Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday March 6, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2005, 08:58 PM   #1
scooby9
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76026
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335xi
Titanium Silver

Have a Nice Day? Accessport had me thinking my clutch was slipping...

Well last night I went for a drive and I noticed a weird hesitation in 2nd gear at WOT that felt like my clutch was slipping. I only have 20,000 km and I almost always rev match so I was quite surprised when it seemed like the clutch was going. I also have an Accessport at stage 1 which was running fine for a few weeks until last night. I did a bunch of driving and noticed that in 1st gear there was no issue but in 2nd gear above 4500 rpm it felt like the car was going and then pulling back, going and then pulling back... 3rd gear had a similar problem but not as noticeable. Well, I've never had this problem before so I started shopping around for a new clutch. Then today I decided that I would unmarry the Accessport just to see if it made a difference. Well after that everything is back to normal again and I have none of this weird hesitation. Driving is super smooth albeit with less oomph that was there before when all was good with the Accessport... However my question is this... is it possible that unmarrying the Accessport reduced the amount of torque output such that the clutch is no longer slipping... OR is it that I never did have a clutch issue and the ECU was acting all crazy and causing this hesitation?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
scooby9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 09:33 PM   #2
Phil Jr.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62221
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly, PA
Default

try reflashing the ECU and then resetting it by disconnecting the battery pumping the brake pedal etc etc. Let the ECU relearn for a few hundred miles and see what happens.
Phil Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 10:34 PM   #3
seattle944t
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18308
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi
Silver

Default

Depending on what stage map you are running, you could have anywhere from 30-60ft/pounds extra at the wheels, so yes that could be it if the clutch was going.
But what your describing doesn't really sound like a slipping clutch to me. A slipping clutch will be more noticable in the higher gears -it gets worse with each higher gear, you'll see your RPM's going up w/o a matching increase in speed. What you were seeing sounds more like a fueling glitch. Reflash it again and see what happens.
seattle944t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 12:49 AM   #4
Crash477
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 49881
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Knoxville, TN
Vehicle:
2006 Subaru STi
1989 BMW 325is

Default

do you need to reset teh ecu via disconnecting battery after flashing new base map?
Crash477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 12:57 AM   #5
Phil Jr.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62221
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly, PA
Default

If you flash in a base map and then reset the ECU the base map will still exist. But all of the learning the ECU did will get erased and it will relearn everything.

If you have a stg1 base map flashed in but are using the stg2 realtime map and then reset the ecu you will be back to the stg1 base map.

Dont know if that answered your question, I wasnt really sure what you were asking.
Phil Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 02:10 AM   #6
scooby9
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76026
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335xi
Titanium Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seattle944t
Depending on what stage map you are running, you could have anywhere from 30-60ft/pounds extra at the wheels, so yes that could be it if the clutch was going.
But what your describing doesn't really sound like a slipping clutch to me. A slipping clutch will be more noticable in the higher gears -it gets worse with each higher gear, you'll see your RPM's going up w/o a matching increase in speed. What you were seeing sounds more like a fueling glitch. Reflash it again and see what happens.
Even after I unmarried the Accessport, my car felt like it was bogging big time in 2nd. I didn't know if it was the clutch or if the ECU wasn't running optimally yet. I just got back from driving about 100 kms and it feels really responsive now with just the stock ECU so my clutch worries are over. Thanks for the info about the slipping clutch. I'll know what to look for in the future!
scooby9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 02:12 AM   #7
scooby9
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76026
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335xi
Titanium Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Jr.
If you flash in a base map and then reset the ECU the base map will still exist. But all of the learning the ECU did will get erased and it will relearn everything.

If you have a stg1 base map flashed in but are using the stg2 realtime map and then reset the ecu you will be back to the stg1 base map.

Dont know if that answered your question, I wasnt really sure what you were asking.
Actually I was running the STX stage 2 base map with stage 1 realtime map as this was the recommendation to resolve the "stalling issue" with the new 2004 maps from Cobb. Well after all the problems I've had with the Accessport and all the "workarounds", I've decided to get the ECUTek reflash instead. It was fun for a while with the Accessport but I think it's time to get some real tuning done.
scooby9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 09:06 AM   #8
not a sho
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82637
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: pa
Vehicle:
2004 wrx wagon
silver

Default

i thought those stx base map fixes for stalling where to be used on stage 2 equiped cars only
that could be your problem
check it out
not a sho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 10:31 AM   #9
scooby9
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76026
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335xi
Titanium Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by not a sho
i thought those stx base map fixes for stalling where to be used on stage 2 equiped cars only
that could be your problem
check it out
Well according to Cobb the STX map did not have the OL/CL change so I was to use that as the base and then use the stage 1 real time map over it so in effect I would have a stage 1 setup.
scooby9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 04:41 PM   #10
Phil Jr.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62221
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly, PA
Default

