Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 11, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2005, 12:46 PM   #1
2hip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 58987
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Prem. Pkg.
Platinum Silver

Default How often to reset ECU with AP

Does anyone periodically reset their ecu? The reason I ask is I'm running Stage 1 93 and I'm only hitting a max of 14.3psi and thought that maybe I should reset the ecu with the Vishnu trick to get the max multiplier. I haven't reset the ecu since I bought the car or flashed the AP. Is it a good idea to reset the ecu after a base map or before a real time reflash? Also is it a good idea to do it say once a quarter since gas changes between winter and summer?
Thnx - 2Hip
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
2hip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 01:57 PM   #2
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

If you reset the ECU it'll forget the realtime map and revert to base. Reset, then reload.

I think it's something that some people believe works and some don't. I rarely reset my ECU jsut for the sake of resetting it when I was only running AP. I never let it control boost though. You can always reload the realtime map without cutting into the "100 or so" flashes you can use.

So reset, reload realtime, and see what happens. It won't hurt. At the worst, it'll take a couple days to come back up to snuff. At the best, the multiplier trick gets you some extra juice.
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 08:23 PM   #3
not a sho
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82637
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: pa
Vehicle:
2004 wrx wagon
silver

Default

i believe the ecu reset does not require a reloading of a realtime map that matches your base map.
the real time map will be the same as your base map after you reset the ecu. you only need to load a real time map over your base map when you have loaded real time anti-theft,91 oct. etc.
by the way you are within target boost of stage 1
14.7lbs plus or minus .5

Last edited by not a sho; 04-27-2005 at 08:44 PM.
not a sho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 10:46 PM   #4
Rapp144
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39806
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
BLK

Default

The only time I reset mine is if I make a minor mod...say for instance removing the silencer from the Helix CB...I would definately reset the ecu. I had a bad experience only once when I did not reset after pulling the silencer. It pulled timing really hard.
Rapp144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 10:52 PM   #5
2hip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 58987
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Prem. Pkg.
Platinum Silver

Default

What about when there is a switch over between winter and summer gas?
2hip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 01:38 AM   #6
dcwrx2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69005
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
'04 4EAT Wgn
WRB

Default

For same mods, you don't need ECU resets after AP installed. If you reset, you will clear the memory which store the "learned data" base on your driving habits, etc. Keep driving for at least 2 weeks and see how it goes (as suggested by Cobb). If doesn't help, then reset, but don't reset too frequent or your ECU will never able to fine-tune itself to suit your driving style.
dcwrx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 09:22 AM   #7
2hip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 58987
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Prem. Pkg.
Platinum Silver

Default

It's the learned data I'm wondering about. I installed my AP during the winter months when the winter gas was out and I was thinking that maybe some timing was pulled to account for the oxygenated (sp?) gas. I'm going to do the reset today and do the Shiv trick and see if I can get the boost to the target of 14.7. I'll post an update after my ride to work.
2hip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 01:57 PM   #8
2hip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 58987
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Prem. Pkg.
Platinum Silver

Default

Reset my ecu and did the Shiv trick and the I highest I got was 14.4psi which is in range. I guess resetting the ecu on a regular basis is not needed, atleast in my case. Thanks for everyone's input. Now I know what people mean about the modding addiction....guess I need to move onto stage2. Also I'm still running the old maps (not stalling) until I see concrete proof that the issue is resolved.
2hip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 08:44 AM   #9
tfoster2501
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80799
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Limerick, PA
Vehicle:
06 WRX Sport Wagon
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default Reset question

Actually, that brings to mind a question I have that I'm not certain is answered fully in the documentation. If I'm running a Stage 1 base map, and I load one of the real-time maps that changes the performance, how do I go back to my base map? Select the 'Reset ECU' option, or do I have to run my base map as a real-time map as well and switch to that?
tfoster2501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 08:55 AM   #10
2hip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 58987
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Prem. Pkg.
Platinum Silver

Default

The Reset ECU option only clears cel's. You would need to reset the ecu by diconnecting the neg battery connection and stepping on the brake for a couple of seconds. This will reset the learned data as well as the real-time map. You should follow this (Shiv Trick) to accelerate the ecu learning. Also running the same real-time map as the base-map will accomplish the same thing without reseting the ecu.
2hip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 09:46 AM   #11
tfoster2501
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80799
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Limerick, PA
Vehicle:
06 WRX Sport Wagon
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

If I do a 'Reset ECU' to get rid of the real-time map and run on my base map again, does that count against the 100 or so ECU resets that the ECU allows?
tfoster2501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 09:47 AM   #12
Davenow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23676
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: de_dust and Orgrimar
Vehicle:
.

