Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2005, 02:19 PM   #1
fuss310
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70563
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Compton California
Vehicle:
2002 WRX

Default Taking UTEC off

I am going to be taking off my UTEC soon and was wondering If I am going to be needing anything that was taken off while the utec was orginally installed. I am going to be changing over to ECUTEK.
Thanks!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
fuss310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 02:36 PM   #2
Optimus Prime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69847
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cybertron
Vehicle:
2010 Evolution X

Default

Can't help, but what made you go to EcuTek?
Optimus Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 02:44 PM   #3
mbiker97
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7922
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Tucson
Vehicle:
04 CTS-V b/b/b
99 GMC Highrider

Default

You will want to remove the ABC also, but that's it.
mbiker97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 04:11 PM   #4
fuss310
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70563
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Compton California
Vehicle:
2002 WRX

Default

Optimus Prime
For what I am looking to do, EcuTek is best for ME. When I first was looking
around for EM, my then tuner advised me to go UTEC since at that time I just had up and downpipe and tbe. I know I was still going to be upgrading turbo, air charge cooler and so on, so I decided that as long as my tuner could make it work then it would be ok. At first it was cool I was happy and it makes good power, at times knock even with the "safe" bad tank of gas map. I go back and fourth to the guy who installed, he pretty much told me its better if you learn how to tune it yourself. I responded telling him that before I got it, I was clear that I was not interested in doing it myself (at that time he was not doing EcuTek)
Anyways to make a long story short I went elsewhere and that place assures me that he will take care of me with a reflash.


Thanks also Mbiker.
fuss310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 04:40 PM   #5
XSTransAm
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17789
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: morgantown wv, gaithersburg md
Vehicle:
2006 Yamaha R6
bikes are faster ;)

Default

the only difference between the ecutek and the utec that your going to have is when it knocks with the ecutek you wont know...

if you turn off the knock control on the utec then you will have just about exactly what an ecutek is.
XSTransAm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 06:01 PM   #6
mbiker97
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7922
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Tucson
Vehicle:
04 CTS-V b/b/b
99 GMC Highrider

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XSTransAm
the only difference between the ecutek and the utec that your going to have is when it knocks with the ecutek you wont know...

if you turn off the knock control on the utec then you will have just about exactly what an ecutek is.
Wrong. True there is no idicator showing you that it knocks, but ECUtek (since it really is just the factory ECU) listens for knock and adjusts timing accordingly. The Utec isn't great yet. It will be soon, but not currently.
mbiker97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 06:23 PM   #7
XSTransAm
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17789
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: morgantown wv, gaithersburg md
Vehicle:
2006 Yamaha R6
bikes are faster ;)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbiker97
Wrong. True there is no idicator showing you that it knocks, but ECUtek (since it really is just the factory ECU) listens for knock and adjusts timing accordingly. The Utec isn't great yet. It will be soon, but not currently.
and we all know how well the stock ecu adjusts for knock
XSTransAm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 08:09 PM   #8
mbiker97
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7922
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Tucson
Vehicle:
04 CTS-V b/b/b
99 GMC Highrider

Default

I've not seen a single car blow up using ECUtek yet, the same cannot be said for some Utec users (consider both to be fully dyno tuned).
mbiker97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 08:31 PM   #9
fuss310
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70563
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Compton California
Vehicle:
2002 WRX

Default

[quote=XSTransAm]the only difference between the ecutek and the utec that your going to have is when it knocks with the ecutek you wont know...


True that, but I do have a knock link installed.
fuss310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 08:48 PM   #10
XSTransAm
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17789
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: morgantown wv, gaithersburg md
Vehicle:
2006 Yamaha R6
bikes are faster ;)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbiker97
I've not seen a single car blow up using ECUtek yet, the same cannot be said for some Utec users (consider both to be fully dyno tuned).

now thats just an unfair statement, the blown up cars you are talking about have and always will be user error. its just as easy to blow up a car with a ecutek. the reason it dosent happen as often (and im positive it has happened) is because ecutek dosent give the end user the ABILITY to adjust their product. (and this is the reason they dont)

the bottem line is, fuel timing and boost, no matter what the tool used to adjust them are still just that, fuel timing and boost.
XSTransAm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 09:29 PM   #11
LiquidForce
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12811
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Roswell Ga
Vehicle:
2002 2.5l Wrx
517whp/516wtq (Stage pi)

