Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2005, 07:03 PM   #1
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default Fuel Trims - What do you use to view them?

I was wondering what tools people are using to view long term and short term fuel trims. Hopefully at least one of them is inexpensive.

Jeff
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 12:03 AM   #2
Kingpin
Vendor
 
Member#: 41252
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 602-795-3036
Vehicle:
Twin 2005 600WHP
FormulaD/TimeAttack Sti's

Default

Any OBD scan tool will read the short and long term fuel trims. The SM3 or scanmaster 3 is a nice little tool for this and is subaru specific. The ultimate is Delta dash. It reads AFR corrections 1 and 2 and it reads the AFR learning. Plus it has lots of logging tools and a Road dyno feature among other things.

CLark
Kingpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 03:06 AM   #3
santofontana
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26876
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 1990 GMC Sierra 4x4 350ci
Vehicle:
1994 Camaro Z28 383
Black M6

Default

sm3 is cool.
santofontana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 06:26 AM   #4
fmowry
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54604
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Severn, MD
Vehicle:
2004 FXT
Cayenne Red (sold)

Default

I'm cross posting this from the Fullthrottle forum (SM3s parent company). I'm beginning to wonder if the SM3 is a valid choice for logging. Is anyone using the SM3 to dispaly LM-1 A/Fs?

"I had the bad boost problem. Supposedly this was fixed. I've setup the SM3 to take the output of the LM-1 wideband. Changed OS to 1 to use analog 1 input. Setup Analog 1 input to 5 to read A/F.

One other note. The manual gives values of 1-5 for Analog inputs. The actual SM3 allows values from 0-5. So what is correct. None of them produced the same A/F as my LM-1 display though.

My A/F display on the LM-1 is .8 pts off. It never goes above 14.6 or so. I set up Analog 2 input to 5 also.

Is there some special way to set up the LM-1 to output what the SM3 expects? I thought it's default outputs of 0-5 v were what the SM3 is looking for.

I'm using a 3 ft stereo cable from Rat Shack to attach the LM-1 to SM3.

Are any of the other values valid? The voltage display seems low too but I haven't confirmed this with a voltmeter to the battery.

I was hoping to use this as my stealth boost gauge but looks like I'll have to install a boost gauge now too to check the values.

Could Fullthrottle developing the SM3 on a UTEC equipped Suby screw up more than just the boost values for other Subys?

My car is an 04 Forester XT with ECUtek reflash.

SM3, great tuning tool or $230 plastic box with flashing lights?"

Frank
fmowry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 10:31 AM   #5
fmowry
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54604
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Severn, MD
Vehicle:
2004 FXT
Cayenne Red (sold)

Default

I'm going to ammend my comments regarding the A/F. Maybe I just need to know what the heck to program the LM-1 outputs to in order to have them display the same on the SM3 as on the LM-1 screen. Would be helpful if FullThrottle could have included this tidbit in their documentation since they do mention the LM-1 specifically.

Frank
fmowry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you use to fit your fit, sills etc to the scoob.. Rice Devil Interior & Exterior Modification 0 07-12-2006 10:29 AM
What browser do you use to view the interweb? crowbar Off-Topic 16 07-15-2004 03:01 PM
What do you use to convert 128k mp3's to 44k? codemunky Off-Topic 3 05-25-2004 01:27 AM
What do you use to reattach rubber trim? Tomnel Interior & Exterior Modification 2 08-15-2002 10:03 PM
('93-'01) What do you use to wash your car? Mike Smith Impreza Forum 19 05-06-2001 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.