Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2005, 06:13 PM   #1
maxpower_454
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88963
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
OBP

Default How to hook up an amp and sub to stock head unit??

I just got a '05 WRX a few weeks ago and have a 500W amp and subwoofer I'd like to hook up but I don't really want to replace the stock headunit just yet. Can anyone let me know if this is extremely hard to do and if it would sound good? Thanks in advance
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
maxpower_454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 06:28 PM   #2
WhatsaSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 84990
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

i got almost the same setup in my 05 sti i wanted to keep my stock head unit so i had to get a hi low which sells for like 20 bucks and the sound quality is really good
WhatsaSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 07:24 PM   #3
fuzzymemory
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63477
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT Shoreline
Vehicle:
04 WRX Wagon
San Remo Red

Default

You can solder some speaker wires from the rear speakers, connect that to a Line Out Converter (LOC) and connect RCA cables from the LOC to your amp.
fuzzymemory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 07:48 PM   #4
armand1
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10309
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
'02 OBS 2-tone!
'95 Montego Miata

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzymemory
You can solder some speaker wires from the rear speakers, connect that to a Line Out Converter (LOC) and connect RCA cables from the LOC to your amp.
Or even better, tap into the rear speaker wires behind the HU.
You can get a good quality LOC (and other high-quality stuff) for a reasonable price at www.davidnavone.com.
armand1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 08:05 PM   #5
myobsej22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88024
Join Date: May 2005
Location: columbia, sc
Vehicle:
1997 OBS
red/gun metal two tone

Default

go to circuit city and drop $20 on a line out conveter, which hooks up your RCA's from your amp, then you connect the wires on the box to the rear speaker wires out of the stock wiring harness for the stock HU. I had one of those for a while and it worked great.
myobsej22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 03:36 PM   #6
fuzzymemory
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63477
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT Shoreline
Vehicle:
04 WRX Wagon
San Remo Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by armand1
Or even better, tap into the rear speaker wires behind the HU.
You can get a good quality LOC (and other high-quality stuff) for a reasonable price at www.davidnavone.com.
+1 for the David Navone products... you can find line out converters at Walmart & Circuit City, but for just about the same price the DN products are far superior in quality and just as easy to use. I think the 2-channel LOC goes for about $25 & they will help you set it up if you email or call.
fuzzymemory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 04:16 PM   #7
WingNut
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 14951
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Vehicle:
GDA

Default

another vote for the navone LOC. i had one with my stock HU for over a year and loved it.
WingNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 09:55 PM   #8
maxpower_454
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88963
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
OBP

Default

Wow, thats great it's going to be that simple. I was thinking it would be a lot worse. Thanks for all the help
maxpower_454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 11:52 PM   #9
pudnana
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89071
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Lake Montezuma AZ
Vehicle:
2000 Blue 2.5 RS
2004 Java WRX

Default

does the LOC just wire in series with the rear speakers and still allow the rears to work off of the headunit?
pudnana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 02:06 AM   #10
JonzFaSTi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85575
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Orange County, CA
Vehicle:
2013 STi
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

So I have a MY05 rs with the 6cd and have a JL amp, JL 12 and JL rca's your saying I dont need to ground the system that i could just tap into the stock wiring???? That would be sick!! How hard is it to hook up/how long will it take???

Jon
JonzFaSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 06:08 PM   #11
jac04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49895
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
09 Forester
06 Legacy 2.5i Wagon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hughesj04
...your saying I dont need to ground the system that i could just tap into the stock wiring???? That would be sick!! How hard is it to hook up/how long will it take???
Who said you don't need to ground the system? Remember, all we are talking about here is using a LOC off the stock HU so that you can run RCA cables to the amp. You are still going to need to properly wire & ground the amp.
jac04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 01:23 AM   #12
JonzFaSTi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85575
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Orange County, CA
Vehicle:
2013 STi
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Thats what I thought(yeah..OK...ummm a friend told me that) Naw seriously though I was just hoping it was going to be that easy. Had to ask(I havent really looked into to this yet, want to hear the engine first).

But anyone, if y ou dont mind (if your really board) want to go through this process?
It would be a good forum to do that on. Just curious.