Default

There is a lot more that can be adjusted using an ecutek as opposed to a utec. Hopefully some time in May a true user tune version of the Ecutek willl be available. Either way I would keep the utec until this version is out. If you want some else to tune it you can still get it done but if you want to make changes then you have that option as well.
LiquidForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 10:25 PM   #12
fuss310
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70563
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Compton California
Vehicle:
2002 WRX

Default

Will look into that Liquid. Thanks.
fuss310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 10:02 PM   #13
Optimus Prime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69847
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cybertron
Vehicle:
2010 Evolution X

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XSTransAm
now thats just an unfair statement, the blown up cars you are talking about have and always will be user error. its just as easy to blow up a car with a ecutek. the reason it dosent happen as often (and im positive it has happened) is because ecutek dosent give the end user the ABILITY to adjust their product. (and this is the reason they dont)

the bottem line is, fuel timing and boost, no matter what the tool used to adjust them are still just that, fuel timing and boost.
Disagree. UTEC is a piggyback system interfacing with the stock ECU, whereas EcuTek reprograms the stock ECU and let's it calculate the rest. If this setup were on an IS300, the UTEC would work for about a week before the IS300s ECU would starteto compensate for the UTEC and cause a lot of problems (yes, IS300 ECUs are that sucky/smart). I'd rather have ONE system/processor handling my engine instead of using an external device that interfaces/interferes with a stock computer to make it work right.

I would however like a MAFless EcuTek.

But back on subject, if I were the original poster, I would get an EcuTek tune, and leave the UTEC in there so you could use a race gas map...and if you ever wanted to go MAFless.
Optimus Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:47 AM   #14
Full Throttle
Vendor
 
Member#: 66143
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimus Prime
I would however like a MAFless EcuTek.
A mafless option will be a reality soon for everyone
Mike
Full Throttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:59 AM   #15
lowblow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56902
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mid Maryland
Vehicle:
2009 VW Jetta SE

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimus Prime
I would however like a MAFless EcuTek.
That is why you get a Hydra or AEM EMS...
lowblow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:04 AM   #16
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full Throttle
A mafless option will be a reality soon for everyone
Mike
Are you saying you are going to release a MAFT for the subaru?
Sorry for the hijack.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:31 AM   #17
happasaiyan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37731
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Rolling Meadows, IL
Vehicle:
'07 TL-S 6MT
'07 RDX-T

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimus Prime
Disagree. UTEC is a piggyback system interfacing with the stock ECU, whereas EcuTek reprograms the stock ECU and let's it calculate the rest. If this setup were on an IS300, the UTEC would work for about a week before the IS300s ECU would starteto compensate for the UTEC and cause a lot of problems (yes, IS300 ECUs are that sucky/smart). I'd rather have ONE system/processor handling my engine instead of using an external device that interfaces/interferes with a stock computer to make it work right.

I would however like a MAFless EcuTek.

But back on subject, if I were the original poster, I would get an EcuTek tune, and leave the UTEC in there so you could use a race gas map...and if you ever wanted to go MAFless.
i dont think you really understand how the utec works.

assuming OLF enabled-
the UTEC fires the injectors. not the stock ecu. the UTEC takes the stock input and either modifies it (idle/below TPS x-over), or just ignores the stock signal and fires it itself (OLF).

the UTEC has its own ignition drivers. the UTEC takes the stock input and either leaves it unchanged (idle/below TPS x-over), or just ignored the stock signal and sends the signal itself (over TPS x-over, or modified 0 column).

there are many benefits to having everything central (ie- a reflash), but dont underestimate the UTECs power and flexibility. unless in the case of a bug in the software (or a physical limitation), an engine blown up by a UTEC was/is/always has been a tuning error.

your statements are true in regards to an SAFC or an e-manage, however. the utec...is a different beast.
happasaiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:36 AM   #18
happasaiyan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37731
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Rolling Meadows, IL
Vehicle:
'07 TL-S 6MT
'07 RDX-T

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMadScientist
Are you saying you are going to release a MAFT for the subaru?
Sorry for the hijack.

