Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday April 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2005, 10:10 PM   #1
cabe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55864
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: williamsport,PA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX sedan
PSM

Default someone explain ecutek...

Hey everyone,

I recently changed my mind from getting a utec to getting an ecutek. I really have no idea how the ecutek works tho. Someone explain to me everything there is to know about this unit

I know it's a daunting task, but thank you.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
cabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:18 PM   #2
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

You take your car to a tuner, he rewrites the programming on your computer with EcuTek coding and tunes it. You get more power, and the tuner gets 6-7 hundred dollars .
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:44 PM   #3
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Your stock ECU is an order of magnitude more sophisticated than any affordable (i.e. less than $3K) standalone or piggyback ECU package. EcuTeK tuning permits changes to some tables the stock ECU uses for spark advance, fuel injection, and boost control.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:50 PM   #4
XtianLA
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29958
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: LA area touge
Vehicle:
03 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon [in CT]
Your stock ECU is an order of magnitude more sophisticated than any affordable (i.e. less than $3K) standalone or piggyback ECU package. EcuTeK tuning permits changes to some tables the stock ECU uses for spark advance, fuel injection, and boost control.
That about sums it up....
XtianLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:53 PM   #5
ranger5oh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77752
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St Louis
Vehicle:
5Sti 2005 Sti
OBP

Default

Buy an Accessport and Street Tuner... save yourself money in the long run and learn the intricate details of tuning
ranger5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 04:02 AM   #6
bboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56468
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
04 Improved STI
Dirty White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger5oh
Buy an Accessport and Street Tuner... save yourself money in the long run and learn the intricate details of tuning
I'd take a EcuTek custom tune over an off the shelf AP from Cobb any day of week.

Jon of CT is right, the stock ECU is very sophisticated, almost too sophisticated for the average car owner, would be tuner. There are so many correction tables you can get lost in them. In the right hands, any EM can enhance your car's performance. They are all just tools for tuning. The advantage of the EcuTek is you preserve many of the stock mappings, and functions, while being able to tune the parts you want to.

UTEC does the samething, but by "intercepting" the signals from the stock ECU and sending out a modified signal. Now I can't say whether that is a good approach or not, but a lot of people have tuned their cars with UTEC very successfully. I'll go out on a limb and say that the UTEC requires more user involvement than a "reflash" a la EcuTek or Cobb, but less involvement than a standalone (all though the Element Tuning Hydra comes damn close to no user input).

I like the EcuTek solution a lot mainly becuase it is sophisticated, and it can be custom tuned in many locations around the country. The Cobb Accessport is just as sophisticated, but for now you are still dealing with Cobb's tuning--which in my opinion is pretty crude/conservative/questionable. Cobb's Street Tuner/Pro Tuner may change that by allowing others to tune with the AP, but it's not happened yet.

I like PDX Tuning in Portland, OR for the EcuTek reflashes, but there a lots of good tuners that use that tool.
bboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 10:01 AM   #7
cabe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55864
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: williamsport,PA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX sedan
PSM

Default

Eww no, I don't want a cobb. No offense, I've thought about it and everything, but I do not trust myself AT ALL tuning my car on my own. So, the street tuner is out of the question. On the other hand, I don't want the crude tune of just the accessport. As someone said in a thread a few weeks ago, it's dangerous at best. That's where the ecutek comes in. A professional can tune my car for me, so I'll get a lot better tune than I would with an accessport, all for 300 dollars cheaper than accessport+street tuner.

At any rate, the ecutek isn't actually a unit I will be able to hold in my hands? What is the deal with that data logging thing that goes in the clock space? Where can I get that?
cabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 11:05 AM   #8
MikeWRX-NJ
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33410
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: wishing i was somewhere else
Vehicle:
08 wrx
dgm

Default

$650 for the ecutek license + dyno/tuning time... yea MUCH cheaper than AP + ST

i do agree that if you don't want to learn tuning a custom reflash is the best to get the most power out of the car.

however saying an AP is dangerous at best is about as far from the truth as you can get.

