Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2005, 07:13 PM   #1
aakrusen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77308
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WA
Vehicle:
'02 WRX

Default Base map and Realtime map

I just installed stage 2 and completed my TBE. I did the whole initializing thing and put on the base map. Now, do I have to go back and put on a realtime stage 2 map or do I just leave? I ask this because after you install the base map, the instructions say to unplug everything and go driving. What should I do?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
aakrusen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 07:44 PM   #2
MD04WRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 72891
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: In the blue & hating it!
Vehicle:
2004 WRX SDN JBP
98 2.5GT -2014 XV

Subaru Banner

If you flashed stage 2 base map your done and you don't need to do anything else.
MD04WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 08:10 PM   #3
aakrusen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77308
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WA
Vehicle:
'02 WRX

Default

Perfect, thanks.

Now what about doing the "Vishnu Reset"? Will that help?

Last edited by aakrusen; 05-27-2005 at 08:16 PM.
aakrusen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 10:09 PM   #4
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

It will help.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 11:54 PM   #5
aakrusen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77308
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WA
Vehicle:
'02 WRX

Default

I just downloaded the lastest stage2 base map version (v 1.22). I want to know if I should flash this base map on there or if I should just leave the current stage2 base map on there and flash on the realtime stage2 v 1.22 map?
aakrusen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 12:49 AM   #6
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

The realtime is fine.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 01:24 AM   #7
Boostfiend04STI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 73415
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SW Oregon
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STI
Blue Pearl/Silver

Default

I need a refresher on what the "Vishnu reset" is. Anyone care to refresh my memory
Boostfiend04STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 01:31 AM   #8
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Basically, its reset the ECU, then ROMP the throttle. Encourages the ECU to learn the IAM at 16 immidietly, and apply maximum timing advance.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 08:55 AM   #9
aakrusen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77308
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WA
Vehicle:
'02 WRX

Default

Boostfiend04STi - Here's the Vishnu Reset
aakrusen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 09:35 PM   #10
Boostfiend04STI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 73415
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SW Oregon
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STI
Blue Pearl/Silver

Default

Ok, thanks, I remember reading that thread like 6 months ago.
Boostfiend04STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 11:10 PM   #11
crazymikie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56321
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Vehicle:
2006 Honda El Camino
Green

Default

Just drive the car around like you normally would. The IAM will advance pretty quickly assuming everything is okay. The ECU is smart...let it do it's thing


Mike
crazymikie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2005, 11:18 AM   #12
aakrusen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77308
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WA
Vehicle:
'02 WRX

Default

Well then why bother doing it at all? I was under the impression that Vishnu did this reset to quicken the learning for dyno runs. So are you basically saying that unless I'm doing dyno pulls, I shouldn't bother doing it?
aakrusen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2005, 11:32 AM   #13
crazymikie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56321
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Vehicle:
2006 Honda El Camino
Green

Default

I don't believe in forcing the ECU to learn unless you are doing dyno pulls and need to quickly check how the car behaves with maximum advance.

The Vishnu trick quickly advances timing across the board. This should happen as matter of course the first time you drive the car on the highway (unless you drive like a grandma). If you let the ECU do it's thing and don't force it to learn, it will also have time to learn things like fuel trims as well as fine ignition corrections in the meanwhile.

Opinions vary- I just don't see any reason to force the car to learn when it will happen relatively quickly anyway and seems safer to just let it learn at it's own pace.


Mike
crazymikie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2005, 11:43 AM   #14
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

I agree with MIke. You could potentially be placing your car in harms way too. By advancing timing falsely, you may be advancing it farther than say the current gas or envirnoment like it to be, then guess what? DETONATION that's what.

Let the car learn on it's own, it was designed to do it that way.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between Stage1 map and ACN map? burnrubber AccessPort 10 01-26-2010 11:08 PM
16g base map and realtime map. subietech420 AccessPort 1 09-15-2006 09:19 PM
realtime map vs base map dodiox Engine Management & Tuning 25 11-19-2005 04:58 PM
Should i be using the stage 1 realtime map or just use the base map ? wrxhunter Engine Management & Tuning 2 06-10-2005 12:38 PM
Base map, Realtime map CaptainMorgan Engine Management & Tuning 2 05-15-2005 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.