Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday November 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2005, 04:51 PM   #1
mistaboosta
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 68722
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default UTEC won't connect - all of a sudden

Last night I was out with one of my friend to tune his car. I connected the laptop as usual and tried to connect via Hyperterminal. The main menu screen pops up but can't enter any of the other menus. None of the keys are working.

I connected to his utec 2 weeks ago. Last night when I tried, I was using the same laptop, the same cables, the same utec and the same everything.

I tried to connect with 2 different laptops, and at least 3-4 different connector cables, none did help.

Other than that the red LED in utec is on and the car works normal. Tried to change the map to other mods llike Security or Valet, all works as normal.

What can cause such a problem? Any comments?

I've already tried to reflash utec but the reflash software didn't connect either.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
mistaboosta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 05:13 PM   #2
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

You using a serial cable or a USB adapter? You try another port in hyperterminal?
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 05:18 PM   #3
wrex03
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29963
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Vehicle:
04 sti
silver

Default

Did you try hitting the escape key?
wrex03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 07:02 PM   #4
mistaboosta
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 68722
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default

yess all of these are tried.

I have some pc knowledge so I tried to figure something out with the com settings but it didnt help.
mistaboosta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 08:24 PM   #5
T-WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2468
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: JAX
Vehicle:
08 RS4
05 STi

Default

Make sure the cable didn't get pinched...
T-WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 05:05 AM   #6
mistaboosta
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 68722
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default

i've tried several different cables.
mistaboosta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 09:02 AM   #7
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

caps lock on?

try hitting ctrl x a few times.

double check connection settings. 19k2, 8n1, no flow control.

make sure your com port is visible in device manager.
ride5000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 03:40 PM   #8
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

Sometimes I get the same with my v6b UTEC. It goes into a gremlin mode and nothing fixes it. I get the main screen, but selecting any menu option does nothing apart from refreshing the screen again.

So I shut it down, wait 5 minutes, rant and rave, then try again and it's fine. I have high quality cables and have tried all settings known to mankind, but every now and again the UTEC just sits there like a lemon.

Computers suck!
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 04:28 PM   #9
kennyvb
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70234
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
MY86 BMW E30 325
SCIC/NWIC tranplant (-_-)

Default

For mine, I need to make sure Hyperterminal is running before I turn on the car. It's okay because the Windows95 boot up time on a Pentium 75 isn't too bad.
kennyvb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 07:09 PM   #10
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

....i recently had an issue connecting, too.....had to delete all my hypert connections and create and confiure a new one....and that worked....after i pissed about an hour away fookin'widit....
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 07:26 AM   #11
feiron
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62327
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Westwood Plateau, Coq
Vehicle:
2005 WRB STI
[S600BY]

Default

I had that issue too... went home, reset the ECU (too lazy to reach down and open the ECU protector plate).. viola! problem solved
feiron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whine noise all of a sudden in WRX - all gears at certain times Civ2Sub311 General Community 33 10-20-2014 07:36 PM
Just a friendly game of poker, when all of a sudden.... eurojax Off-Topic 21 06-26-2005 01:15 AM
What's with all the dog killing all of a sudden? now with a sword mr_disco Off-Topic 10 09-02-2004 11:00 PM
My valley = plethora of rednecks all of a sudden... Jimmy S. Off-Topic 7 11-06-2003 05:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.