Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2013, 11:54 AM   #1
Ryan25i
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241176
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Dakota
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Limited
UGM

Default Tactrix or Torque?

Here's the thing, I want to start data logging so I can flash my ecu to a better map to fix the OEM map so I have better throttle response and a little better gas mileage (drive by wire).

Which of the two is the best to data log: Tactrix 2.0 or the Android Torque app? Obviously the Toque app gives me gauges, which I would run on my phone with a dash mount but there isn't exactly a whole lot I would need to monitor while driving since I have no turbo. The Tactrix cable is a little more expensive but seems more practical for what I'm trying to do but I wouldn't have the gauges.

Which have you guys used for data logging and which of these two would you recommend?

Thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Ryan25i is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:11 PM   #2
JonnyV2889
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 197384
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MWV NH
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Ltd
OBP

Default

Just wondering how you plan on flashing your ecu w/o a tactrix or AP?
JonnyV2889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:14 PM   #3
Ryan25i
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241176
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Dakota
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Limited
UGM

Default

From what I read you can data log with the Torque app but I guess I overlooked the flashing part. I got my answer then.
Ryan25i is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:16 PM   #4
Speedy Claxton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 256284
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: 'Murica
Vehicle:
07 stage 2 STi
ewg & Phatron tuned

Default

Do you have a laptop? If so get Openport 2.0 and romraider. Will the romraider program and a laptop you have all the monitors and gauges you need. You say you want to log and flash maps and you can't do that with a phone.
Speedy Claxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:20 PM   #5
Ryan25i
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241176
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Dakota
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Limited
UGM

Default

Can't flash with a phone but I read you can at least log with a phone. I was planning on logging with the Torque app then loading that on to my computer but I overlooked the flash process.
Ryan25i is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:44 PM   #6
MercRising
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 322055
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

look a closer, aren't most of those phone apps dependent on a Bluetooth transmitter that you have to buy for the same price as a Tactrix cable?? http://torque-bhp.com/wiki/Bluetooth_Adapters

I say buy the Tactrix and use RomRaider and ECU Flash...both free and tons of good DIY info out there on how to use. As for the tune, obviously pay a tuner for that rather than nuke your engine by tweaking the tables yourself......unless you're that good of course.

GL with it.
MercRising is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:49 PM   #7
Ryan25i
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241176
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Dakota
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Limited
UGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MercRising View Post
look a closer, aren't most of those phone apps dependent on a Bluetooth transmitter that you have to buy for the same price as a Tactrix cable?? http://torque-bhp.com/wiki/Bluetooth_Adapters

I say buy the Tactrix and use RomRaider and ECU Flash...both free and tons of good DIY info out there on how to use. As for the tune, obviously pay a tuner for that rather than nuke your engine by tweaking the tables yourself......unless you're that good of course.

GL with it.
Yeah I know, the Bluetooth unit for the Torque app is almost half the price of the tactrix so I was going to run that but definitely won't be able to if I can't flash the ecu.

Thanks for all the replies guys.
Ryan25i is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:59 PM   #8
ether947
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 297799
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Knoxville, TN
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

Why not both?

This BT dongle works well and it is $25. Just make sure you get the one from BAFX Products. There are a lot of knockoffs that don't function as well.
BAFX Products (TM) - PIC18F2480 Bluetooth OBD2 scan tool - For check engine light and other diagnostics - Android compatible : Amazon.com : AutomotiveBAFX Products (TM) - PIC18F2480 Bluetooth OBD2 scan tool - For check engine light and other diagnostics - Android compatible : Amazon.com : Automotive


I use Tactrix for flashing/logging new maps. Torque/BT for spot monitoring, reading codes, extra gauges, etc.
ether947 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:11 PM   #9
Ryan25i
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241176
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Dakota
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Limited
UGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ether947 View Post
Why not both?

