Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday April 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2007, 07:53 AM   #626
jruben4
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 50784
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Vehicle:
2005 STi
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon [in CT] View Post
Yes, you can do this and even capture the realtime maps, if you have a 2002-5 WRX. Follow the instructions at http://forums.openecu.org/viewtopic.php?t=998.
Hmm, they removed the instructions from that post...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jruben4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 01:54 AM   #627
swiper7
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 145826
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default gnar

gnar ftw!!
swiper7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 09:41 PM   #628
sajohnson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6140
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Middletown, MD, USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 5MT Sedan
WR Blue. Cobb Stage 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rexspeedmaster View Post
I have the accessport cable and an adapter to plug it into my USB port. However when i plug everything in and turn on the car it still says the ecu is disconnected? What could be wrong? Something having to do with com porte setting i am thinking?
rexspeedmaster:

Did you ever get an answer?

I'm hoping to do the same thing. I have the first generation Cobb AP cable with the serial connector and a Keyspan serial>USB adapter that I know works for programming my digital scanner (apparently some adapters don't). The Keyspan is supposed to be one of the better adapters, IIRC.

I'll admit I couldn't force myself to read all 20+ pages in this thread, but from what I did read, it seemed that some people were able to get the AP cable with a serial>USB adapter to work, and others weren't so lucky.

I'll buy the tactrix cable if I have to but I'd just as soon save the $100. All I want to do at this point is data logging.

rexspeedmaster or anyone else have any experience using the 1rst gen AP cable? Were you able to get it to work? Does it seem to depend on what software you're using?

Second question:

Is there any consensus on what is the best data logging software?

Is it a case of 'you get what you pay for' or is the free software just as good?
sajohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 09:50 PM   #629
jruben4
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 50784
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Vehicle:
2005 STi
WRB

Default

I had good luck with the 1st gen AP cable and the *radio shack* serial->usb converter. I think ecuExplorer may only recognize certain usb cables.
jruben4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 09:59 PM   #630
sajohnson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6140
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Middletown, MD, USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 5MT Sedan
WR Blue. Cobb Stage 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jruben4 View Post
I had good luck with the 1st gen AP cable and the *radio shack* serial->usb converter. I think ecuExplorer may only recognize certain usb cables.
When you say you had good luck, were you using ECU Explorer?

[Sorry for the original post, I missed the 'I had..' at the beginning and read it as, "Good luck with..."]

Last edited by sajohnson; 05-19-2007 at 10:05 PM. Reason: Misread post, corrected reply
sajohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 12:43 AM   #631
Sinister redlines
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 120641
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Vehicle:
05 HTA3586,BB 2.5L
CGM

Default

I cant seem to get onto tari's site to download. Is it still available? Or does anyone else have it that I may download from? I need to datalog pretty bad. I dont want to tune but my tuner says I need to log whats going on (I am having trouble with my green map)
Sinister redlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 11:13 AM   #632
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinister redlines View Post
I cant seem to get onto tari's site to download. Is it still available?
His site was down for a couple of days. Try it again.

http://tari.co.za
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 11:50 AM   #633
Sinister redlines
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 120641
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Vehicle:
05 HTA3586,BB 2.5L
CGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon [in CT] View Post
His site was down for a couple of days. Try it again.

http://tari.co.za

Sweet, thanks...
Sinister redlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 03:44 PM   #634
DTwrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119275
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WA state.
Vehicle:
02 WRX
PSM, Stg. 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajohnson View Post
rexspeedmaster:

rexspeedmaster or anyone else have any experience using the 1rst gen AP cable? Were you able to get it to work? Does it seem to depend on what software you're using?

Second question:
i decided to give this a shot today and it worked for me:

- I have the V1 AP cable for my 02/03 wrx. i went to Radioshack and bought their serial-to-usb cable (~$30..could've saved some $$ online but I wasn't feeling patient today..Part Number is 26-183).

- Next I popped in the drivers cd that came with the cable and installed it.

