Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday December 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2005, 12:08 PM   #1
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default P2096, and a freaking out fiance'

too lean code. have full exhaust, intake, vishnu ecutek. about every two days or so, on the highway, at a constant speed i get this code on the fiance's car. reset the ecu, and it goes away for a good period of time. what can i do to get it to go away for good? i have a pony express mil elim on it already. what now? she thinks her car is going to blow up
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 12:31 PM   #2
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Put the stock airbox back in.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 12:32 PM   #3
Davenow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23676
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: de_dust and Orgrimar
Vehicle:
.

Default

Ditch the intake, its screwing up the MAF signal.
How could you not figure this one out on your own, there are only 19879237498239487293847982374982734979238749873498 72938 threads stating that intakes screw things up and often lead to lean code problems.
Davenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 12:35 PM   #4
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

i have had the exact same intake on my car, for 28xxx miles, and no problem. i was also told by vishnu that it would be tuned for the intake, etc. i thought from what i heard, that it would be ok. if i put the stock airbox back on, will the ecutek tune i have be compatable?
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 12:37 PM   #5
Davenow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23676
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: de_dust and Orgrimar
Vehicle:
.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by attitude
i have had the exact same intake on my car, for 28xxx miles, and no problem. i was also told by vishnu that it would be tuned for the intake, etc. i thought from what i heard, that it would be ok.
Thats the problem with the intakes.
They are so touch and go. Some cars are ok with them, some arent


Its not something you can tune for. Because the different air flow isnt the only problem. The big bend before the MAF causes turbulance (sp?) which causes inconsistant MAF readings. Some cars(most) are affected by it, some arent.
in 100% of the cases, if you are on the stock turbo, its a worthless modification as the stock intake box flows more air than your turbo can consume.


I just noticed 2 STi's in your profile, that changes things a little, as STI's dont generally have nearly the issues with CAI's as WRX's do.
Is this an STI or WRX?

Last edited by Davenow; 05-31-2005 at 12:44 PM.
Davenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 12:37 PM   #6
Idahoser
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78147
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Out of my mind
Vehicle:
93 impreza 4dr
280.000 and runs 100+

Default

Try spraying some extra filter oil on the element
Idahoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 12:47 PM   #7
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

2005 STi with perrin short ram
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 12:54 PM   #8
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

You could TRY the stock airbox for a couple of days and see if it goes away. If it goes away then you know it is the intake.
It only takes a few min to swap and it would be the first thing I would do to try and fix it.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 01:00 PM   #9
Davenow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23676
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: de_dust and Orgrimar
Vehicle:
.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by attitude
2005 STi with perrin short ram

HMMMM

Thats interesting, because that intake absolutely shouldnt cause any problems....No big bend, correct maf tube size.

Pull the maf out and clean it with some non clorinated carb cleaner?

its possible that, although that code is usually intake related, than its something completely unrelated to the intake.

Try cleaning the maf, clear code, see if it comes back.
If it does try the stock box like TMS says. I would be shocked if it was the intake in this case... The Perrin short and TXS shorty are known good intakes.
And known power makers on the STI....
Davenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 01:31 PM   #10
blinguskahn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39301
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: The Haystack
Vehicle:
STi 05 8cm FPRed
WRX 06 Blue FP20G

Default

Same thing happened to me and then I started to "boot up my car gently".

When you start the car don't do the average Honda SOHC engine start where you move the key from off to start in 2 seconds. Turn the key to the ON position and wait for a good 10 seconds before starting the car. I had misfires and P2096 and then I was recommended by someone on here to do this and those codes disappeared.
blinguskahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 03:08 PM   #11
909STi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 62490
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Dana Point
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi
FP Green'd & Yimi Tuned

Default

I have the stock intake and I still get the same code. I do have a catless TBE and Ecutek though. No one seems to know why this code comes up. I have hade my AFR's checked and they are all either OK or rich, so I don't think the car is really running lean.
909STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 03:38 PM   #12
blinguskahn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39301
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: The Haystack
Vehicle:
STi 05 8cm FPRed
WRX 06 Blue FP20G

Default

Yeah, try my recommendation. Seems to happen on 05's more than 04's.
blinguskahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 04:42 PM   #13
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by attitude
too lean code. have full exhaust, intake, vishnu ecutek. about every two days or so, on the highway, at a constant speed i get this code on the fiance's car. reset the ecu, and it goes away for a good period of time. what can i do to get it to go away for good? i have a pony express mil elim on it already. what now? she thinks her car is going to blow up
The full description of this trouble code is P2096 POST CATALYST FUEL TRIM SYSTEM TOO LEAN BANK 1. Your rear O2 sensor is spending too much time sending less than 0.5 volts to the ECU (i.e. reporting "leaner that stoichiometric") while cruising. The cause is very likely the Pony Express MIL Eliminator and I'm not clear why you're even using it when an EcuTeK reflash can eliminate the P0420 DTC (Catalyst Inefficiency). I suggest you remove the MIL Eliminator.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 05:30 PM   #14
KGreb
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13463
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2012 Chevy Volt
Silver

