Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2005, 02:43 PM   #1
akira02rex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82612
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
Ice Silver Metallic

Default Cobb AP Map switching question

I installed the Cobb AP on my 02 wrx. I reflashed/initialized the AP using the Stock Mode map then I changed to the Stage2 93 octane map via realtime.
When I check the Current Map option it always says "Stock Mode." Is this just telling me the current flash of the ECU? Or should it tell me the realtime map? Everything works fine when sending the map to the ECU as well. Thanks!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
akira02rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 02:50 PM   #2
WRC-Go
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29917
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Appalachian Mountains VA
Vehicle:
2003 WRXWgn-WRB sold
EVO IX-MR, 98 Viper

Default

You need to flash the map you want to use (presumably Stage 2 93 Octane) as your BASE MAP, not use it in realtime. You do not need to use a realtime map of Stage 2 over the Stage 2 BASE MAP. This is explained in the notes section under "maps" on Cobb's site.

Current Map option always displays current base map. Now get the right base map on there - the real time maps do not have all the data and adaptability of base map versions.

Edited for clarity

Last edited by WRC-Go; 04-19-2005 at 05:18 PM.
WRC-Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 03:20 PM   #3
akira02rex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82612
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

ahh ok thanks for the help!
akira02rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 03:42 PM   #4
dcwrx2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69005
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
'04 4EAT Wgn
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRC-Go
Do not use a realtime map of Stage 2 over the Stage 2 BASE MAP. This is explained in the notes section under "maps" on Cobb's site.
You mean do not use a realtime map of Stage 2 over the Stock base map, right? According to Cobb, if you flash in the Stage 2 base map only, and not covering it with any other realtime map, then during the flash process, Stage 2 will be your base AND realtime map.
dcwrx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 04:06 PM   #5
WRC-Go
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29917
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Appalachian Mountains VA
Vehicle:
2003 WRXWgn-WRB sold
EVO IX-MR, 98 Viper

Default

Not exactly, this can be found on the "maps" list under "notes"

"Base Map vs Real Time Map Differences -
The base mapping contains some additional logic for improved performance and is
HIGHLY recommended to be used if you plan on operating at a Stage2 level."

This wording is on basically ALL the maps, btw, not just Stage 2. It means you should use the BASE MAP for whatever Stage you've selected. It means you do not need to run a Real Time map for your selected stage OVER TOP of your BASE MAP. Real Time maps are for Valet mode, economy mode, etc. I also may use one to get home from the shop after going Stage Two (over my current Stage One Base) but will install a base map for Stage Two as soon as I get home. Does that make it clear?

Edit: after re-reading this link COBB I think I understand better how real time mapping works. I suggest anyone that is having trouble understanding it try to read the whole link. It helped clear it all up for me.

Last edited by WRC-Go; 04-19-2005 at 04:51 PM.
WRC-Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 04:27 PM   #6
dcwrx2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69005
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
'04 4EAT Wgn
WRB

Default

Yes I truely understand and I agree. The map notes from Cobb is suggesting if a person wants to run Stg2 for long because his car is fully capable (w/ TBE), then he should flash it as base map, instead of using Stg2 as realtime, on top of any other non-Stg2 base map as if "set-it-and-forget-it". However, what I said in my last post, is that when we flash a new base map to ECU and use this base map as the only map to run the car, then both "base map memory" and "realtime map memory" in the ECU will be filled by the base map simply because "Base map contains both base map data and realtime map data" (according to Cobb's website).
For example, when I initialize my car with Stg1 base map and nothing else, the AP actually programs my car with both Stg1 base map AND Stg1 realtime map (because "Stg1 base map contains both Stg1 base map data and Stg1 realtime map data"). It cannot be the case where my ECU has just Stg1 base map data and "realtime map memory area" contains all zeros.
Let me put in this way: Flash with Stg2 base map and do nothing else, is equivalent to Flash with Stg2 base map PLUS "adding" a Stg2 realtime map manually
dcwrx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 04:31 PM   #7
WRC-Go
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29917
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Appalachian Mountains VA
Vehicle:
2003 WRXWgn-WRB sold
EVO IX-MR, 98 Viper

Default

That makes sense to me!
WRC-Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 04:37 PM   #8
Drayton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 44055
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Morgantown, WV
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Black

Default

I just called cobb because I was slightly confused by WRC-go's posts. They pretty much just stated what you did, dcwrx2. Flashing StgX base map will flash the ECU with StgX parameters and it will essentially give you StgX realtime map as well. However, if you realtime anti-theft or economy to your ECU, then when you're ready to drive normally, you'd send realtime StgX map to the ecu.

