Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2014, 02:17 PM   #1
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default 8-12 port home switch with 10Gig-E uplink(s)?

I can't seem to find any switches with 10GigE uplinks that aren't 24-48-port noisy rackmount things.

Anyone aware of smaller home/lab-sized switches that might have one or two faster uplinks?

Thanks,

-- Dave
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 02:21 PM   #2
sebtarta
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82883
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 3rd Planet
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i Wagon
'72 Nova Turns & Stops

Default

why the eff do you want 10GBe at home, but here

http://www.netgear.com/business/prod...us-switch.aspx
sebtarta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 02:24 PM   #3
Davemeister
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86577
Join Date: May 2005
Location: D1cKSh0Tz [ON] OFF
Vehicle:
2015 Supercoolmobile
Awesome Pearl Metallic

Default

Just put 10 Gb NICs in your server and there you go, 10 Gb ethernet.
Davemeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 02:50 PM   #4
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

this kinda interests me, but looking for a rackmount 10/100/1000 switch
PARANOID56 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 02:59 PM   #5
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebtarta View Post
why the eff do you want 10GBe at home, but here

http://www.netgear.com/business/prod...us-switch.aspx
hmm, that's a bit pricy, but I did look through netgear's lineup and came across this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833122367

Thinking a server in each SFP+ port, with a few iSCSI targets hanging off the gig-e ports...

I'd really like to go all SFP+ switch-wise, but those are $2000+

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:07 PM   #6
mitch808
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10228
Join Date: Sep 2001
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRX

Default

Do you know how much 10GBe ports cost? They are texas for the home!

You're better off trunking links if you need it, and in the case of iSCSI, using MPIO.
mitch808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:16 PM   #7
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

I was thinking of putting a solarflare card in my desktop and in a server... building up FreeNAS in a VM on the server and using that to be a beefy storage target.

I think I can do it all for under $1000 and have a pretty snappy setup. I can't get more than 4 Gig-e ports into my desktop currently with only one slot left available and that would still be slower than the solarflare card.

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:21 PM   #8
blubaru703
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71380
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcquaCow View Post
I can't seem to find any switches with 10GigE uplinks that aren't 24-48-port noisy rackmount things.

Anyone aware of smaller home/lab-sized switches that might have one or two faster uplinks?

Thanks,

-- Dave
What do you need that speed for?
blubaru703 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:26 PM   #9
vapore0n
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21356
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2010 BMW 335i
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blubaru703 View Post
What do you need that speed for?
porn

Uncompressed bluray 3d porn with 7.1 audio, playing in 5 TVs at the same time.
vapore0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:41 PM   #10
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blubaru703 View Post
What do you need that speed for?
I want to build a streaming media server, but want fast access to the data from my work station so I don't have to wait forever to transfer ripped dvds/blurays to the server. I also don't want data access to/from the server to interrupt anything else.

It would be nice to rsync my backups to it faster than 50MB/sec too.
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:41 PM   #11
mitch808
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10228
Join Date: Sep 2001
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcquaCow View Post
I was thinking of putting a solarflare card in my desktop and in a server... building up FreeNAS in a VM on the server and using that to be a beefy storage target.

I think I can do it all for under $1000 and have a pretty snappy setup. I can't get more than 4 Gig-e ports into my desktop currently with only one slot left available and that would still be slower than the solarflare card.

-- Dave
No one in the Enterprise is using that. They use Intel or Brocade NIC's. New Interl motherboards have 10GbE-BaseT built onboard too for both desktops and servers.

A quad port MPIO trunk or LACP trunk is plenty fast.
mitch808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:55 PM   #12
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch808 View Post
No one in the Enterprise is using that. They use Intel or Brocade NIC's. New Interl motherboards have 10GbE-BaseT built onboard too for both desktops and servers.

A quad port MPIO trunk or LACP trunk is plenty fast.
Lots of folks are using solarflare cards... mellanox too.

If I go with two quad port cards, then I have to get a managed 8+port switch that supports 4-port trunking which will possibly still be more expensive and slower than a switch with a few SFP+ ports on it.

I'll have to look at that switch pricing...
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:56 PM   #13
blubaru703
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71380
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcquaCow View Post
I want to build a streaming media server, but want fast access to the data from my work station so I don't have to wait forever to transfer ripped dvds/blurays to the server. I also don't want data access to/from the server to interrupt anything else.

It would be nice to rsync my backups to it faster than 50MB/sec too.
Why not just use a Catalyst 2950 or something like that? They're cheap, have at least 2 gig ports. You'll have some redundancy.
blubaru703 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 04:23 PM   #14
dwx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8343
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
2005 2012 Jeep
2013 DGM BRZ

Default

The SolarFlare NICs are mainly used in high frequency trading and high-performance computing applications using Ethernet. No one interested in low latency is using 10GBaseT.

