Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday December 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2005, 11:56 AM   #1
rlhaddock
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39969
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT lmt
Garnet Red Pearl

Default Could they detect the AP??

Went to the dealership because my AC fan wouldn't stop running and was told that SOA was aware of the problem and that they needed to swap out my ECU for a new one.

My question is, if I would have had an AP hooked up, would they have been able to detect the map change? I am aware that you can change it back to stock, but would the dealership have known in my case??

I ask because of warranty issues.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
rlhaddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 12:10 PM   #2
kennyvb
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70234
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
MY86 BMW E30 325
SCIC/NWIC tranplant (-_-)

Default

Yes, they have the ability to detect it. Just revert back to stock. I really don't see any other option.
kennyvb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 12:21 PM   #3
rlhaddock
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39969
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT lmt
Garnet Red Pearl

Default

I am not currently running the AP, but seriously considering it though and was just curious to find out if I would have purchased the AP, if they would have tried to void my warranty.
rlhaddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 01:58 PM   #4
kennyvb
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70234
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
MY86 BMW E30 325
SCIC/NWIC tranplant (-_-)

Default

Have it warrantied for the AC problem then install the AP. This is probably obvious, but the best way to see if your dealer will cover is to ask.
kennyvb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 08:59 PM   #5
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2005, 12:12 PM   #6
subiguy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78389
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Danbury
Default

I run a service dept. for a Ct Subaru dealer. AP is basically undectectable. If soa gets a hand on your ecm-thats a different story but the dealer is not gonna notice. (unless the tech that road tests your car notices how well it runs)
subiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2005, 12:31 PM   #7
Balr14
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 84809
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Germantown, WI.
Vehicle:
2005 Forester XT
Black

Default

If they replace the ECU without the AP being divorced from the old one, won't that cause problems?
Balr14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2005, 01:34 PM   #8
wall of tvs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29716
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis
Vehicle:
2006 wrx wagon
booze powered e85 monster

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Balr14
If they replace the ECU without the AP being divorced from the old one, won't that cause problems?
Yup. He won't be able to initialize the AccessPort to the new ECU.

You better divorce the AP from the ECU ASAP!
wall of tvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2005, 02:47 PM   #9
bournehall
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 73713
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Maryville, TN
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Stage 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wall of tvs
Yup. He won't be able to initialize the AccessPort to the new ECU.
You better divorce the AP from the ECU ASAP!
.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlhaddock
I am not currently running the AP, but seriously considering it though and was just curious to find out if I would have purchased the AP, if they would have tried to void my warranty.
bournehall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 12:29 PM   #10
psuknak05
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38651
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Pa/MD
Vehicle:
2004 WRB WRX
EVOIII

Default

have mine in service right now getting electrical work done to it... They were testing the electrical systems trying to find the problem, I think its the illumination control module... anyway I work at the dealership, I asked if anything unusual came up when he was scanning everything, he said nothing at all. IIRC cobb says on their site that the techs at subaru dealers can't detect it with the equipment they use.
I have an OBDII code puller and it wouldn't pull CELs when I had the AP married to the ECU... Had to unmarry it and then pull them. Don't know if this was a freak thing or common knowledge, just thought I would share.
Get your problems fixed, then worry about the AP
psuknak05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 12:28 PM   #11
krayge
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 55651
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kentucky
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
Platinum Silver

Default

yea, my only concern would be that they switched the ECUs without telling me and my AP is now married to the wrong one. *eek* otherwise, the cobb guys say they have all the same tools as the subaru techs and they kept those scan tools handy when making their changes to the ecu.

i can see THAT conversation now...

"Excuse me sir, we need to switch your engine controller for a new one to fix this problem."

"Umm....ok. OH! err....my, umm...spleen! i have to go to the emergency room RIGHT NOW!"

*runs and hops in the car, drives away*

*returns next day*

"Whew...ok, spleen is all better. Rip that puppy out now."

krayge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory steer and strange noise from the front end-could they be related? PitwrkzZ1 Brakes, Steering & Suspension 7 05-03-2009 06:50 PM
How long can they detect alchol in a UA? B Foxy Off-Topic 27 02-02-2008 06:37 PM
Anyone have a PC interface cable for the AP that they want to sell? MarquetteWRX Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 0 10-21-2004 09:54 AM
Anyone have a PC interface cable for the AP that they want to sell? MarquetteWRX Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 0 10-21-2004 09:42 AM
Has anyone rewired there fog lights so they could run with the high beams on? subisrule Interior & Exterior Modification 21 06-12-2001 09:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.