Thanks in advance for all your help,
Jon
JonzFaSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 08:07 AM   #13
jac04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49895
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
09 Forester
06 Legacy 2.5i Wagon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hughesj04
But anyone, if y ou dont mind (if your really board) want to go through this process?
It would be a good forum to do that on. Just curious.
Since you already have the amp, sub and RCAs I assume you know how to hook these up. All you need to do is use a LOC to convert the stock HU speaker outputs to RCA. So: stock HU speaker outputs to LOC, and then run the RCA cables from the LOC to the amp. You should be able to find all of this info by looking through the FAQs and performing a few searches.
jac04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 08:51 AM   #14
strohk
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35816
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: NW Chi Burbs
Vehicle:
1982 XS650
In a thousand pieces

Default

Ok, now let's assume you have a 4 channel amp and a sub amp. This would require 3 line converters, correct? Connect 1 to the +/- of a front speaker, connect 1 to the +/- of a rear speaker, and connect 1 to the +/- of the sub output? Will this work for the subwoofer output on the back of the stock stereo? Where to you connect the amp turn-on wire to the factory stereo?
strohk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 12:05 PM   #15
jac04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49895
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
09 Forester
06 Legacy 2.5i Wagon

Default

I hate to quote myself, but.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by jac04
You should be able to find all of this info by looking through the FAQs and performing a few searches.
jac04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:34 PM   #16
SVXdc
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25837
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
1996 SVX L AWD
Laguna Blue Pearl

Default

As armand1 said, it's easier to 'tap' the speaker wires behind the factory radio.

To do that without cutting or splicing the factory radio harness, get two after-market harnesses: a reverse wiring harness (plugs into your factory radio) and a 'forward' harness (connects to the car's factory radio harness). Wire the these two straight through (so your radio sees all the wires like before), and tap off between these two harnesses to send 2 or 4 of the speaker outputs to your LOC or amp(s).

You'll need to make sure both harnesses have all 14 wires. Most of the ones out there lack one of the illumination wires. Without that your stock radio won't light up. Here's a where to find one with all 14 wires: FS: Forward and Reverse Radio Wiring Harnesses

Lots of useful information here (listed at the top of this forum's sticky): Stock head unit information -- pin-outs, aux inputs, and more

Quote:
Originally Posted by pudnana
does the LOC just wire in series with the rear speakers and still allow the rears to work off of the headunit?
The LOC connects off each speaker in parallel, not series -- example: "Left Rear +" speaker output goes to both the + terminal on the Left Rear speaker and the + Left input on the LOC, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hughesj04
...[you're] saying I dont need to ground the system that i could just tap into the stock wiring????
Just to add to jac04's reply -- you should not ground any of the speaker wires. As he said, the amplifier will of course need power and ground to operate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by strohk
Ok, now let's assume you have a 4 channel amp and a sub amp. This would require 3 line converters, correct?
There are 4-channel LOCs out there; davidnavone has one. There might even be a 4-channel LOC that internally taps the rear speaker signals (or all 4 signals) to provide a 5th output for a sub amp, so one box would do it all.

Otherwise you'd need a 2- or 4-channel LOC for your speaker amp (depending on whether it's a 2- or 4-channel amp), and another 2-channel LOC for your sub. Connect both LOCs in parallel to the stock head unit's speaker outputs. People usually feed a subwoofer from the rear speaker outputs, so you can fade the sub level from the head unit.

Quote:
[using 3 line converters] ... and connect 1 to the +/- of the sub output? Will this work for the subwoofer output on the back of the stock stereo?
The factory radio harness (with the 14-pin connector) does not include wires for a subwoofer. See the "Stock head unit information" link above.

Subaru radios in some of the the latest models have a separate subwoofer output jack, but it's a non-standard connector. I'm not aware of anyone who sells the matching plug yet. (If somebody in Atlanta who has a stock radio with this jack and can lend it to me, I might be able to identify the plug needed).

