Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday November 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2005, 11:16 PM   #1
breathinez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79859
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro, N.C.
Vehicle:
2002 384 whp
332.5 lbs

Default Cobb AP installation, what the **** am I doing wrong?

Got my AP in today figured I would go ahead and install this thing to my ECU. Read over the directions connected the two green plugs together and used the supplied blue plug and connected it with a whitish, clear plug. I then plug the AP into the port under the steering wheel and everything comes on and looks normal. I choose a map, stage 1 93 oct. press ok. Then I'm prompted to turn off car fully and turn back on and press ok. I do this and when i turn the car back on I hear some clicks and things I press ok and get an ERROR message. I can not get this thing to flash my computer. I've done everything it has asked and followed all directions. This thing want work. What the ****! I'm so aggrevated right now I'm bought ready to sling this thing.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
breathinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 11:25 PM   #2
jimmyd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38766
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampabay, FL.
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Are you sure that you ordered or were shipped the right AP for you model year? What year and modle is your car? I'm assuming you bought the AP new from Cobb is that correct?
Jimmyd
jimmyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 11:40 PM   #3
breathinez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79859
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro, N.C.
Vehicle:
2002 384 whp
332.5 lbs

Default

I have a 2002 WRX. I purchased it from Fine Line Imports. Supposed to be brand new. Looks brand new. I don't understand what it might be. Can some one walk me through the install. I mean I don't think I'm doing anything wrong but who knows.
breathinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:04 AM   #4
brandon_bxtr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78255
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Akron, OH
Vehicle:
2015 STi
Crystal White Pearl

Default

I can try to walk you through this. I just went through it myself. When you looked under the steering column, were the green plugs already plugged into eachother?
brandon_bxtr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:17 AM   #5
breathinez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79859
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro, N.C.
Vehicle:
2002 384 whp
332.5 lbs

Default

No they were disconnected.
breathinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:18 AM   #6
dcwrx2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69005
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
'04 4EAT Wgn
WRB

Default

Try this:
1) Try not to insert the key at all when you connect the test connectors and initialization connector. Connect the "AP <-> DiagPort" cable to the AP and the DiagPort now. AP should be powered on without key inserted.
2) When you see "Please select a map to flash...." message, press OK button. Select a map now.
3) When you see "Turn off car fully and back on..." message, count 3 seconds, AND THEN insert the key, and turn in ON position. You should hear the radiator fan on and off, and some cycling noise (fuel pump cycling?)
4) From last step after you inserted the key and turn to ON position, count ANOTHER 5 seconds, and then press the OK button.
Cobb says we probably need to wait couple seconds between each step to let ECU "warm-up" or something like that. If you press the "OK" button too quick, it will give Error Message.
dcwrx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:20 AM   #7
breathinez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79859
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro, N.C.
Vehicle:
2002 384 whp
332.5 lbs

Default

OK I'll try that be back in a few min.
breathinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:25 AM   #8
brandon_bxtr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78255
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Akron, OH
Vehicle:
2015 STi
Crystal White Pearl

Default

Good reply dcwrx2. I thought maybe he was having the same trouble that I had. When I tried to run my Accessport, my green test connectors were already connected. It turns out, the dealership that PDI'd the car when it came off the truck took a short cut. They connected the test connectors under the steering column instead of the ones in the panel in the front passenger compartment. I guess they did it to save time.
brandon_bxtr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:39 AM   #9
breathinez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79859
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro, N.C.
Vehicle:
2002 384 whp
332.5 lbs

Default

Didn't work. Still says error to try again. I'm gonna have to sleep on this one. This is soooo aggrevating. I have all this stuff to install on my car ,Invidia up/down and exhaust , and the easiest thing will not even work. Is there anythin else that could be connected that shouldn't be? There are two small wires close to those green plugs. They are black witha red stripe. They were taped out of the way but had little metalends on them as if to plug into something. I don't know maybe you guys can give me some more input and I'll check back in the morning at work. Thanks guys for jumping on this so quick. I really appretiate it.
breathinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:50 AM   #10
MD04WRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 72891
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: In the blue & hating it!
Vehicle:
2014 Molten ST
98 2.5GT -2014 XV

Subaru Banner

Are you sure your turning the key to the on position and not the acc position?
MD04WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:53 AM   #11
brandon_bxtr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78255
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Akron, OH
Vehicle:
2015 STi
Crystal White Pearl

Default

Was the whitish plug taped to a coil of wires? Did you kind of have to pull the white plug away from some other wires in order to put the blue connector on? I know you probably already checked yourself twice, but this happened to me. Good luck, I'll try to help you tomorrow. Make sure that you contact Cobb in the morning.
brandon_bxtr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 01:09 AM   #12
zorgof19
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64276
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Windsor, Colorado
Vehicle:
2005 05 LGT, 2.5RS
silver

Default

I had the same problem,but with my 04. It turns out that Cobb sent the wrong cable. There is a difference between 02/03, and the 04 cables. Might give them a call, they fixed me right up.
zorgof19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 09:15 AM   #13
breathinez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79859
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro, N.C.
Vehicle:
2002 384 whp
332.5 lbs

Default

My check engine light is blinking now real fast don't know what that is but it didn't seem to drive any diff. this morning on the way to work. Gonna call Cobb in a little bit wait for them to open up.
breathinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 10:57 AM   #14
shinsain
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51745
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Wenatchee...WA
Vehicle:
LIKE A
BOSS

Default

And you're SURE you got the right model year???

Check on the side of the box it came in, it will say right there which model year its for.....