Default

I get that code occasionally on my '05 Legacy GT (without any CEL fix). I've seen several reports of this code (and 2097, rich version) on the the '05 2.5 turbo motors. On another forum there was a report of a bad batch of sensors getting out to Subaru, no idea if this is true or not.
KGreb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 07:06 PM   #15
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

i installed the mil fix before i got the ecutek reflash. i am pretty sure the mixture is fine, and i would hate to have to put the stock airbox back on and lose power. i will try to do the soft start, although the problem has ocurred both times after the car has been running for at least an hour, and while on the interstate. i might take the mil fix off, but will that make the cat code come on? or would shiv have tuned the ecu for catless? either way, when i go to turbo xs to get my beast tuned, i am gonna pay to get hers on and make sure the thing isn't lean.
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 11:47 PM   #16
sticrazy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78584
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wet oasis in a dry county, FL
Vehicle:
2004 STi 420whp@22lb
92 300zxTT: 625whp@24psi

Default

I have this code too on my 04 sti. I am AP stage 2, perrin crank, perrin modified CAI, and catless TBE. The crazy thing is this code never showed up until AFTER i swapped it w/ the stocker intake on my 700 mile trip to FL. The code would reoccur every 300 or so miles. I would like to avoid taking it to the dealer, but is this something serious? From what I hear, a handful get it and run fine and even rich. I think it may just be a clogged up rear o2 sensor. What do you guys think?
sticrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 12:34 AM   #17
Vishnu Performance
Vendor
 
Member#: 14494
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Vehicle:
WRX Porsche 996
blue & black

Default

As John (in CT) said, you should remove the MIL eliminator. Our reflashes disable the cat inefficiency code so there is no reason to run it. All it is doing is adding an unknown variable. If that doesnt work, try putting back in the factory intake. If that fixes it, your short ram intake isn't as transparent as it is supposed to be.

my 2c,
shiv
Vishnu Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 12:42 AM   #18
keyser_soze
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57445
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Default

I use to have this code often....Just disabled it using my Cobb ST. You can do the same with EcuTEK. I also have a MIL eliminator...so as others suggested either disable the cat CEL and don't use MIL or if you use the MIL then just disable the P2096. My 0.02.
keyser_soze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 08:55 AM   #19
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

mil is coming off, and there is no way the car is lean shiv?
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 11:03 AM   #20
blinguskahn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39301
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: The Haystack
Vehicle:
STi 05 8cm FPRed
WRX 06 Blue FP20G

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by attitude
mil is coming off, and there is no way the car is lean shiv?
That is not going to fix the problem. Many 05's with and without the mil get the code still. You can try my recommendation or have Shiv disable teh CEL with the ECUTek.
blinguskahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 11:11 AM   #21
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

i cant have the car down, mine isn't running yet, so i would have no transportation, and niether would she
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 01:47 PM   #22
scrmblr2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24631
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Planet Earth
Vehicle:
2005 STI
OBP

Default

I was getting this code for a month or so. I had a cat tin the exhaust and a pony express mil eliminator. Also had aps cai 70mm at the time. I ended up trying the mechanical fix and that had no effect. So I ended up pulling the pony express resistor out of the rear o2 sensor and that solved the problem. The problem in my case with the rear 02 sensor was reading a constant signal w/ the resistor in the o2sensor. Just thought that info might help.

It may also be the intake. My utec was tuned to work with the 70mm aps unit. I would try the stock airbox and see what that does for you.
scrmblr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 09:16 PM   #23
sticrazy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78584
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wet oasis in a dry county, FL
Vehicle:
2004 STi 420whp@22lb
92 300zxTT: 625whp@24psi

Default

What about the 04's? I have an 04 and I'm still getting this problem. Is it something more serious because it is an 04, or am I in the same situation?
sticrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 11:27 PM   #24
scrmblr2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24631
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Planet Earth
Vehicle:
2005 STI
OBP

Default

to be honest, I am not sure. You really need access to a obd2 scaner to be sure. My afr's were ok, I tuned w/ a wb o2. The rear o2 shows no change in vootage and that is what tripped the code in my case. The 05 needs to see a change in voltage. I would pull the resistor, if you have one, and see what happens. The code should go away if that was the problem. Or, Perrin makes an o2 simulator, that might work for you. It is supposed to vary the signal. Never used it though.

When I was trying to figure out my problem , Jeff at perrin was pretty helpful on the whole thing. Good luck.
scrmblr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 11:33 PM   #25
attitude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52043
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Huntington WV
Vehicle:
04 sti

Default

it ran all day without a cel, but tomorrow i am going to take the resistor out anyways.
attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a clutch and im about to freak out! stage2?? Newbies & FAQs 11 03-23-2009 11:20 AM
Guy freaks out at coffee shop - and gets arrested. p8baller07 Off-Topic 45 10-20-2007 03:24 AM
And my wife wonders why I've been freaking out about $ this Christmas Season The_Triton Off-Topic 38 12-23-2005 03:27 PM
Electrical freaking out and I'm stranded.... mindchatter Electrical & Lighting 2 11-25-2004 09:09 PM
My factory alarm is freaking out and I can't drive scaryfastskier Car Audio, Video & Security 8 04-21-2003 05:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.