Quote:
It means you should NOT run a Real Time map for your selected stage OVER TOP of your BASE MAP. Real Time maps are for Valet mode, economy mode, etc.
You're not going to run hard in economy or valet if it is your realtime, there is no "I don't want a realtime map--use my base map only" option, so how could you not run a realtime that matches your base map?
Drayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 04:45 PM   #9
dcwrx2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69005
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
'04 4EAT Wgn
WRB

Default

Glad to know the issue becomes clearer to everyone. So after you know more about it, you can come up with something funny such as this:
Flash in Anti-Theft A map for base, and Valet Mode for realtime, and give your keys to the valet.... Even if he is smart to know you put in Valet Mode for realtime, he disconnected your battery and hoping for reset and enjoy a short moment of Stg1234567 on your car, but he is unlucky...After ECU reset, Anti-Theft Mode A kicks it, he can't even start the car,
dcwrx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 05:22 PM   #10
WRC-Go
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29917
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Appalachian Mountains VA
Vehicle:
2003 WRXWgn-WRB sold
EVO IX-MR, 98 Viper

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcwrx2
Glad to know the issue becomes clearer to everyone. So after you know more about it, you can come up with something funny such as this:
Flash in Anti-Theft A map for base, and Valet Mode for realtime, and give your keys to the valet.... Even if he is smart to know you put in Valet Mode for realtime, he disconnected your battery and hoping for reset and enjoy a short moment of Stg1234567 on your car, but he is unlucky...After ECU reset, Anti-Theft Mode A kicks it, he can't even start the car,
I don't even want to think about that! That is friggin' scary! First dead battery and your car won't start until it's re-programmed. Will the AP really let you install Anti-theft as a Base Map?
WRC-Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 05:38 PM   #11
BIG GUN
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 49825
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: WESTFORD MA.
Vehicle:
2002 WRX WAGON
SILVER

Default

You should program your base to the highest level your mods allow, in order to maximize performance. Then you can run a realtime map of any of your loaded AP options, like stg.2 91, or 93 octane, based on where you travel, or Highway, Valet, etc. without fooling with your base, and burning up those approx. 100 total re-burns in it's use life. You can change the realtime as much as you want, even while driving, although I don't sanction doing it.
BIG GUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 05:54 PM   #12
dcwrx2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69005
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
'04 4EAT Wgn
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRC-Go
I don't even want to think about that! That is friggin' scary! First dead battery and your car won't start until it's re-programmed. Will the AP really let you install Anti-theft as a Base Map?
Why not bro? Just confirmed from their website and there ARE base maps for Valet modes and Anti-theft modes! I just didn't download them tho.
Cobb made the base maps for Anti-Theft A/B and Valet A/B for a reason!!
dcwrx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 06:13 PM   #13
Drayton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 44055
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Morgantown, WV
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Black

Default

I know that some people cite that if you have StgX flashed base map, then send the anti-theft realtime map, that a smart criminal could unhook the battery thereby 'erase' the realtime map, and the car will default to the base map.

I remember reading a post (that I can't find) where a guy forgot his AP at his gf's house or something and he had the anti-theft realtime on. He tried to unhook his battery in order to get his base map to take over and let him drive. It didn't work like everyone thought it would, he still couldn't start his car. I don't know if he left it unhooked long enough, did the brake pedal trick, etc. I know in theory it should work, but it didn't for that guy, for whatever the reason.
Drayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 07:11 PM   #14
dcwrx2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69005
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
'04 4EAT Wgn
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drayton
...a smart criminal could unhook the battery thereby 'erase' the realtime map, and the car will default to the base map.
That's right, and that's why Cobb made a BaseMap version for Anti-Theft map (I guess it's the reason).
Quote:
...He tried to unhook his battery in order to get his base map to take over and let him drive. It didn't work like everyone thought it would, he still couldn't start his car.
What even worse, is that his g/f flashed a base version of anti-theft, hide the AP, so her b/f could do nothing but to stay overnight with her....until she's satisfied and give him back the AP to flash with a "drivable" base map.
dcwrx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 07:42 PM   #15
Drayton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 44055
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Morgantown, WV
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Black

Default

Quote:
...his g/f flashed a base version of anti-theft, hide the AP, so her b/f could do nothing but to stay overnight with her....until she's satisfied and give him back the AP to flash with a "drivable" base map.
Well then if that was the case...
Drayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom AP map switched to UTEC? SubieStylez UTEC 9 11-23-2007 12:36 AM
SoCal FS: 04-05 WRX Cobb AP, Leveling switch, trunk liner Okita Souji Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 4 06-02-2006 08:39 PM
FS: 04-05 WRX Cobb AP, Leveling switch, trunk liner Okita Souji SCIC Private Classifieds 0 05-10-2006 12:18 AM
New Cobb AP map updates - 3/29/05 Quack Engine Management & Tuning 8 04-01-2005 12:42 PM
Cobb AP Map Manager <help> QKWRX Engine Management & Tuning 3 09-10-2004 01:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.