Quote:
I've decided to get the ECUTek reflash instead. It was fun for a while with the Accessport but I think it's time to get some real tuning done.
How is an ECUtek reflash going to be "real tuning"? It will be the same as COBB unless you take it to a dyno and have someone sit there and mess around with your stock car wasting time/money. IMO, the only use customs tunes have is for people with their own mix of mods that no premade flash can accomodate. There I said it.
Phil Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 08:21 PM   #11
scooby9
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76026
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335xi
Titanium Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Jr.
How is an ECUtek reflash going to be "real tuning"? It will be the same as COBB unless you take it to a dyno and have someone sit there and mess around with your stock car wasting time/money. IMO, the only use customs tunes have is for people with their own mix of mods that no premade flash can accomodate. There I said it.
Well although the Accessport is great when it's working, it's still an off the shelf type of tune. I'd like to get my car dyno tuned with all of my mods on. I think that's still got to be the best possible way to go. I've got all the parts for stage 2 (waiting for a warm day to put it all in) including an STI intercooler... and I know... (eyes roll) an intake. I'll be adding a high flow cat mid pipe too. I think in the long run and just for driveability's sake and engine longevity, it's worth the extra loot. Accessport going on EBay pretty soon!
scooby9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 12:19 PM   #12
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Jr.
IMO, the only use customs tunes have is for people with their own mix of mods that no premade flash can accomodate. There I said it.
if you think the only purpose for a customized map is for cars with unique combinations of mods, then you are sadly mistaken.
ride5000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 04:06 PM   #13
dosage0
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 42323
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: VF35, Pinks
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Silver - UTEC, Tuna, TBE

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ride5000
if you think the only purpose for a customized map is for cars with unique combinations of mods, then you are sadly mistaken.

Agreed.

Just because a car has the exact same mods doesnt mean A) It will get the same power B) It can handle the same timing/fuel/boost levels.
dosage0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 11:52 PM   #14
AdmiralWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80204
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hollis, NH
Vehicle:
2005 WRX++
WRB

Default

I don't think you're supposed to run the STX map on a stock WRX. It looks as if it has the same requirements as stg 2, which is a TBE (see the Cobb map list).

I did see the recommendation for running the STX map, but it sounds like it was only for the stg 2 folks to try. I personally haven't had any stalling issues in the 2 months i've been running stg 1.

Don't malign the AP without good reason.....sounds like there was some operator error involved in your problems.
AdmiralWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 12:20 AM   #15
scooby9
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76026
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335xi
Titanium Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralWRX
I don't think you're supposed to run the STX map on a stock WRX. It looks as if it has the same requirements as stg 2, which is a TBE (see the Cobb map list).

I did see the recommendation for running the STX map, but it sounds like it was only for the stg 2 folks to try. I personally haven't had any stalling issues in the 2 months i've been running stg 1.

Don't malign the AP without good reason.....sounds like there was some operator error involved in your problems.

Well I've tried the new map that was just released and I still have the stalling issues. I agree that for most peeps it works great. But the AP is just not working for me so it's time to try something new... Also, the recommendation from Cobb was to run the STX map for stage 2 and then the real time map for stage 1. This would in effect be a stage 1 setup without the OL/CL changes.
scooby9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 10:39 AM   #16
AdmiralWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80204
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hollis, NH
Vehicle:
2005 WRX++
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scooby9
Well I've tried the new map that was just released and I still have the stalling issues. I agree that for most peeps it works great. But the AP is just not working for me so it's time to try something new... Also, the recommendation from Cobb was to run the STX map for stage 2 and then the real time map for stage 1. This would in effect be a stage 1 setup without the OL/CL changes.
Did Cobb recommend that to you directly (via direct email or phone), or is that something you read on the stalling threads that are going around this forum and Cobb's? If it's the latter, then you took advice that Cobb threw out there without checking all the facts. Look at the map management page on Cobb's website and check the requirements to run STX stage 2. It's the same requirements to run stage 2, and unless you've got a TBE, you shouldn't be running either map.

If you were one of the people experiencing the stalling issue, then certainly you have a good reason to give up on the AP.
AdmiralWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 12:17 PM   #17
GDR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34924
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Corona,Ca
Vehicle:
03 WRX Wagon
81 Scirocco S

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scooby9
Well last night I went for a drive and I noticed a weird hesitation in 2nd gear at WOT that felt like my clutch was slipping. I only have 20,000 km and I almost always rev match so I was quite surprised when it seemed like the clutch was going. I also have an Accessport at stage 1 which was running fine for a few weeks until last night. I did a bunch of driving and noticed that in 1st gear there was no issue but in 2nd gear above 4500 rpm it felt like the car was going and then pulling back, going and then pulling back... 3rd gear had a similar problem but not as noticeable. Well, I've never had this problem before so I started shopping around for a new clutch. Then today I decided that I would unmarry the Accessport just to see if it made a difference. Well after that everything is back to normal again and I have none of this weird hesitation. Driving is super smooth albeit with less oomph that was there before when all was good with the Accessport... However my question is this... is it possible that unmarrying the Accessport reduced the amount of torque output such that the clutch is no longer slipping... OR is it that I never did have a clutch issue and the ECU was acting all crazy and causing this hesitation?
Well if it was the clutch(whichs sounds like you already ruled out) then you would feel a see the rpms spike up during these moments of hesitations.

