Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday September 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2005, 03:55 AM   #1
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Cool Optilux (Hella) 1100's in Stock location - MY04RS (pics inside)

okay so for the time being i removed the light bar, and did some rewiring. i Installed a set of optilux 1100's with hella yellowstars in them. at first i was quite disappointed, but after some reaiming they are better. i am used to the hella 500's and this is nowhere near the light output, but still useful.

i was going to install them onto the bumper beam but finallt gave up and just mounted them onto the bumper. they sit too low to use the black surround, but i am still in the process of dremeling it to fit enjoy the pics.

for those of you that know me for my light bar, dont worry, the light bar is in the process of getting reworked but will be reinstalled. i cant live with out the piaa 520's







thank you to imageshack for hosting, and if these images are broken links by the time you find this, let me know i always keep originals
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 03:56 AM   #2
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

these switch is powered by the mirror controller, and therefore can be used whenever the car has power to it
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 02:02 PM   #3
Drowner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49297
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Bristol, RI
Vehicle:
09 WRX
09 ZX6R

Default

Don't want to be overly critical, but that install kinda looks like ass. Maybe if you had centered the switch more on the console, and the fogs look out of place in there, most likely because they just didn't want to mount properly. If it were me, i would have seen that they didn't fit, and either tried to fab something, or just left well enough alone.
Drowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 01:41 PM   #4
CatchMyDrift
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54523
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Chico,CA
Default

Yea you should make up some kind of bracket for the fogs to fit flush with the hole. Do you really see a + in lighting?
CatchMyDrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 09:20 PM   #5
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

only a slight increase. i felt the car looked naked with the light bar and nothing down below, so i got these as a gift. they are decent and fill in the spots in front of the car, but nothing to great. i am running yellowstars in the headlights, and they actually do a great job.
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 03:28 AM   #6
CatchMyDrift
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54523
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Chico,CA
Default

BTW: Thats the biggest toggle switch ive EVAR seen.
CatchMyDrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 02:03 AM   #7
Handsdown
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 29355
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: seattle
Vehicle:
2003 GD6 Hate chall
but i'mma maintain

Default

i have 1100's on my bugeye. they're great lights, however i'd try to move them up just a centimeter or so on yours- it looks a little close to the plastic and they get very hot... so be warned.
Handsdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 01:54 PM   #8
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

yeah i learned the hard way about the heat. i just havenet gotten around to the extra 1mm.....havent worried much about it.
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 02:30 PM   #9
alexcd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 69999
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WR Blue

Default

You dont have to use the toggle switch they give you. I would go get a simple black one and install it in the center of one of the blanks. It'll look way less ghetto.
alexcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 08:59 PM   #10
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

there is nothing ghetto about the switch...it came with a really cheesy one that said "LED" on it dont know why. but i replaced it with this one. my hella 500's came with the same one in green. so i figured when i did make the switch box it would be easier to differenciate the lights....the piaa 520's have that but ugly piaa switch.
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 04:48 AM   #11
CatchMyDrift
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54523
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Chico,CA
Default

Why didnt you just splice the lights into your stock harnesses? Much easier that was and you would be able to your your stock switch. Unless your car didnt come with fogs in the first place.
CatchMyDrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 05:47 AM   #12
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CatchMyDrift
Why didnt you just splice the lights into your stock harnesses? Much easier that was and you would be able to your your stock switch. Unless your car didnt come with fogs in the first place.
rs...no lights...no switch...they are prewired, but no switch
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 03:35 PM   #13
CatchMyDrift
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54523
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Chico,CA
Default

my god I need to quit drinking. I dont even remember posting that.
CatchMyDrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 12:49 PM   #14
Mr Kleen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 58991
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Wiesbaden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATX25RS

for those of you that know me for my light bar, dont worry, the light bar is in the process of getting reworked but will be reinstalled. i cant live with out the piaa 520's
did you have a light bar on the '04? if so, any pix of it?
Mr Kleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 01:30 PM   #15
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kleen
did you have a light bar on the '04? if so, any pix of it?
about half way down the page. i have more..i will post them up if you are interested.
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 04:27 PM   #16
Mr Kleen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 58991
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Wiesbaden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATX25RS
about half way down the page. i have more..i will post them up if you are interested.
half way down what page? the only pix on your personal web site are of an older 2.5RS. it is a nice RS, but I'm looking for pictures of light bars on '04 Imprezas. if you have any pix like that, I'd love to see them.
Mr Kleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 07:54 PM   #17
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

sorry i mean to link the Auxilary Lighting Thread. here ya go.







i later added a set of hella 500's, as seen on my old gc8 to the same bar
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 10:21 PM   #18
Handsdown
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 29355
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: seattle
Vehicle:
2003 GD6 Hate chall
but i'mma maintain

Default

it's a pain to use the stock wiring because the RS lacks-

1- the fog switch itself

2- the fog relay

3- the fogs



however i was able to find 1&2 from some members on here, so i used the stock wiring with my 1100s.
Handsdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 11:32 PM   #19
Mr Kleen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 58991
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Wiesbaden
Default

thanks for sharing!
Mr Kleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 03:40 AM   #20
AK_2002_WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10591
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: anch, ak
Vehicle:
2004 Silverado SS
Victory Red

Default

hey ATX25RS, are those optilux projector fogs worth buying? i'm looking to adding some auxilary lights to my STi, and they seem affordable. i'm thinking of getting the 1000s or 1100 ones, and mounting them in the front bumper opening. do they put out decent light? i also plan on putting yellow bulbs in em too.

thanks
AK_2002_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
t3 in stock location with stock parts? legacydreamz Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 0 08-11-2009 12:21 AM
Piaa fogs in stock location SupraTT&WRX Electrical & Lighting 1 02-17-2004 12:17 PM
How to install Focal tweeters in stock location? newsman Car Audio, Video & Security 3 07-02-2003 10:28 AM
Gauge housing for GC8 in stock location willguidry New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 5 04-04-2003 12:35 PM
What speakers will fit in stock locations in WRX? boo Car Audio, Video & Security 0 04-17-2001 08:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.