Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2005, 11:20 PM   #1
HonduHunter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 28408
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 vf48ed WRX
PSM

Default where is your wideband?

where did you mount your o2 sensor?
do you leave it plugged in all the time?
where did you mount the controller?

thanks guys. pics would be great.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
HonduHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 12:29 AM   #2
cnstman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9548
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
10.266 @135.62 @ 7,520'DA

Default

mine is about 12-14 inches from the turbo in the downpipe. you wanna leave the sensor plugged in all the time so the heater is activated and burning off any deposits that may form
cnstman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 12:40 AM   #3
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

^^^^^
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 12:43 AM   #4
cnstman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9548
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
10.266 @135.62 @ 7,520'DA

Default



i mounted it in the blank next to the cup holder. it is the plx m300
cnstman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 01:31 AM   #5
HonduHunter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 28408
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 vf48ed WRX
PSM

Default

thanks alot guys.
HonduHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 02:03 AM   #6
HonduHunter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 28408
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 vf48ed WRX
PSM

Default

ok another question. did you hard wire the sensor so it turns on whenever the car is on? or do you use the power point in the car? thanks again.
HonduHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 09:24 AM   #7
WRX1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3533
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St. Paul MN, USA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

you want the sensor on all the time. If the sensor is not hot, it will build up with carbon. Even if the wbo2 is not on, you want to make sure the sensor is on and heated up.

Russ
WRX1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 09:51 AM   #8
HonduHunter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 28408
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 vf48ed WRX
PSM

Default

i understand that. i was wondeeing how everyone wired the sensor. did they just leave it plugged into the power point or somehow gard wire it.
HonduHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 12:04 PM   #9
hippy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36528
Join Date: May 2003
Location: florida
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza Wrx
Silver

Default

Mine's turned on by a relay that's turned on with the ignition.

peace
hippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 12:24 PM   #10
Skeete
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52569
Join Date: Jan 2004
Vehicle:
2004 STi

Default

quick question; the Cobb downpipe has an o2 bung just after the turbo, about 3 inches. if i put an o2 sensor there would it be too hot, or ok?
i want to get this one: http://www.autocarparts.com/part/1424/1
Skeete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 01:52 PM   #11
HonduHunter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 28408
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 vf48ed WRX
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hippy
Mine's turned on by a relay that's turned on with the ignition.

peace
thanks
HonduHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 09:25 AM   #12
IMPREZive 02 WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11436
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza RS
eBay racing edition!

Default

I have my sensor mounted near the end of the downpipe, and the Tuner under the radio. Since it's permanently mounted, I have it hardwired to my acc fuse block.
IMPREZive 02 WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 09:35 AM   #13
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

/\/\ my bosch sensor that came with the tuner is mounted at the rear of my helix (v1) DP. IF the shop that installed it could have welded the bung, i would have put it much closer to the turbo. I haven't gotten around to having it welded yet, and it seems to read fast enough there. Tuner is mounted in between drivers seat and console sideways.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 10:28 AM   #14
hippy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36528
Join Date: May 2003
Location: florida
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza Wrx
Silver

Default

I never really understood why companies put the wbo2 sensor bungs so close to the turbos. From what it says in the txs tuner manual, the sensor should never be in exhaust gasses which rise above the temp of the heating element in the wbo2 sensor. Being that close to the turbo would seem to be in a bad place because of the exhaust gas heat. I put mine in the stock o2 sensor bung also, and it works fine there. Here's the quote from the txs tuner manual.....

Quote:
The O2 sensor is equipped with a heater circuit that will maintain a 750c internal
temperature. If the sensor is too hot or too cold it will loose accuracy. Take note of
exhaust gas temperatures and ensure that the sensor is installed in a location where
those exhaust temperatures are significantly less then the required 750c internal
operating temperature.
While we're on the topic of wbo2 sensors, about a month ago my wbo2 sensor broke. Looked around a bit and found that the one which broke was about $180 to replace, or I could get the vw one for about $50. Txs said that the $180 one responds quicker then the vw one. Either way I ended up getting the $50 one, and it really doesn't seem to make a spit of difference to me. I'm glad I didn't pay the extra money for the other sensor a second time(first time being when I got the txs tuner). Just a little note in case anyone is lookin for a replacement sensor or a txs tuner. Also, the vw one is still a bosch sensor...........