Aaron
shinsain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:25 PM   #15
makeitlookeasy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78018
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Gig Harbor
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Green PPG
Aspen White

Default

I had the same issue last week. Make sure you go all the way to on position not acc. Just like what MD04WRX said. I got the error message too.
makeitlookeasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:32 PM   #16
MikeWRX-NJ
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33410
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: wishing i was somewhere else
Vehicle:
08 wrx
dgm

Default

i had the same issue. I was leaving the car on too long before starting the flash. if the fans came on, it was too long.

what i did:
1) take the key out of the car.
2) connect the greenies and the supplied connector.
3) connect the AP
4) when the ap tells you to turn the car fully off and on, do it and bring the key to ignition.
5) hit ok to start flashing, don't wait for the fans or the FP to cycle.

worked for me.
MikeWRX-NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:59 PM   #17
Valhakar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39514
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Avondale, AZ
Vehicle:
2003 WRX 2.5L Hybrid
Mostly Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by breathinez
My check engine light is blinking now real fast don't know what that is but it didn't seem to drive any diff. this morning on the way to work. Gonna call Cobb in a little bit wait for them to open up.
Your green plugs are sill connected Sparky.

You need to slow down and stop skipping steps. Stop mainlining the Redbull and relax a little. It should work if you follow the steps exactly.
Valhakar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 01:14 PM   #18
breathinez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79859
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro, N.C.
Vehicle:
2002 384 whp
332.5 lbs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valhakar
Your green plugs are sill connected Sparky.

You need to slow down and stop skipping steps. Stop mainlining the Redbull and relax a little. It should work if you follow the steps exactly.

I'm not skipping steps and the green plugs were disconnected. The engine light went off after I tried to initilaize the AP at work. But still nothing. I called and talked to Parker at Cobb and he walked me through a few things and still nothing. He told me to try one last thing before I send it back to them to get it checked out. He said to reset the ecu by disconnecting the negative on the battery, holding down the brake for a few seconds and let the car sit for approx. 1/2 hr and then try to set it up once more. I've got about 20 more min. then try again. Crossed fingers.
breathinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 01:26 PM   #19
dcwrx2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69005
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
'04 4EAT Wgn
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeWRX-NJ
i had the same issue. I was leaving the car on too long before starting the flash. if the fans came on, it was too long.

what i did:
1) take the key out of the car.
2) connect the greenies and the supplied connector.
3) connect the AP
4) when the ap tells you to turn the car fully off and on, do it and bring the key to ignition.
5) hit ok to start flashing, don't wait for the fans or the FP to cycle.

worked for me.
Actually, the fans come on just indicate your car is in "test/debugg/whatever mode", the fans will keep on and off periodically if you don't do anything else. Once you start flashing, the fan will stay off.
Your 4): Is it really ignition or ON position? Anyway, it's the position where the gauge cluster lights up (but don't starting the engine)
Your 5): I waited 5 seconds for fans and FP to cycle, then reflash. It worked for my 2004. =)
dcwrx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 01:55 PM   #20
FPO45
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43207
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 617/781, by way of the 808
Vehicle:
MY02 WRX
Paint Damaged MBP

Default

breathinez, I'm having the same problems you are. Your story is identical to mine. I called Cobb and Parker gave me the same run-through he described to you. The end result was the same, no dice. I also purchased my AP from Ryan at Fine Line Imports. PM me so we can discuss.

Is anyone else having this same problem, with an AP purchased from Fine Line on an 02 WRX?
FPO45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 02:43 PM   #21
breathinez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79859
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro, N.C.
Vehicle:
2002 384 whp
332.5 lbs

Default

pm sent
breathinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 03:10 PM   #22
Fine Line Imports
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 81166
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Rosa California
Vehicle:
2008 Forester
silver

Default

Hi guys
All the access ports we sent out to you guys are brand spanking new. If you have having problems with them please let me know. I will do my best to take care of them for you. Please call me at the shop at 707-525-1536 if you have any problems. Im talking with cobb right now to try and determin what the problem is.
Ryan
Fine Line Imports
Fine Line Imports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 03:47 PM   #23
Pappa Grande
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 7861
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ
Default

Just to check - are you turning the key to the on position or are you actually starting the car?
Pappa Grande is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 04:34 PM   #24
breathinez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79859
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro, N.C.
Vehicle:
2002 384 whp
332.5 lbs

Default

I am turning the ignition to on but not starting the car. I appretiate the phone call Ryan and I don't think its your fault. Maybe just some bad equipment. I'll try to mess with it some more this weekend and then send it in Monday morning back to Cobb.
breathinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 08:23 PM   #25
breathinez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79859
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro, N.C.
Vehicle:
2002 384 whp
332.5 lbs

Default

Talked to Ryan again at Fine Line and we tried over the phone to fix this problem but seems they may have got a bad batch. The AP goes back to Cobb either Sat. or Monday. Then Ryan will send me another AP first of the week. I appretiate everyones help and Ryan at Fine Line is "Good People"
Customer service is excellant.
breathinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what am i doing wrong with my ap v 1 traser AccessPort 7 03-09-2008 09:50 PM
sweat soldering...what the hell am I doing wrong. lotusdrift Off-Topic 22 10-04-2006 01:58 AM
What the hell am I doing here? El Camino Off-Topic 17 01-14-2006 03:01 PM
What the hell am I doing wrong??? Advice please!! rossscarbro General Community 14 09-24-2003 06:00 PM
What the h@*! am I doing wrong.... Rubasu Technical Forum Archive 4 10-05-2000 02:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.