Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday November 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2005, 11:41 AM   #1
keyser_soze
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57445
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Default StreetTUNER 1 - 2 - 3

OK read the manual and did some research on the forums but summerize it for someone that never has had an AccessPort nor any other Cobb parts (ME):

1. Hook up the Accessport to your PC with the ST software installed
2. Updated the AP
3. Connect the AP alone directly to the ODB-II port (while having the green connector on)
4. Flash the Ecu using either StreetTUNER update or Stage 1 or Stage 2 maps
^^^^ These are Base maps ~ I flashed the StreetTUNER update map which I assumed is a stock 05 STi map
5. I am building a ST map...as I am editing and making my map I am saving it as a ST base map on my laptop
6. So my question....when I'm done building my map what do I do? I save it as a real time map and load it or flash it into the ECU using the ST software or put it in my accessport and flash it?

Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
keyser_soze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 12:19 PM   #2
mrbell
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1871
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
Blue Ridge Pearl

Default

If you build a realtime map while connected to the car, your changes are already in place as a realtime map on the ECU. If you're desk tuning, you'll need to load it into the car. You can do that by loading the map into ST while connected, or load it onto your AP and then connect the AP to the car and upload it.
If you do a basemap, you'll have to load it into the AP and then flash the car with the AP.
mrbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 12:35 PM   #3
ranger5oh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77752
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St Louis
Vehicle:
5Sti 2005 Sti
OBP

Default

Yep... thats the beauty of our ST software. I would reccommend keeping it as a realtime map until you are sure it is perfected. You can make realtime changes to the realtime map while the car is running. Its pretty sweet.

Anyway, if you are making a stage 2 map, Id like to see it when you are done....please.

Good luck!
andy.
ranger5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 12:46 PM   #4
keyser_soze
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57445
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Default

OK, so in summary can I use my base map without flashing it? or i have to save it as real time map?
Thanks

Last edited by keyser_soze; 04-21-2005 at 03:24 PM.
keyser_soze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 02:26 PM   #5
HonduHunter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 28408
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 vf48ed WRX
PSM

Default

no a base map is used for a reflash. real maps are used without flashing. you will need to save it as a realtime map.



MZM doesnt tune cobb do they?

HonduHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 03:44 PM   #6
keyser_soze
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57445
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Default

Thanks for the replies.
MZM does tune Cobb ST.
keyser_soze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 04:00 PM   #7
clamdip
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18709
Join Date: May 2002
Default

how are you guys tuning your street tuners? i don't have much of a stretch of road to work with where i live, nor a AWD dyno. any suggestions? i'm guessing i could use deltadash and datalog, then use the street tuner to adjust the numbers and generate a map. sound possible?
clamdip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 02:49 AM   #8
HonduHunter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 28408
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 vf48ed WRX
PSM

Default

you can log with the street tuner.and go to a race track.
HonduHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 12:31 PM   #9
Big-Sexy907
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59057
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Alaska
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza, STi.
Silver

Default

Whats a good starting point to begin tuning?
Big-Sexy907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 04:06 PM   #10
R4ND0M_AX3
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 67483
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaiN
Whats a good starting point to begin tuning?
Logs, logs, and more logs. Then study those logs.
R4ND0M_AX3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 04:25 PM   #11
HonduHunter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 28408
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 vf48ed WRX
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R4ND0M_AX3
Logs, logs, and more logs. Then study those logs.
then make more logs
HonduHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 02:08 AM   #12
buzz313th
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37008
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles
Vehicle:
2005 WRX Sedan (STX)
Crystal Grey -TeamBrew-

Default

With ST you can just save any changes as a base map... no need to save as a realtime map, because you can just load the base map when live tuning is active and all the realtime calibrations will be loaded into the ecu. In my opinion, the only reason to save a realtime map is if you are gonna use it as a realtime map on the AP.

Basically what I am saying is..... The realtime calibrations from a basemap will load into ecu just like realtime calibrations from a realtime map, you just not loading the base changes till you flash the ecu...
buzz313th is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rosetta stone 1/2/3 Latin America Version 2 0260B4U Non-Subaru Stuff 2 07-31-2009 06:48 PM
Vivid Racing Stage 1/2/3 bobafett Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 12 03-21-2002 10:45 PM
Subaru 1,2,3, at the CRAB Rally TOMMY B Motorsports 0 07-08-2001 10:24 AM
Automatic transmission: is using 1-2-3 gear in town hard on transmission? subymamma Normally Aspirated Powertrain 28 04-30-2001 05:30 PM
Testing, 1, 2, 3 wolve80 Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 9 05-28-2000 04:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.