peace
hippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 12:00 PM   #15
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

well, 750C is about 1400F. Egt at the manifold is about 1550 WOT, that would put the temps right around 1400+- right after the turbo, no?? By the end of the DP, they're going to be less than 1400, probably in the 1300 range. However, this is still enough to get an acurate AFR reading, and will probably prolong the life of the sensor dramatically. Mysensor is fast enough to think that it would be right next to the turbo. IMO, if you get a good fast sensor, it can be that far away (maximum at end of DP), if it's not so fast, and cheap (expendable), it should probably be a lot closer. Since it's cheap you can deal with burning it out every so often. . .
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 12:36 PM   #16
Skeete
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52569
Join Date: Jan 2004
Vehicle:
2004 STi

Default

Thanks for the info. Since i think cobb got rid of the cel for the rear o2 sensor, which eliminates the need for the stock sensor to be there, i'll probably just put the wbo2 sensor there instead.
Skeete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 07:04 PM   #17
WRX1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3533
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St. Paul MN, USA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

Hippy, I hope you didn't pay $50 for the vw sensor. You know that you can get the vw sensors for about $26-30 shipped.

I have run a sensor in the end of the tailpipe and haven't had any problems. I am running my latest setup in the txs racepipe, but there isn't any difference in readings.

Russ
WRX1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 07:09 PM   #18
hippy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36528
Join Date: May 2003
Location: florida
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza Wrx
Silver

Default

It was just an example of the price difference. I didn't feel like lookin for the reciept.

peace
hippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 11:04 PM   #19
awilson529
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 38867
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Vehicle:
11 Mazda

Default

Are you guys running your WB02 sensor at all times? I was told that the WB02 sensors had a VERY short life span (~70 hours). Or am I getting false-"facts"?

Thanks in advance,
Adam
awilson529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 10:04 AM   #20
x99percent
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27108
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Detroit-ish, MI
Vehicle:
2004 STi
2004 A4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hippy
I put mine in the stock o2 sensor bung also, and it works fine there.
So what did you do about the rear O2 sensor? ..or do you just live with the CEL?
x99percent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 10:05 AM   #21
cnstman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9548
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
10.266 @135.62 @ 7,520'DA

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by awilson529
Are you guys running your WB02 sensor at all times? I was told that the WB02 sensors had a VERY short life span (~70 hours). Or am I getting false-"facts"?

Thanks in advance,
Adam
i would say you have false info. the sensor i am running is a vw i think, i don't think vw owners are getting new o2's every 70 hours. i have at least 100 hours on mine already
cnstman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 11:33 AM   #22
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

was the swap from bosch to veedub a plug n play affair? the tuner corrected for the difference in response (if any)? i assume you did a free air cal after refit?

fwiw, mine is in the oem rear bung location. the cel is turned off in the utec.
ride5000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 11:46 AM   #23
happasaiyan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37731
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Rolling Meadows, IL
Vehicle:
'07 TL-S 6MT
'07 RDX-T

Default

i have a godspeed downpipe that has an O2 bung right on top 5" or so after the turbo.

i have it hooked up to my turboxs tuner...which is sitting in my glovebox, and it hardwired into the ignition.

ive been using my WBO2 for 11k miles. 70hrs? heh.
happasaiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 12:17 PM   #24
IMPREZive 02 WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11436
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza RS
eBay racing edition!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by x99percent
So what did you do about the rear O2 sensor? ..or do you just live with the CEL?
What CEL? [Disabled with UTEC]
IMPREZive 02 WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 01:02 PM   #25
x99percent
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27108
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Detroit-ish, MI
Vehicle:
2004 STi
2004 A4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMPREZive 02 WRX
What CEL? [Disabled with UTEC]
Yes, you *can* do that... but how would you know if your CEL came on for something else? Blocking the CEL with the UTEC is not the best solution, IMO.
x99percent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is your AFR at with your PDX email tune? fatpat AccessPort 7 10-06-2007 09:39 PM
Where is your AFR at with your PDX email tune? fatpat Engine Management & Tuning 0 09-27-2007 11:07 PM
Where is your impreza-rs.com... I mean, i-club.com "old-shool" cutoff Eric SS General Community 34 12-06-2001 07:49 AM
Where is your S-AFC mounted?(pics) impRSa01 Member's Car Gallery 3 08-28-2001 12:43 AM
Where is your oil temp sender? RyanC Normally Aspirated Powertrain 15 02-08-2001 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.