What you describe is what I felt with my stock 03 when new. This is what I feel was a ECU tunning issue with the timing being pulled. Over time with me learning the car and the ECU learning me things started to smooth out.

I went to AP stage 1, still all stock otherwise at 36k miles and things smoothed out alot. I went with the AP because I feel its the best and cheapest for what I want in the long run. ST is out now finally and PT is around the corner. I will be getting a custom tune for MY car in MY region with the fuel we have.

I kinda think of the AP vs ECUtek as MAC vs PC. Cobb kept things inhouse so things are so with tunning research. ECUtek they the venders do the tunning which gives alot more options and information for development. So if you need it right now go with the ECUtek custom tune.

I'm just glad Cobb has finally gotten their tunning stuff out and it and shouldn't turn out to be a Beta vs VHS type a thing.
GDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 12:29 PM   #18
scooby9
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76026
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335xi
Titanium Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralWRX
Did Cobb recommend that to you directly (via direct email or phone), or is that something you read on the stalling threads that are going around this forum and Cobb's? If it's the latter, then you took advice that Cobb threw out there without checking all the facts. Look at the map management page on Cobb's website and check the requirements to run STX stage 2. It's the same requirements to run stage 2, and unless you've got a TBE, you shouldn't be running either map.

If you were one of the people experiencing the stalling issue, then certainly you have a good reason to give up on the AP.
Yes the whole STX/real time map setup was based on discussions in Cobb's forum. It was to test the stalling issue. For 2 tanks of gas it ran great... then I ran into this issue... I then switched to the newest base map that Cobb just released and the stalling issue came back again.
scooby9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 12:32 PM   #19
scooby9
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76026
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335xi
Titanium Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GDR
Well if it was the clutch(whichs sounds like you already ruled out) then you would feel a see the rpms spike up during these moments of hesitations.

What you describe is what I felt with my stock 03 when new. This is what I feel was a ECU tunning issue with the timing being pulled. Over time with me learning the car and the ECU learning me things started to smooth out.

I went to AP stage 1, still all stock otherwise at 36k miles and things smoothed out alot. I went with the AP because I feel its the best and cheapest for what I want in the long run. ST is out now finally and PT is around the corner. I will be getting a custom tune for MY car in MY region with the fuel we have.

I kinda think of the AP vs ECUtek as MAC vs PC. Cobb kept things inhouse so things are so with tunning research. ECUtek they the venders do the tunning which gives alot more options and information for development. So if you need it right now go with the ECUtek custom tune.

I'm just glad Cobb has finally gotten their tunning stuff out and it and shouldn't turn out to be a Beta vs VHS type a thing.
I think it might have just been a bad tank of gas too that got my car acting all strange and detonating.
scooby9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 10:04 PM   #20
X-VWGLX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16739
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: NC, 8th YEAR SCOOBY NEWBIE
Vehicle:
2002 WRX, 2005 STI
silver

Unhappy slipping clutch

ok, i got the Cobb Accessport Stage 1 about 2 weeks ago. I noticed a few days after that it felt like the engine was revving, but the car wasnt pulling. Tonight i could floor the gas, the tach would spin up 1000-2000 rpm, but i wasnt accelerating very much. the rpms would go up quickly as boost builds. worse in 3rd and 4th gears. 40K miles. got some track miles on this car, probably should have heel-toed more often.
sounds like a clutch to me. cant handle the extra power?
i havent heard of anyone with stage 1 or 2 needing to upgrade a clutch for the additional power - so is mine just used-up?
i also read on scoobymods that a slipping clutch is worse in the rain or when cold. tonight its raining.

Last edited by X-VWGLX; 04-12-2005 at 11:07 PM. Reason: spelling
X-VWGLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 09:22 PM   #21
X-VWGLX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16739
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: NC, 8th YEAR SCOOBY NEWBIE
Vehicle:
2002 WRX, 2005 STI
silver

Talking yep

it is slipping. the worn cluch cant hold the extra torque. all hail cobbtuning
X-VWGLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So, i think my clutch is slipping... miller91 Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 5 01-16-2009 09:50 AM
I thought my clutch was slipping, but I guess it's something else SparkysJDMSpeedWagon Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 25 03-15-2007 02:29 PM
Well I though my clutch was slipping LJG33 Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 10 03-01-2005 06:48 PM
I think my clutch is slipping Dorkfish Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 8 05-28-2004 12:53 PM
Think my clutch is slipping. DirtDevil Normally Aspirated Powertrain 0 03-26-2001 07:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.