Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 26, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2005, 07:44 PM   #1
jac04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49895
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
09 Forester
06 Legacy 2.5i Wagon

Default Does New ECU Need 'Initializing'?

If you were to purchase a brand new ECU for a 2005 WRX, can you simply plug it in or does it need to be initialized to your particular car?
I am thinking about doing a reflash, but I would like to keep my original ECU untouched. That way I can revert back to stock in the future without having to worry about checksum values or detection of a reflash. This is not for warranty purposes. I am only worried about going for an emissions test and failing simply because a reflash has been detected (even if it has been 'reverted to stock'). Maybe I worry too much.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jac04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-22-2005, 08:04 PM   #2
not a sho
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82637
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: pa
Vehicle:
2004 wrx wagon
silver

Default new ecu

you just buy it and put it in
i put one in two weeks ago when i flashed with my cobb ap
i took out the original and flashed the new one because i did not want to fry or damage the original ecu and be without my car for awile
by the way-the cobbap is really a great product ,you might consider it.
oh when you order the ecu you have to give your vin # in case there are several ecu's for your year car

good luck

Last edited by not a sho; 03-22-2005 at 08:06 PM. Reason: spelling
not a sho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 08:22 PM   #3
jac04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49895
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
09 Forester
06 Legacy 2.5i Wagon

Default

Thanks for the feedback. I'm still wondering if there is anything different for the 05s.
jac04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 09:25 PM   #4
not a sho
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82637
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: pa
Vehicle:
2004 wrx wagon
silver

Default

well i think there is
according to the cobb info on their site i believe the dealer can check how many times the ecu has been flashed if they send in your ecu for testing. if you put in a new one and flash it, then for inspection switch back the original un flashed one you would not have a problem.just make sure you do it 200 miles before an emision test because the ecu has to re-learn so as to pass the test.
not a sho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 10:22 PM   #5
Uncle Scotty
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jac04
Thanks for the feedback. I'm still wondering if there is anything different for the 05s.

EVERYTHING is different for the '05's
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 10:23 PM   #6
Uncle Scotty
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

.....

Last edited by Uncle Scotty; 03-22-2005 at 11:28 PM.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 07:39 AM   #7
jac04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49895
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
09 Forester
06 Legacy 2.5i Wagon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty
EVERYTHING is different for the '05's
That's my concern. I would hate to buy a new 05 ECU, plug it in and have it not work, only to find that the dealer needs to initialize or activate it. I guess I could ask the dealership that I would be purchasing it from, but sometimes they are not the best source of information.
jac04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 12:43 PM   #8
Uncle Scotty
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jac04
That's my concern. I would hate to buy a new 05 ECU, plug it in and have it not work, only to find that the dealer needs to initialize or activate it. I guess I could ask the dealership that I would be purchasing it from, but sometimes they are not the best source of information.

...dear child.....all ya gotta do is ask one of the board members that is dealer employed to get the straight smack.....and there are a good many here that are
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 05:15 PM   #9
jac04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49895
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
09 Forester
06 Legacy 2.5i Wagon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty
...dear child.....all ya gotta do is ask one of the board members that is dealer employed to get the straight smack.....and there are a good many here that are
Please show me the way Uncle Scotty.......I'm still a newbie and don't know everyone yet. Who should I ask? I usually don't like to bother people with unsolicited PMs. Your guidance is appreciated.
jac04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 05:30 PM   #10
sponaugle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4498
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle:
WRX H6-3.0 Turbo
www.surgelinetuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty
EVERYTHING is different for the '05's
It is, but not across the board.

The 05 Legacy and 05 STI have the immobilizer, which ties your ECU to your dash as well as the key. That makes swaping ECUs difficult without dealer involvment.

I have not personally confirmed, but believe to be true, that the 05 WRX does not have this system, and can be swapped away.

If you have an 05 Legacy or STI, and want to be able to go back to a stock map, the upcoming EcuTek User Flash solution is designed for that case (end user flashing). The other solution is to take you ECU to an EcuTek dealer for flashing.

Cheers,

Jeff
sponaugle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 09:01 PM   #11
Uncle Scotty
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jac04
I usually don't like to bother people with unsolicited PMs.

Do !!!!1 Do !!!!!
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 07:56 AM   #12
jac04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49895
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
09 Forester
06 Legacy 2.5i Wagon

Default

Just an update on the 2005 ECU. I asked Cobb Tuning if a new 2005 ECU would need any initializing, and whether or not the VIN number would need to be loaded into the new ECU before using. Here is the response I received from Justin:

"The ECU identifier option is not a requirement for any of the mapping, its just an option that is available for you to use should you feel the need to. Your new spare ECU will not have any problems as it sits right out of the box."
jac04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disconnected battery, does ECU need to re-learn? ihavebettersound AccessPort 4 08-10-2006 07:59 PM
The Dr. Says I need a new ECU six6sicks Engine Management & Tuning 3 02-21-2004 08:42 PM
Need new ECU - Help with which one 143paul Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 02-11-2004 02:34 PM
Do I need a new ECU for '99 Legacy 4EAT->5MT whtlegacy Subaru Conversions 0 02-10-2004 01:41 PM
need help on picking a new ECU brokemypiston Engine Management & Tuning 6 03-16-2003 09:52 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.