Quote:
Where [do] you connect the amp turn-on wire to the factory stereo?
The factory radio doesn't have an amp turn-on lead. Best thing to use is the "+12v switched (accessory)" power lead.
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 08:52 PM   #17
garie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26607
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon

Default

i used a david navone 4 ch LOC and it worked great. sounded good too....but eventually i got a new alpine mp3 HU and the sound quality is actually noticeably better.
garie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 04:29 PM   #18
maxpower_454
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88963
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVXdc

The factory radio doesn't have an amp turn-on lead. Best thing to use is the "+12v switched (accessory)" power lead.

So you mean just connect the amp turn-on lead to a 12V accessory output terminal on the fusebox?
maxpower_454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 04:40 PM   #19
SVXdc
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25837
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
1996 SVX L AWD
Laguna Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxpower_454
So you mean just connect the amp turn-on lead to a 12V accessory output terminal on the fusebox?
Yes, or to pin 10 on the car's harness (Red wire on an aftermarket harness).
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 12:13 PM   #20
kloze
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88486
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default

Okay, so I want to make sure I got everything straight before I start the install. I have purchase the 4 channel LOC from DN and also the Reverse and Forward harness from that geocities webiste. So when I remove the radio (05 wrx) and install the harness, i connect the LOC to the harness? This may sound like a dumb question, but are the speakers still connected into the harness or do you have to run them all the way back to the amp like in a regular 4 channel amp setup
kloze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 12:34 PM   #21
kloze
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88486
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default

Also, does the harness from I think its Svxdc have the acc wire hookup so I can hook the remote wire from the amp up?
kloze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 12:59 PM   #22
janikphoto
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10471
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2000 BMW Z3
sold Outback & ForesterXT

Default

You can hood up the remote turn on from 12 volt + accessory wire on the harness. There are two 12v + and one is constant power even when the car is turned off so the rdio can keep it's station memory. The other only has power when the key is in and the car is on. This would be a 12v + wire to tap into or piggyback off of...

Since you only have an amp to run your woofer and not your other spkrs, you will just hook up ALL the wires on the reverse and forward harness which will continue to send sound directly to your stock spkrs. You will just be piggy-backing the LOC's to the rear spkr wires and then running rca's back to your amp. Of course the amp will need to be installed with a fused 12v + from the battery and a 12v - grounded to a spot near the amp which has good metal contact. You should scrape and sand the spot until you see SHINY metal, not just grey. Grey is primer and primer will not conduct electricity. Once you have shiny metal, then install the ground wire with a bolt or screw and then spray paint primer over the whole connection and bolt to seal it.

Oh, and remember that you can tape your 12v + accessory wire to your rca cables since they are both being run back to the amp. They will then be hooked up to their spots on the amp and you are pretty much done. You still have to install speaker wire from amp to the sub and screw down the amp, cause an amp should NEVER just be placed in a car without being securely mounted...
janikphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 02:06 PM   #23
kloze
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88486
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default

I have installed many amps, but never one with an LOC. My question is that I have a 5 channel amp. So if it was a regular install, I would run all the speakers to the amp. I was wondering if it is any different with a LOC in the mix.

But I really appreciate the repsonse though since a lot of people will read this post and hopefully have their questions answered. Also with an LOC, will there be a turn on and off pop? I ordered a turn on pop proctector from DN. I dont think i would have to worry about the turn off pop since the TT is running. Another question that I have, is that the Radio seems to stay on when the TT is counting down. I thought once the key is clicked to ACC then all the stuff turns off. Well that is what happens in my experience. Is there anyway around this?

Also I apologize if it seems like I hijakced this post.
kloze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How would I go about hooking up an amp+ capacitor to an Alpine CDA7894? neuspeed Car Audio, Video & Security 21 11-11-2006 03:14 AM
Any way to hook up a JL car sub to a home audio receiver? rhdude Off-Topic 9 05-12-2004 01:34 PM
Hooking up an amp to the stock stereo deck - question Deadzep Legacy Forum 12 01-31-2003 03:00 AM
How difficult to hook up an alternate/back up power source for an alarm? ChosenWon Car Audio, Video & Security 5 10-23-2001 08:53 PM
Hooking up an amp to stock head, new possibility Section 8 Car Audio, Video & Security 13 07-01-2001 09:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.