantly with the key out thus putting a constant small drain on the battery and...

If I used the #1 "battery" port for my hot wire, the display would light up when the headlights were OFF, and it would not light up with the headlights ON, and it drained the battery. Kinda counter productive. ***!

Any suggestions?

I know- look at the plug from the right perspective and the original instructions will work! Derr. Black/White - #4 ACC and Black - #2 GND. Works like a charm.

Last edited by Teufelhund; 04-10-2005 at 12:37 AM. Reason: mistake
Teufelhund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 09:12 AM   #95
PA_02RS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82225
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: West Chester, PA.
Vehicle:
2006 VW Jetta GLI
Reflex Silver

Default

Hey Guys.

I just did this mod last night. If you take apart the stock clock harness, you will see four wires - battery (always on), ground (black), light (pink with a blue stripe I think) and accessory.

You want to put a battery in your clock, then hook the clock/thermometer to the ground and the pink wire with the blue stripe labeled (LIGHT) in the factory clock harness. Just tape up the others, they aren't needed. If you wire this correctly, the clock/thermometer will light up only when the headlights are on (just like OEM). It won't drain your battery because there is no power to the unit when the headlights are off. The clock and thermometer will still work however, because it uses the internal battery. Don't use accessory or battery wires.

I tested all the wires in the clock harness using a voltmeter to deduce this, but if you look at the back of your factory clock, you will see labels for each wire.

I still need to run the temp sensor to somewhere outside the cabin - didn't quite get there yet. And I will probably need to get some real double sided tape or velcro to mount the thing better (I just taped it in).

Oh yeah, FYI - make sure you disconnect teh battery before messing with the wiring (don't want to blow a fuse like I did -- duh).

I'll try to get some pics up when I'm done. It's a great mod for ten bucks...

Last edited by PA_02RS; 04-11-2005 at 09:23 AM.
PA_02RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 07:04 PM   #96
pmartell12
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 23718
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Corunna, Ontario, Canada
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
World Rally Blue Pearl

Default

here's the one that I ordered.... http://www.radioshack.ca/estore/Prod...roduct=6311500

I hope that it lights up green!!
pmartell12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 07:06 PM   #97
CletusTheDwarf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27620
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Syracuse, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Subaru WRX
DGM

Default

I am having a hard time getting the display to stay put. I taped it a lot using electrical tape, but i keep getting into the car and finding that the guage has falled down into the dash, anyone find some good solution?
CletusTheDwarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 02:17 AM   #98
Ben Crowson
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 71574
Join Date: Sep 2004
Default

Try a strip of duct tape and some hot glue......worked great for me and not totally permanent like super glue or something!
Ben Crowson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 09:46 AM   #99
npreston
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82873
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CletusTheDwarf
I am having a hard time getting the display to stay put. I taped it a lot using electrical tape, but i keep getting into the car and finding that the guage has falled down into the dash, anyone find some good solution?
I used 2, two inch "L" brackets, which holds the unit in place, firmly against the pod. I did have to bend the brackets slightly, to get the right angle. Then, i used outdoor, extra strength double sided 3M tape (got at home depot, designed to mount exterior items on your house, building, etc.)
Secured the "L" brackets using the double sided tape. Did this last week, and the unit has not moved a centimeter. All in all i spent 8 bucks at home depot, and problem solved.
I was having the EXACT same problem as you, when i would get in the car after a couple hours of sitting, and the unit was completely disconnected from the pod. Sinse i beefed it up a little, i havent a had a single problem.

I can send you pics if you still are having problems.
Hope this helps!
peace.
npreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 09:54 AM   #100
CletusTheDwarf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27620
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Syracuse, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Subaru WRX
DGM

Default

yeah, if you could take a few pics of your setup, that'd be helpful. thanks!
CletusTheDwarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would replacing my helper spring with a stiffer tender spring make my car ride better vision.dynamix Brakes, Steering & Suspension 1 02-07-2010 03:44 PM
what did you replace your stock speakers with. gindobuck Car Audio, Video & Security 42 03-29-2009 10:06 PM
WTB '04 STI Trunk With Wing or Swap 4 My Stock Trunk With Stock Spolier jester5 Tri-State Area Forum 26 12-23-2004 10:57 PM
Finally replaced my stock hu skyhawk Car Audio, Video & Security 15 02-13-2004 03:37 PM
Should I replace my broken tranny with another stocker or upgrade to Sti Gears? agent007kimball Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 0 06-15-2003 04:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.