- Connected the AP cable to my ODB-II port, connected the radioshack cable to that and to my laptop (Windows XP)

- Started up ecuExplorer and in the bottom left pane it showed the radioshack cable listed under one of the ports. Right click on this and assign it to 'SSM Diagnostics' or whatever your option is. You're all set. From there its a matter of learning the program, etc.

Keep your eyes on the road
DTwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 01:47 AM   #635
sajohnson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6140
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Middletown, MD, USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 5MT Sedan
WR Blue. Cobb Stage 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DTwrx View Post
i decided to give this a shot today and it worked for me:

- I have the V1 AP cable for my 02/03 wrx. i went to Radioshack and bought their serial-to-usb cable (~$30..could've saved some $$ online but I wasn't feeling patient today..Part Number is 26-183).

- Next I popped in the drivers cd that came with the cable and installed it.

- Connected the AP cable to my ODB-II port, connected the radioshack cable to that and to my laptop (Windows XP)

- Started up ecuExplorer and in the bottom left pane it showed the radioshack cable listed under one of the ports. Right click on this and assign it to 'SSM Diagnostics' or whatever your option is. You're all set. From there its a matter of learning the program, etc.

Keep your eyes on the road
Thank you DTwrx!
sajohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 03:05 AM   #636
DTwrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119275
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WA state.
Vehicle:
02 WRX
PSM, Stg. 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajohnson View Post
Thank you DTwrx!
No Prob.

FWIW I got Enginuity to work as well. Basically you do the same thing as above. But along with downloading Enginuity you also download the 'EcuFlash' program and install it (just for the OpenPort drivers, even if you're just logging). Connect everything, go to the logger in Enguity and hit refresh.

This is all very new to me, but I think I prefer Enginuity mostly because in ecuexplorer none of the IAM (advanced multiplier) options gave me a reading, nor did engine load..hmm.
DTwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 08:19 AM   #637
tubbytreats
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35104
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Vehicle:
02 WRX TD0518G 7cm
www.daytonsubies.com

Default

Hey folks, I've used ecuExplorer many times before with the Cobb AP cable, but I just got a new Windows Vista lappy (Core 2 Duo 2.0Ghz) and am unable to get ecuExplorer to start the logging process. I AM able to see the "live view" of data from the ECU, and am able to connect without any problems over my USB-to-Serial adapter.

I just can't get ecuExplorer to start logging...set up the "rear defog switch" option, and nothing. I even right-click in the "live data" window and choose "start/stop logging" and get nothing.

Is Vista Home Premium compatible with ecuExplorer? Your help and insight is greatly appreciated.
tubbytreats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 09:07 AM   #638
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

Hey man, ecuexplorer is dated, actually very dated at this point. You should upgrade to enginuity logger, many many many new features compared to ecuexplorer.
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 11:41 AM   #639
tubbytreats
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35104
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Vehicle:
02 WRX TD0518G 7cm
www.daytonsubies.com

Default

Jeramie - Thanks for the tip, I'm gonna try Enginuity 0.4.1b tonight to see what I get. Does Enginuity work with the AP cable though?
tubbytreats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 11:47 AM   #640
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

Yeah, works the same way ecuexplorer does. The only think you can't do with an AP cable, is flash.

I'm sure once you try enginuity you will be very happy.
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 11:57 AM   #641
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubbytreats View Post
Hey folks, I've used ecuExplorer many times before with the Cobb AP cable, but I just got a new Windows Vista lappy (Core 2 Duo 2.0Ghz) and am unable to get ecuExplorer to start the logging process. I AM able to see the "live view" of data from the ECU, and am able to connect without any problems over my USB-to-Serial adapter.

I just can't get ecuExplorer to start logging...set up the "rear defog switch" option, and nothing. I even right-click in the "live data" window and choose "start/stop logging" and get nothing.

Is Vista Home Premium compatible with ecuExplorer? Your help and insight is greatly appreciated.

Have you checked to see if the default log file location exists in vista. 2ndly when you run ecuexplorer in vista I would make sure you. .. .