The dashboard display for ecutek is a repackaged PSI unit with built-in ability to adjust the realtime timing parameters, boost,timing,OLF percentages. That thing can be had from mastrowrx.com for a cool $735. or get deltadash for $350 and do it on a laptop.
MikeWRX-NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 11:05 AM   #9
Optimus Prime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69847
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cybertron
Vehicle:
2010 Evolution X

Default

If you have an EcuTek tuned at Tuner A, can you bring it to Tuner B to have him tune Tuner A's map?
Optimus Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 11:19 AM   #10
UM-WRXer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44623
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Geneva, CH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimus Prime
If you have an EcuTek tuned at Tuner A, can you bring it to Tuner B to have him tune Tuner A's map?
Yep as long as you ecu has a ECUtek lisence you can bring it to any ecutek dealer for a reflash or a dyno tune.
UM-WRXer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 12:01 PM   #11
Balr14
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 84809
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Germantown, WI.
Vehicle:
2005 Forester XT
Black

Default

The disadvantage of AccessPort is it's only good for standard configurations. After that, you need the Access Tuner. Then, it's basically trial and error and some of those errors can be very expensive. I'd sooner send my ECU off to Vishnu and pay the $650 for a good reflash. After the first one, subsequent ones are only $100 each.
Balr14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 11:31 PM   #12
wannaberacing
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33919
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: santa barbara
Vehicle:
2002 2.5l-WBR-GT30R
wbrheads-ECUtech-400whp

Default A and B

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimus Prime
If you have an EcuTek tuned at Tuner A, can you bring it to Tuner B to have him tune Tuner A's map?
No tuner B can not see tuner A's map. Tuner B has to start from scratch.
wannaberacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 11:40 AM   #13
YourMother'sLover
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 76565
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Ask me about POWDERCOATING!!!
Vehicle:
CLXX Stricta Parata
Neci!

Default

The ECUTek is basicly a stock ECU reflash. It still maintains the stock ECU's learning curve and is probably one of the safest tunes. The only problem is...it's going to cost you $600 or so everytime you start moding your car. My personal oppinion would be to get in good with a reputable tuner (Jarrad at PDX is one of the greatest guys and is willing to help in anyway he can) and get a Utec. That way, if anything ever changes....you just email him your mod list, and current map you are running and they can edit it and send it back...as opposed to having the tuner to have to physically be there.

Just my .02
YourMother'sLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 12:36 PM   #14
wrxdaddy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14164
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: 32.9765N 96.8867W
Vehicle:
02 Impreza Wgn
95 L Project in progress

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabe
Hey everyone,

I recently changed my mind from getting a utec to getting an ecutek. I really have no idea how the ecutek works tho. Someone explain to me everything there is to know about this unit

I know it's a daunting task, but thank you.
Since you already decided EcuTek go to their website and learn about it. Get first hand info about the product from the makers themselves.... I did and I suggest you do the same. I have been running EcuTek reflash for 3 years and my best advice to you like several others already mentioned is find a good and competent EcuTek tuner to custom tune your car. Keep in mind for every power making mod you add might warrant a custom retune. You may end up purchasing DeltaDash and a good wideband later on but that is another story
wrxdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 01:47 PM   #15
wannaberacing
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33919
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: santa barbara
Vehicle:
2002 2.5l-WBR-GT30R
wbrheads-ECUtech-400whp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YourMother'sLover
The ECUTek is basicly a stock ECU reflash. It still maintains the stock ECU's learning curve and is probably one of the safest tunes. The only problem is...it's going to cost you $600 or so everytime you start moding your car. My personal oppinion would be to get in good with a reputable tuner (Jarrad at PDX is one of the greatest guys and is willing to help in anyway he can) and get a Utec. That way, if anything ever changes....you just email him your mod list, and current map you are running and they can edit it and send it back...as opposed to having the tuner to have to physically be there.

