Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2005, 01:15 AM   #1
311grassroots
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 81187
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: IBwhatkindalocationisthat
Angry Accessport...Stock Intake Required?!?!?

So....does anybody have any suggestions for somebody who would want to buy an Acessport but already has an APS Intake in place and does not want to pay Subaru to reinstall the stock airbox? Would the StreetTuner Fix this?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
311grassroots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 02:45 AM   #2
ilara72
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24047
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Southern California
Vehicle:
2009 STI
2002 WRX

Default

Reinstall the stock airbox yourself.
ilara72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 02:59 AM   #3
Bishop
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 59993
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: WWAAYY west of the Mississippi
Vehicle:
Ass, grass or cash
no one rides for free!!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilara72
Reinstall the stock airbox yourself.

that's what i'd do. c'mon can't be that hard bud.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 06:29 AM   #4
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Street tuner can definitely take care of it. YOu'll just need to tune to the intake, that's all.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 09:24 AM   #5
finnRex
RIP Donny
Moderator
 
Member#: 21095
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Miss you, Charlie Murphy.
Vehicle:
RIP KTH & LMFH
'09 Crystal red Tintcoat

Default

I have a Cobb Stage 2 STi with an APS CAI. The 65 mm one. I haven't had any problems with it. You don't need to fine tune your car if you get the AP and have an APS CAI on it. Getting a Street Tuner isn't a bad idea though. It will net another few hp or two, but not necessarily from the intake alone.



Mika
finnRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 09:32 AM   #6
Cronos
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51409
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Behind the wheel
Vehicle:
2013 Shelby GT500
Ignot Silver Metallic

Default

Putting in the stock intake would be far less expensive than the ST especially considering whether or not you're able to tune the car yourself.

I put down 240whp in 100 degree Texas summer heat with the stock airbox and filter.
Cronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 09:32 AM   #7
Petty
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 45331
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
.... I miss my
swapped RS :(

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by finnRex
I have a Cobb Stage 2 STi with an APS CAI. The 65 mm one. I haven't had any problems with it. You don't need to fine tune your car if you get the AP and have an APS CAI on it. Getting a Street Tuner isn't a bad idea though. It will net another few hp or two, but not necessarily from the intake alone.



Mika

I have the same exact setup, and I have no problems at all.
Petty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 09:37 AM   #8
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

I know of at least one guy over at wrxforums.com that ran that intake with the AP no problem. I ran the K&N typhoon with it and it was fine as well. Not lean.
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 10:07 AM   #9
BoberT-
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 74168
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Southern NJ, Atlantic County.
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
Blue

Default

I have a injen cold air intake , i wonder if the AP will work??

-Bob
BoberT- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 10:21 AM   #10
funsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 42744
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Vehicle:
2005 STU STi White
Addicted to AutoX

Default

Pretty much everyone with a K&N Typhoon reports no problems at all.

Here's some evidence that a properly designed intake should not need special tuning if you have a Cobb AccessPort reflash. This is an e-mail reply I got asking about the new Cobb intake that is coming out soon:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin @ Cobb Tuning
We will update the website with more information when we have the units ready to ship. There will most likely be no need for map adjustments as we were able to duplicate stock intake performance. This performance we were really excited to match as no one has been able to control the air as well as the stock intake system does. Keep an eye on www.cobbtuning.com for further product information.
funsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 10:54 AM   #11
Cronos
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51409
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Behind the wheel
Vehicle:
2013 Shelby GT500
Ignot Silver Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoberT-
I have a injen cold air intake , i wonder if the AP will work??

-Bob

Cobb released Injen CAI specific maps, so you're good.
Cronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 02:40 AM   #12
SubieRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16611
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Irvine, CA
Vehicle:
05' STi w/ meth inj
Tuned By Harman Motive

Default

Yeah, only for WRX's, not for the STi
SubieRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aps 70mm intake requires modification? nickscooby12 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 5 04-22-2008 03:51 AM
COBB Accessports, downpipes, intakes all in stock IA Performance Engine/Power/Exhaust 4 09-26-2007 11:33 PM
AccessPort Maps only Stock Intake? Lucky6 Newbies & FAQs 3 06-04-2007 06:17 PM
typhoon vs stock intake with accessport Stiman1 Engine Management & Tuning 8 06-16-2005 06:33 PM
FS: stock wrx TMIC, Cobb Accessport, stock intake billy boi Tri-State Area Forum 8 02-03-2005 12:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.