Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2005, 05:22 PM   #1
Rick539
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35997
Join Date: Apr 2003
Default Ver 7 and UTEC

I know I am going to get slammed about using the search engine. But I just want to get conformation. Putting a ver 7 in my 03, I can use my utec for it right? Just want to make sure there are no conflicts.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Rick539 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 05:59 PM   #2
norexyet
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39149
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Wild Rides Race Cars
Vehicle:
11 elantra
yea i said elantra

Default

I believe so, depends on who wires it and there skills i imagine. If the wiring is kinda shady id go with stand alone. But i talked to rich (ver III) through pm's on here and he said that i would be able to run a utec on a ver 7 when he was done with the swap. So ill see how it works out.
norexyet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 06:08 PM   #3
YaZahX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11932
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
1998 CW ITR
2006 NBP SI

Default

utec is piggy back whats there to wire...

i wanna knwo if i put the utec on my car(version 7) would the avcs work and what version do i use?
YaZahX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 06:39 PM   #4
dug-e-fresh
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4568
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 603 whp / EJ207
Vehicle:
10.7 @ 136, '02 WRX
??.? @ ???, '09 spec.B

Default

UTEC's work great with STi ECU's. I've been running my UTEC with a Version 7 RA Spec C ECU (AG970 I think) for almost 2 years now.

The only issue that there was, the AVCS wires were not passed through on the US UTEC. The solution, get an Australian model UTEC that is AVCS compatible.

US UTEC's can be wired to work with AVCS, but its plug-n-play with the AUS STI model UTEC. You want an AUS UTEC, contact Turbo XS, they'll gladly get you one.

def
dug-e-fresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 06:44 PM   #5
YaZahX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11932
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
1998 CW ITR
2006 NBP SI

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug-e-fresh
UTEC's work great with STi ECU's. I've been running my UTEC with a Version 7 RA Spec C ECU (AG970 I think) for almost 2 years now.

The only issue that there was, the AVCS wires were not passed through on the US UTEC. The solution, get an Australian model UTEC that is AVCS compatible.

US UTEC's can be wired to work with AVCS, but its plug-n-play with the AUS STI model UTEC. You want an AUS UTEC, contact Turbo XS, they'll gladly get you one.

def
so if i get the AUS one, plug it in and im done ?
cool, thanks for the info!!

(search terms: jdm sti utec avcs piggyback)
YaZahX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 02:37 PM   #6
dug-e-fresh
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4568
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 603 whp / EJ207
Vehicle:
10.7 @ 136, '02 WRX
??.? @ ???, '09 spec.B

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YaZahX
so if i get the AUS one, plug it in and im done ?
cool, thanks for the info!!

(search terms: jdm sti utec avcs piggyback)
If you have the entire car harness ran...

def
dug-e-fresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 03:27 PM   #7
YaZahX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11932
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
1998 CW ITR
2006 NBP SI

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug-e-fresh
If you have the entire car harness ran...

def
the harness is from the jdm7

only part that was spliced were the parts that go to the dash harness... anything that ran to the motor was left in 1 peice
YaZahX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 04:20 PM   #8
dug-e-fresh
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4568
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 603 whp / EJ207
Vehicle:
10.7 @ 136, '02 WRX
??.? @ ???, '09 spec.B

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YaZahX
the harness is from the jdm7

only part that was spliced were the parts that go to the dash harness... anything that ran to the motor was left in 1 peice
Then your good

def
dug-e-fresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 04:24 PM   #9
ImprezaRSfan!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13520
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Springfield, VA
Vehicle:
99rs ej207 spec-c
its for sale

Default

also, the newest wrx style utecs, revision 6b, have the wires for avcs included, so u can use that.

im running a v8 jdm ecu with us wrx utec rev 6b
ImprezaRSfan! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 04:52 PM   #10
dug-e-fresh
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4568
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 603 whp / EJ207
Vehicle:
10.7 @ 136, '02 WRX
??.? @ ???, '09 spec.B

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImprezaRSfan!
also, the newest wrx style utecs, revision 6b, have the wires for avcs included, so u can use that.

im running a v8 jdm ecu with us wrx utec rev 6b
the one I just picked up 2 weeks ago still has the "AUS STI" decal on it, and I was told that was the last one they had

def
dug-e-fresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 12:29 AM   #11
Mumbles
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 248
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Yeah i've been running my non-sti rev6b utec for awhile now, no complaints. Great product netted me 30WHP.

-b
Mumbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 12:40 PM   #12
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Are you guys getting check engine lights?
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 01:17 PM   #13
PDXTuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 49831
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: www.pdxtuning.com
Vehicle:
2008 Get Tuned Now
Knowledge is Power

Default

You will not get a CEL if you wire it in correctly, the AVCS that is. The UTEC will not cause a CEL, provided it is the right revision as mentioned above.

Jarrad
PDXTuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 02:07 PM   #14
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

I thought that the JDM engines got a CEL because of the injectors or something like that. No?
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 02:16 PM   #15
DoctorNick
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7022
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago, Il.
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Limited
SWP

Default

Thats what I was told.^
DoctorNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 02:24 PM   #16
PDXTuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 49831
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: www.pdxtuning.com
Vehicle:
2008 Get Tuned Now
Knowledge is Power

Default

I have a JDM/AUS UTEC and a twin scroll ECU in my car, I get NO CELs.
PDXTuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 04:16 PM   #17
dug-e-fresh
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4568
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 603 whp / EJ207
Vehicle:
10.7 @ 136, '02 WRX
??.? @ ???, '09 spec.B

Default

There were UTECs that would give you misfire codes when used with JDM ECUs, the newer UTECs do not do this.

def
dug-e-fresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 04:17 PM   #18
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug-e-fresh
There were UTECs that would give you misfire codes when used with JDM ECUs, the newer UTECs do not do this.

def
But rev6b will, right?
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 04:22 PM   #19
cronic
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9749
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
-

Default

The mis information in this thread is crazy..haha

Rev 6b usdm utec, lets avcs pass through, no wiring, get 4 injector cel's
Aus utec, lets avcs pass through, no cels

I ran 6b in my v7 swap, with no problems other then the CEL which i turned off anyway..
cronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JDM Ver.7 and 8 ECU with ECUtech Lisence CHEAP Dugansti Engine/Power/Exhaust 1 10-17-2009 11:04 PM
Ver.7 and Ver.8 into 02'-05' AVCS wiring diagram DS1 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 11-17-2008 02:06 AM
FS NY: JDM STi Ver. 7 ECU and TXS UTEC garface Engine/Power/Exhaust 28 08-28-2008 02:43 PM
COMPELTE JDM VER-7 and VER-8 drivetrains, etc.. .... FLAT4motorsports Engine/Power/Exhaust 19 05-31-2006 09:43 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.