TMS
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...66#post9671866

i dont know if you saw this, TMS...but its all the benefits of the MAF, with most of the benefits of MAP...
happasaiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 12:20 PM   #19
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happasaiyan
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...66#post9671866

i dont know if you saw this, TMS...but its all the benefits of the MAF, with most of the benefits of MAP...
I had not seen that yet. I have seen some of the DSM guys do that. First subaru that I have seen trying a blow through.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 01:40 PM   #20
Optimus Prime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69847
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cybertron
Vehicle:
2010 Evolution X

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowblow
That is why you get a Hydra or AEM EMS...
No, cause then you lose OBDII and can not pass emissions.
Optimus Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 01:42 PM   #21
Optimus Prime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69847
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cybertron
Vehicle:
2010 Evolution X

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happasaiyan
i dont think you really understand how the utec works.

assuming OLF enabled-
the UTEC fires the injectors. not the stock ecu. the UTEC takes the stock input and either modifies it (idle/below TPS x-over), or just ignores the stock signal and fires it itself (OLF).

the UTEC has its own ignition drivers. the UTEC takes the stock input and either leaves it unchanged (idle/below TPS x-over), or just ignored the stock signal and sends the signal itself (over TPS x-over, or modified 0 column).

there are many benefits to having everything central (ie- a reflash), but dont underestimate the UTECs power and flexibility. unless in the case of a bug in the software (or a physical limitation), an engine blown up by a UTEC was/is/always has been a tuning error.

your statements are true in regards to an SAFC or an e-manage, however. the utec...is a different beast.
I wasn't aware that the UTEC was actually directly connected in that way. Sorry about that. I do think though that if you have UTEC already and you want EcuTek, keeping both is a good idea.

Now whats this about the MAFless MAF Mr. FullThrottle!?
Optimus Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 01:55 PM   #22
lowblow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56902
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mid Maryland
Vehicle:
2009 VW Jetta SE

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimus Prime
No, cause then you lose OBDII and can not pass emissions.
There is a fix for that, but I can't find where I read the info about maintaining a signal at the OBDII port just for emissions purposes...I'll see if I can find it.
lowblow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2005, 10:45 AM   #23
forgedSTi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89210
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Mid-A
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza WRX STi
Pearl White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowblow
There is a fix for that, but I can't find where I read the info about maintaining a signal at the OBDII port just for emissions purposes...I'll see if I can find it.
you can't find it because it doesn't exist. The fix is to put your stock ecu back in for the emissions test.
forgedSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2005, 03:36 PM   #24
titsataki
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4402
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: New Haven, Connecticut
Vehicle:
2009 Outback XT
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimus Prime

......

But back on subject, if I were the original poster, I would get an EcuTek tune, and leave the UTEC in there so you could use a race gas map...and if you ever wanted to go MAFless.

This was my idea until I tried to tune my ECUTEC while I had my UTEC on Map 0. I thought it was a passthrough position but it is not so. Read on.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=821552



Cheers

Nick
titsataki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2005, 07:53 PM   #25
Focus4
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 20107
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Northern NJ
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

If you still have it, throw the little plastic ECU cover back on. I forgot to put mine back on, and haven't noticed any ill-effects, but someone said they had drippage on theirs during the hot summer months... don't know how that got there but if you have it you might as well throw it back on...



Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimus Prime
No, cause then you lose OBDII and can not pass emissions.
give them 2 $20's and you'll pass
Focus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Me+ takeing my UTEC off= 7 codes bluimpreza00 Engine Management & Tuning 3 11-07-2003 08:42 AM
Hakkinen to take year off... WRXSTI? Motorsports 3 11-01-2001 07:31 PM
Suzuki Takes Wraps Off WRC Contender Dirt Man Motorsports 6 10-27-2001 11:52 PM
How do I take it off? ashtaron14 Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 1 06-09-2001 11:22 PM
Warning: don't take parts off of crashed scoobies! delectron Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 17 10-18-2000 05:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.