This BT dongle works well and it is $25. Just make sure you get the one from BAFX Products. There are a lot of knockoffs that don't function as well.
Video Link: http://www.amazon.com/BAFX-Products-Bluetooth-diagnostics-compatible/dp/B005NLQAHS/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

I use Tactrix for flashing/logging new maps. Torque/BT for spot monitoring, reading codes, extra gauges, etc.
Both is what I really want but wasn't sure if it was possible. Do you run both at the same time with a splitter or swap them in and out?
Ryan25i is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:22 PM   #10
mechatricity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 290592
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
04 & 06 WRX Wagons
'15 WRX 6MT CWP ordered

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan25i View Post

Both is what I really want but wasn't sure if it was possible. Do you run both at the same time with a splitter or swap them in and out?
Just swap them In and out, I do the same.
mechatricity is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:35 PM   #11
SkullV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357798
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Torque is worthless if you are datalogging to tune. Accuracy, sample rate, PID selection, etc. etc. etc. Especially if you are running off an OBDII protocol and not SSM. Skip Torque unless you are buying it as a fun toy and go with a real datalogging suite and hardware.
SkullV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:58 PM   #12
Ryan25i
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241176
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Dakota
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Limited
UGM

Default

Torque really only appealed to me as a fun toy, I realize the gauges on Torque are not going to be as accurate as actual gauges buy it does give me an idea at least, and will be fun to play with.
Ryan25i is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:43 PM   #13
Hoon Goon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335538
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Hell on Earth
Vehicle:
2008 WRX - Hatch
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan25i View Post
Torque really only appealed to me as a fun toy, I realize the gauges on Torque are not going to be as accurate as actual gauges buy it does give me an idea at least, and will be fun to play with.
And much cheaper than upgrading to AP V3 for all the fun gauging stuff. I also like that torque pro has 4 separate screens to set up with different gauge layouts .
Hoon Goon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 01:20 PM   #14
Ryan25i
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241176
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Dakota
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Limited
UGM

Default

Just so you guys know I went with both. I bought the Bluetooth adapter to run Torque so I could see what my boost levels were at, then I bought a Tactrix cable and have since bought an e-tune from Steve at Pullz-on Tuning. He gave me a stage 2 map which we are still working on dialing in. Power is definitely more consistent and comes on sooner, I'm really excited to see what else Steve can do.
Ryan25i is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 09:19 PM   #15
joshuajayg
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 323310
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: The desert
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

I found that the OBD II bluetooth adapter is pretty well useless. I have an '02 WRX so my ECU is slower in talking to the OBD device anyway. I purchased the OBDLink MX which is the fastest on the market before I realized how slow my ECU talks to it in the ISO9141-2 protocol (I think that's right) and they don't support SSM. Tactrix only.

Joshua
joshuajayg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 06:23 PM   #16
CriticalityEvent
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 281670
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicagoland
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullV View Post
Torque is worthless if you are datalogging to tune. Accuracy, sample rate, PID selection, etc. etc. etc. Especially if you are running off an OBDII protocol and not SSM. Skip Torque unless you are buying it as a fun toy and go with a real datalogging suite and hardware.
I'm curious, what is a good sampling rate for logging if you're just looking to diagnose problems? On the Torque forum, some people are able to get up to 30 samples/second using cheap Bluetooth OBD-II dongles. Granted, this only seems to be on newer (08+) vehicles with the CAN (ISO 15765-4) standard, and they have to cut down on the number of PIDs being logged, but if you're only looking to track one or two parameters, is this still useful?

I've seen other threads here where people mention the sampling rate not being high enough to detect spikes in things like boost pressure. Would the Tactrix detect this? How fast does it sample?
CriticalityEvent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 04:27 PM   #17
dawkins20
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 267415
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default

I had this question as well. What kind of sampling rate can Torque and the above BT adapter do when logging 3-5 basic parameters, like Boost. AFR, Knock,
dawkins20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 12:57 PM   #18
mikeyPSF
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 236475
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Default

I can't speak to the speed of the Torque application, although I do want to give that a try soon. If you really need to log at a high resolution, it's going to be hard to beat the Tactrix logging because it's done at the hardware level so doesn't depend on software running on your laptop. In particular if you need a couple of parameters to log very quickly, you can group the less critical parameters in something called a sample group and they will log at a fraction of the speed of the parameters you most care about. We're going to put together a more comprehensive tutorial soon, but when you install EcuFlash there is a samples directory, usually found under this directory location if you accept the default values during installation:

C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenECU\EcuFlash\samples\logging

in particular the following file probably has the most involved examples

subaru k-line adc lc1.txt
mikeyPSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.