"Run As Administrator"
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 03:32 PM   #642
DougG
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 58975
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: NW CT
Vehicle:
2005 WRX Premium Sed
WRB, Cobb TBE, stage 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubbytreats View Post
Hey folks, I've used ecuExplorer many times before with the Cobb AP cable, but I just got a new Windows Vista lappy (Core 2 Duo 2.0Ghz) and am unable to get ecuExplorer to start the logging process. I AM able to see the "live view" of data from the ECU, and am able to connect without any problems over my USB-to-Serial adapter.

I just can't get ecuExplorer to start logging...set up the "rear defog switch" option, and nothing. I even right-click in the "live data" window and choose "start/stop logging" and get nothing.

Is Vista Home Premium compatible with ecuExplorer? Your help and insight is greatly appreciated.
Ahhh. Be prepared to find other hardware and software incompatibilities with Vista. That is the main reason that Vista has not taken off and Dell as well as others decided to re-offer WinXp as an OS on their new systems.
DougG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 03:53 PM   #643
Patrick L
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 634
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Tulsa, OK
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
Becasue ITS racecar

Default

I hate trying search though this whole thread.
OK, for us RS guys. I just want to datalog.
Is this cable ok and what software will work to pull codes and datalog?
Patrick L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 09:25 AM   #644
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

Only SW I know of (beside cobb) is ecuexplorer. Enginuity AFAIK doesn't do trouble codes.
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 03:15 PM   #645
dudley123
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 120831
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Richland, Washington
Vehicle:
PIA Purpose Built -
SEMA-FullRace/HRE/Cosw.

Default

Ya.. I need something that does trouble codes for an 06!! Ecuexplorer Doesnt... Anything else that does?
dudley123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 04:02 PM   #646
tubbytreats
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35104
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Vehicle:
02 WRX TD0518G 7cm
www.daytonsubies.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeramie View Post
Have you checked to see if the default log file location exists in vista. 2ndly when you run ecuexplorer in vista I would make sure you. .. .

"Run As Administrator"
Thanks for that tip, I'll have to try it out and let you know how it works for me. Totally forgot about that addition to Vista.


I also had problems getting Enginuity 0.4b to work on either Vista or WinXPPro, it just doesn't recognize my ECU for logging purposes... weirdness. So I'm back to ECUExplorer until I get that sorted out.
tubbytreats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 06:02 PM   #647
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudley123 View Post
Ya.. I need something that does trouble codes for an 06!! Ecuexplorer Doesnt... Anything else that does?
If you have a Tactrix/OpenPort cable then I think you can use the free LogWorks program from Innovate Motorsports to read trouble codes via OBD-II protocol. Their website is at www.tuneyourengine.com.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 06:52 PM   #648
Sinister redlines
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 120641
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Vehicle:
05 HTA3586,BB 2.5L
CGM

Default

Link is all fubarred again
Sinister redlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 04:25 AM   #649
06sti-cgm
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 152804
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

looks nice
06sti-cgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 08:44 AM   #650
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubbytreats View Post
Thanks for that tip, I'll have to try it out and let you know how it works for me. Totally forgot about that addition to Vista.


I also had problems getting Enginuity 0.4b to work on either Vista or WinXPPro, it just doesn't recognize my ECU for logging purposes... weirdness. So I'm back to ECUExplorer until I get that sorted out.
Whats your ecuid? The def could possibly need to be added. A post on the enginuity forum will ussually result in a quick update, but you would need to pull the rom off the ecu and post it (if infact it is not supported).
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does ANYONE make a free flasher/logger for Pre-2001 subie ECUs? kaisersouse General Community 2 09-23-2009 05:38 PM
free data logger 03bluwrx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 05-18-2008 07:44 PM
!!FREE!! Subaru Leather Sedan Interior !!FREE!! xcntrk75 MAIC Private Classifieds 10 11-12-2007 07:17 AM
New Issue of Subaru Drive Magazine Available Online - Free Subaru Safety DVD Offer Jon [in CT] News & Rumors 16 05-19-2006 08:38 PM
Free Subaru Bigred14 Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 11 02-08-2002 01:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.