Just my .02
The only cost you will get from retuning any new mods is the tuners time. There is no reflash fee, at least I don't charge one. Once the maf sensor is dialed in retuning is cake. Should only be 100.00 , it depends on how much your mods change. Particulaly intake.
Dave
wannaberacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 01:52 PM   #16
wannaberacing
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33919
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: santa barbara
Vehicle:
2002 2.5l-WBR-GT30R
wbrheads-ECUtech-400whp

Default

If you have your car tuned via email, your asking for mucho headaches. Unless you can see the A/F values real time, and the knock values real time, your tune is suspect. However, if the tune is really safe, (no Power), the email route is OK, you won't hurt your car. You will not get the safest, quailty tune, that you could get for your money if is not done live.
Dave
wannaberacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 02:13 PM   #17
cabe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55864
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: williamsport,PA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX sedan
PSM

Default

Every time I talk about em I get so confused
cabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 02:22 PM   #18
wrxdaddy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14164
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: 32.9765N 96.8867W
Vehicle:
02 Impreza Wgn
95 L Project in progress

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannaberacing
.... Unless you can see the A/F values real time, and the knock values real time, your tune is suspect.
Dave
Main reason why I bought DeltaDash and LM-1

These are the tools I depend on when it is time to call my tuner
wrxdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 02:30 PM   #19
wannaberacing
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33919
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: santa barbara
Vehicle:
2002 2.5l-WBR-GT30R
wbrheads-ECUtech-400whp

Default

It's always good to double check what is done to your car. "^"
wannaberacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 05:38 PM   #20
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabe
Every time I talk about em I get so confused
Just go to an ECUtek tuner with your car, tell them what you have, and all will be well.... Doesn't have to be a headache.. It is only a headache if you insist on self-tuning.
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 05:43 PM   #21
cabe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55864
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: williamsport,PA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX sedan
PSM

Default

^^Which I definitely do not.
cabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2005, 01:44 PM   #22
EVOTHIS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66822
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

i heard an ecutek wont knock is this right? My utec knocked alot and i didnt like it?
EVOTHIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2005, 01:46 PM   #23
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Any EM can knock. Its a matter of your tune, not the EM.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2005, 11:36 PM   #24
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EVOTHIS
i heard an ecutek wont knock is this right? My utec knocked alot and i didnt like it?
That is because of the fixed parameters that UTEC runs. It makes for really consistent power, but that can sometimes mean running into det on some days or on some tanks of gas. It all depepnds on how tuning was done though. With conservative tuning though, it isn't a massive issue from what i have read.

With the ecu running things, it is constantly learning where the car is det-prone, and can make more power and can make changes to the map itself to keep det away or to give more power where it can be safely had without detonation.
Issue with this though is that some days, the car may feel slower, while on others, it feels faster. Makes sense to me though, since weather conditions change all the time. The ECu is always trying to maximize the power for the conditions. Some conditions (hot muggy days) are not conducive to making power, while other cool days are.
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 01:19 PM   #25
dcwrx2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69005
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
'04 4EAT Wgn
WRB

Default

How about CL/OL delay issues, and eliminate desired CELs just like AP? Would Ecutek be able to do that too?

For 4eat WRX, any special things to keep in mind when using Ecutek? Currently I'm using AP but don't like the off-the-web maps, and ProTuner will exceed my budget.
dcwrx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can someone explain if I have problems with my transmision S-WRX Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 6 09-05-2001 06:03 PM
Can someone explain base reducing filters too me? Cjchaps Car Audio, Video & Security 9 08-29-2001 02:18 PM
can someone explain offset? bluperlrex Brakes, Steering & Suspension 6 08-28-2001 01:34 AM
Can someone explain.. TerenceT Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 0 08-25-2001 03:54 PM
Can someone explain exacltly what this means? (DMV code) Andrew Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 3 05-15-2001 11:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.