Unless you have some specialized applications or lots of clients I don't see 10G getting you much.

Take a look at the generic Chinese reference design switches from Pica8, Quanta, etc. like this one:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Quanta-LB4M-...item3f2bd7d24a
dwx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 04:27 PM   #15
Amplified2000
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86389
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Vehicle:
2012 HyundaiVeloster
Blue with salt accents

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcquaCow View Post
I want to build a streaming media server, but want fast access to the data from my work station so I don't have to wait forever to transfer ripped dvds/blurays to the server. I also don't want data access to/from the server to interrupt anything else.

It would be nice to rsync my backups to it faster than 50MB/sec too.
I can't even come close to saturating GigE when writing to my UnRaid and I'm using a SSD Cache drive that moves to the platter disks once a day. Seems like a lot of trouble and money for diminishing returns.
Amplified2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 04:30 PM   #16
ptirmal
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82243
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly
Vehicle:
07' Acura TL-S
11' Ducati Monster 796

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcquaCow View Post
I want to build a streaming media server, but want fast access to the data from my work station so I don't have to wait forever to transfer ripped dvds/blurays to the server. I also don't want data access to/from the server to interrupt anything else.

It would be nice to rsync my backups to it faster than 50MB/sec too.


Why would you transfer rips, why wouldn't you just rip directly to it?
ptirmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 04:44 PM   #17
Davemeister
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86577
Join Date: May 2005
Location: D1cKSh0Tz [ON] OFF
Vehicle:
2015 Supercoolmobile
Awesome Pearl Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcquaCow View Post
It would be nice to rsync my backups to it faster than 50MB/sec too.
Yeah if you're getting 50 MB/second now, and you upgrade to 10 GB ethernet, you should get like... 50 MB/second.
Davemeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 04:50 PM   #18
mitch808
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10228
Join Date: Sep 2001
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRX

Default

Good GigE should get around 80-90MB/s. assuming some packet tuning. Thats plenty.
mitch808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 04:53 PM   #19
Amplified2000
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86389
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Vehicle:
2012 HyundaiVeloster
Blue with salt accents

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch808 View Post
Good GigE should get around 80-90MB/s. assuming some packet tuning. Thats plenty.
That is what I get writing to the SSD in my UnRaid box.
Amplified2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 05:22 PM   #20
Davemeister
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86577
Join Date: May 2005
Location: D1cKSh0Tz [ON] OFF
Vehicle:
2015 Supercoolmobile
Awesome Pearl Metallic

Default

That's what I get writing to my Windows FakeRAID(tm).
Davemeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 10:21 PM   #21
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davemeister View Post
Yeah if you're getting 50 MB/second now, and you upgrade to 10 GB ethernet, you should get like... 50 MB/second.
50 is just kind of an average.

I just did an actual test reading/writing between local flash and my 3 current NASs.

ix200: 20MB/sec Read, 25MB/sec write (I think it's dying due to bad seagate drives)
DS212j: 76MB/sec Read, 43MB/sec write (two WD Red 3TB in raid 1)
DS213: 97MB/sec Read, 65MB/sec write (two WD Red 3TB in raid 1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch808 View Post
Good GigE should get around 80-90MB/s. assuming some packet tuning. Thats plenty.
I can do that for the most part, but would like to be pushing a lot more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amplified2000 View Post
That is what I get writing to the SSD in my UnRaid box.
I used to run a Lime box ages ago... how is that stuff doing these days?
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 11:08 PM   #22
Amplified2000
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86389
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Vehicle:
2012 HyundaiVeloster
Blue with salt accents

Default

It does what I need it to.. Minimal amount of redundancy (but can survive a single drive failure), maximum amount of storage in a nice slim package that will run on just about anything.

I don't need a ton of redundancy for a media server so it works good for me.
Amplified2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 11:21 PM   #23
dr_wheel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60106
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Pennsyltucky
Vehicle:
I eat pieces of
** like you for breakfast

Default

I guess I'm still missing the part where you need 10gbe. If you really have a boner for throughput you aren't going to use, why not just use link aggregation and save yourself an ass-ton of money?
dr_wheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 11:22 PM   #24
lag
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34631
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: do you know what it is
Vehicle:
to live in fear

Default

pretty sure the cisco 3650-e don't have fans... or never noticed any noise from them.
lag is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 11:53 PM   #25
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_wheel View Post
I guess I'm still missing the part where you need 10gbe. If you really have a boner for throughput you aren't going to use, why not just use link aggregation and save yourself an ass-ton of money?
I just hate waiting for things.

I have storage on both ends that can do 1.5GB/sec... and I'm stuck with network links that won't really break 100MB/sec.

10GigE is actually getting kinda affordable when you think about what it used to cost a few years ago...

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.