Default

never. It learns on its own.
Davenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 09:58 AM   #13
tfoster2501
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80799
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Limerick, PA
Vehicle:
06 WRX Sport Wagon
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

So what does count as an ECU reflash? Changing the base map?
tfoster2501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 10:56 AM   #14
dcwrx2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69005
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
'04 4EAT Wgn
WRB

Default

Think in this way, whenever you need to connect the 2 green connectors together, and plug in the initialization plug (Years specific) for reflash, your ECU's lifetime is reduced by 1 (scary, huh? =p). This implies to:
1st time AP initialization to your ECU
Revert to Stock (unmarrying the AP)
Change of any base maps.
dcwrx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 02:52 PM   #15
tfoster2501
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80799
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Limerick, PA
Vehicle:
06 WRX Sport Wagon
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

Ah, okay, now I understand. Thanks!
tfoster2501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 05:43 PM   #16
phantomsr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 69071
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
2002 Stg2-WRX Wagon
WRB & Dust

Default

This Shiv reset has nothing to do with hitting target boost. It puts the ECU in the best place to learn IAM without detonation. 2500 RPM with 2-3 pounds of boost when warm is within the ECU learning requirements. That range is definately not going to detonate on you unless you have serious problems. This lets the ECU bump the IAM up to 16 from 8 quickly. This only affects timing and does not accelerate fuel trims or boost control. The only thing that will the ECU to learn boost is a few WOT runs and time. The ECU can't learn how to control peak boost unless you do some WOT runs. 3rd or 4th gear usually helps my ECU learn to hold peak boost in about 3 runs. Extreme temperature changes or barometric pressure changes will force the ECU to relearn the WG duty cycles.
phantomsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 05:45 PM   #17
Paulie V
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10260
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan
PSM- Cobb Stage 2- again!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2hip
The Reset ECU option only clears cel's. You would need to reset the ecu by diconnecting the neg battery connection and stepping on the brake for a couple of seconds. This will reset the learned data as well as the real-time map. You should follow this (Shiv Trick) to accelerate the ecu learning. Also running the same real-time map as the base-map will accomplish the same thing without reseting the ecu.
You sure about this? I just did it, and it says something about that option will clear CELs and also reset the ECU. I was under the impression that it was basically doing the same thing that disconnecting the battery does.
I could be wrong, though...(shhh... don't tell my wife I said that! )

Edit: Ok, I just went for a drive after doing the AP reset, and before, the car had apparently learned my "bad" habits of granny driving a bit this week, because after I did the reset, I got my torque response back throughout the rev range, just like when I did the initial reflash and it's much better. So, the AP reset definately resets the ECU, not just clears CELs.

Last edited by Paulie V; 04-29-2005 at 08:40 PM.
Paulie V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 12:38 PM   #18
2hip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 58987
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Prem. Pkg.
Platinum Silver

Default

Quote from AccessPort Manual:
"Reset ECU (Clear CEL) Resetting ECU with your AccessPORT will clear any fault codes in memory but will not erase any learning the ECU has performed."
2hip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 09:13 PM   #19
Paulie V
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10260
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan
PSM- Cobb Stage 2- again!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2hip
Quote from AccessPort Manual:
"Reset ECU (Clear CEL) Resetting ECU with your AccessPORT will clear any fault codes in memory but will not erase any learning the ECU has performed."
Yup, you're right, it does definately does say that! Don't know why my car drove differently after doing the AP reset then!
Paulie V is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
resetting ECU with AP aznmc16 AccessPort 1 10-10-2006 07:18 AM
How to reset ECU on WRX? SpoonTypeR Newbies & FAQs 2 06-21-2004 05:51 AM
how to reset ecu? jefersun Engine Management & Tuning 1 11-09-2003 01:35 PM
How to reset ECU without setting off the alarm? toerag Newbies & FAQs 2 01-28-2002 01:16 PM
How to reset ecu? Robmat General Forum Archive 4 11-17-2000 12:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.